We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an awful experience”
Review of The Mermaid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #70 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was an awful experience”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at the mermaid inn this past weekend. My brother accidentally broke the window of the hotel room. The owner of the hotel then proceeded to harass me over a broken window. He even threatened to call the cops if I did not cooperate. The owner proceeded to step up close to me like he physically was going to touch me. I would not recommend such an immature staff to handle a situation. I literally was in the bathroom when my brother and his friend were wrestling and accidentally broke a window.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ap2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald B, Owner at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
First of all NO ONE accidentally brakes a 48"X48" hotel window. But someone of the five people in your room did. When you checked in you told us you had only two in your party which was a lie. Then when you were approached about braking the window by myself and my manager you got belligerent and had to be pulled back by your friends. We are very careful to provide a safe and quiet environment for our guests, Your actions were contrary to this. So we had to control you and the situation. You cannot expect to check in to a hotel and damage the hotels property !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    48
    28
    8
    26
See reviews for
91
52
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We live @200 miles from Myrtle beach, so we did not have to stay overnight, it was by choice to enjoy the area without crowds, and not watch the clock regarding the drive home, this was a last minute get-a-way, and we stayed at the Mermaid Inn. This was only the second motel I have stayed at, and it was nice. Bright, clean, and a very short walk to the beach. bed/linens were clean and fresh, coffee pot, fridge, microwave, etc, also very clean. bathroom was clean, decent towels, but could use some updates. The faucets were a bit tricky to figure out how to get hot water, worked fine, but really need to be replaced. Since we were off season, no crowds and no noise, and $60 price. Staff, only met two, were friendly. Note, we were ready to check out 8:30, , but had to wait for office to open ay 9:00., so if you need to do an early check out, tell them when you check in.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grammy137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We found this little place while driving by. Bigger hotels were so busy and over parked. It's two story right at the beach. We met a few nice local people on the beach. Just nice and quiet area but close to restaurants. Loved the room!! We be back

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Enoell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EQUINN41097, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Myrtle Beach and want to thank you for choosing the Mermaid Inn for your acccommodation needs.

Ed Quinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We wanted to stay in a motel on our trip and the didn't disappoint. It has just been renovated and the rooms are nicely appointed and right on the beach. The staff are super friendly. I would recommend it. Only small point is the shower was not very powerful so tricky to wash your hair.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

One of the best things (other than the mattress and the beach) about this hotel is the excellent sound proofing of my room! I never slept so long and so well...and then to wake to a stroll on the beach with my coffee ....I just wanted to stay longer. and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winterdune2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Went online to find a reasonably priced clean hotel for our stay at the beach. Mermaid Inn was located between downtown Myrtle and North Myrtle. Rooms have been remodeled and are really nice. Would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scrubtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The location is great, walked right over to the beach and parked next to it. The place is immaculate, looks like it was just built. The front desk told me that they had just gutted the old place and started from scratch. You can tell. Friendly people, very clean, great location.

Some of the parking access is behind a gate so you have to have a room key to park there, and that means you don't have other people taking up the spots near the beach.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a far walk to the beach, some are closer than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#72 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
197 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,792 reviews
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
1.9 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Inn

Property: The Mermaid Inn
Address: 5400 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2350 (Formerly The Cherry Tree Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mermaid Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Myrtle Beach's Hotel gems, formally known as the Cherry Tree Inn, is reopening as The Mermaid Inn. This smaller ocean front hotel has undergone a complete makeover with all 57 rooms renovated to have either 2 Queen beds or 1 King bed with Queen size sleeper sofa. We are also offering beautifully decorated suites. All of our rooms have an ocean view and come with the essentials that you have come to expect. Each room is equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and 42" flat screen TV. The Mermaid Inn provides FREE local and long distance phone calls within the Continental US, as well as free wireless internet access for our guests. We have guest laundry facilities located on our property for our guest’s convenience.Whether you are enjoying the surf and sand, our large outdoor pool and deck, or strolling around the nearby ocean front park; our goal is that your stay with us be one of comfort and relaxation. Our location is close enough to the excitement of Myrtle Beach, yet far enough away to provide the relaxed vacation experience that you and your family has been looking forward to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mermaid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Myrtle Beach
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing