We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most cordial and helpful staff ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
USA
1 review
“The most cordial and helpful staff ever”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Spent the labor day weekend at Best Western and had the best time ever. The staff was always courteous and helpful no matter how busy they were. The rooms were clean spacious and comfortable just like home. We are looking forward to our next vacation at Myrtle Beach and will without a doubt stay at Best Western Carolinian, We did utilize the kitchen and were happy it was furnished enough to make a home cooked meal, also the washer and dryer were a blessing as we did not have to bring home a suitcase full of dirty laundry. Special thanks to Mike and Darren for the help with our luggage as well as the housekeeping staff for checking on our daily needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberry89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad that you had the best time very while staying with us. I am happy to read that the staff was able to help you when ever you needed anything. I will pass on your kind words about Mike and Darren to their boss so they can be recognized for a job well done. I hope that you will come back and stay with us the next time you visit the Grand Strand.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    869
    198
    138
    113
See reviews for
881
680
80
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new kensington
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We had an issue with our refrigerator and they had sent up an engineer named Mike who was very knowlegable and trouble shot the problem. Cleaned the unit but still had problems so he brought up another one. By chance I met Ed the Chief Engineer the next day and told him about our issues which they where more than the night before. He was true to his word. He had talked to Jen Faro the manager and they gave us a beautiful room. I met Jen and she was AWESOME!!! This was the start of our vacation and Ed and Jen made a dream vacation come true. Being an Engineer myself I can Appreciate what they had done for us. I will and I do recommend this Hotel. Thank You From Pittsburgh, Pa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 174shwrestler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to read that our staff was able to take care of the problems that you encountered with your room and when that didn’t work they were able to get you into a beautiful room that didn’t have any issues. I will make sure that their boss knows what they did for you and that they are recognized for a job well done. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The only thing good about this hotel is the location. My husband and I stay in room 707 for 1 week. The room had a musty smell and the mattress should have been changed, it was very lumpy, overstuffed pillow that were very uncomfortable. Now for the bathroom, the bathtub tap leaked constantly and about the 3rd day there I noticed the shower curtain was full of mold (which they changed right away) everything in the room is very old and should be replaced. With so many other hotels to choose from I would never make the same mistake twice

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSBLUE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Thank you for writing a review. I would like to apologize to you for the condition that your room was in. I hope that you brought this to the attention of the front desk staff so that they were able to rectify some of the issues that you encountered.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a problem when we checked in and the ladies at the front desk, Shellene and Anne, made it simple to correct and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We went on to enjoy our week at the hotel and on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad that when you ran into a problem while checking in the lady at the front desk were able to correct the issue and make your stay enjoyable. I hope that you will come back and stay with us the next time you visit the Grand Strand.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Excellent location right on the beach. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Cheap vallet parking was a plus. Only knock would be no on site restaurant, otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to read that you found our room to be clean and that the staff was friendly. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The BW Carolinian is an awesome facility with an awesome staff and great accommodations. Everyone was personable, friendly, and willing to "bend over backwards" to accommodate the needs of its guests. The facility (suites/rooms, etc.) was exceptionally clean and bedding was very clean and comfortable. I plan to stay here in future visits to Myrtle Beach, SC. I will definitely recommend this facility to family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CooperMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad that you found our staff to be awesome and that the accommodations to be great. I am happy that you found the bedding to be comfortable and that you room was exceptionally clean. I hope that you are planning on coming back and staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

My husband, 1 year old, and I visited this hotel over the weekend. We chose it based on the reviews from this site as well as the price. We're both pretty easy going and only expected a relatively clean place to sleep and not much else from the hotel.
Cleanliness - It was okay. We stayed in the older section of the hotel and you could tell it was a bit older as the tiles in the bathroom were uneven, grout was discolored, stains were on the bed skirts, etc. The public areas in the hotel seemed clean though we didn't spend much time in them.
Location - Amazing! It was right on the beach.
Rooms - We had a handicap room though we didn't request it. It was large enough for the three of us including a small travel crib. We enjoyed the balcony as our daughter goes to bed quite early. Our balcony overlooked the pool area which was extremely noisy but that is to be expected.
Service - Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.
Value - Good.
Sleep Quality - Good.

Minor complaints which 1. did not negatively affect our trip enough to warrant a complaint to management and 2. would not prevent us from returning to this hotel.
1. The remote control did not work.
2. People were lighting off fire crackers in the parking lot by the pool - I don't think this should be allowed.
3. Our room was not cleaned until after 3:00 p.m. on Saturday.
4. There were very few tubes to use in the lazy river, many were deflated.
5. Shower pressure was extremely high - we didn't put our daughter in the shower as it would have been painful.
6. The bath tub drain was very slow.

Overall, it was a good stay. We didn't have high expectations and this hotel met them by providing us with a clean and comfortable place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandarin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to read that you seemed to enjoy you stay with us and that you liked the location of the resort. I am sorry that the housekeeping staff didn’t get your room cleaned until late one day. I hope that you will stay with us the next time you take a vacation.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#18 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Property: Carolinian Beach Resort
Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club, to great guest privileges at area merchants, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing