We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Ranked #28 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Illinois
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The property was literally right on the ocean front. Beautiful. Very clean. Friendly staff. We had a kitchen unit that had four beds. Two queens in one room, full kitchen w all the pots and pans needed, fridge, microwave, second pull room had pull down bed and pull out couch... and if it wasn't against the rules I would have brought those pillows home just so I could sleep that well again. Affordable. Their staff was very professional and friendly. Every detail was great, down to the wonderfully smelling soaps and awesome bartender at the cafe on the property. And that view though! wow! I can't wait to go back. :)

Room Tip: ocean view or ocean front highly recommended. the balconies are amazing from every angle. you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerio356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
It made my day reading your review this morning. Our staff works really hard and it means so much to us to see you had such a great experience at Grande Shores. I will make sure I share the review with everyone. It will make them smile. Best to you and your family. Have a tremendous summer and return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    396
    143
    93
    80
See reviews for
610
282
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My family had a wonderful time. We would definitely go back again. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pools were great and very clean. The view from our room of the ocean was breathtaking. A great experience all around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Sarah, thank you for choosing us and for the kind words. It means a lot to us knowing we contributed to a great family vacation. Memories are very important and family vacationing is certainly where memorial begin. Thank you so much for allowing us the privilege of serving you and your family. Have a lovely summer and please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staff was wonderful... Always acknowledged u.. Very family orientated...will return to this hotel definitely... Love the location. Close to everything. Can't say enough about it! The pools were awesome for any age. Views of the ocean were outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karrie538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Karrie, I do appreciate your great review. I will make sure our staff knows they made a difference. They are a lovely group of people. I hope you have plans to return to our city again soon and will allow us the privilege of serving you again. Thanks again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom condo that was perfect for us. Everything was new and the condo was immaculate. The outside is a bit weathered but this is a beachfront property that is about functionality not luxury. The price is right and it is close to a Food Lion, Rite Aid, Dunkin Donuts, Liberty Tavern, etc. The cleaning staff and front desk were helpful. I tried to come in a day early but they had no rooms available but Jessica called around to find us someplace. It didn't work out but I appreciated the effort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plynch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We do love our location. Being situation beside a residential community makes our resort special for sure. We enjoy the fact that Dunkin Donuts is close by. We visit too often. We appreicate you choosing us. Please return soon and best to you and our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just came back from a 4 day/3night stay at the Grande Shores. This was our 5th visit. we had 2 bedrooms, 4 queen beds, a kitchenette and 2 bathrooms. Our room was great! It is an older hotel and nothing too fancy, but clean with friendly staff. My sister and her kids had their own room, but our room was the gathering place. Nine of us ate together and hung out. We had plenty of room. This type of room doesn't have a balcony, but we did have an ocean view. The indoor pool and hot tub is the reason we like to go. Usually we go in the winter when it's not too crowded, but we chose Easter weekend since my husband was off. The hotel was fully booked and it was a cold, windy weekend. The pool area never got over crowded. My only complaint is there were kids at the pool without an adult. They were running around and not paying attention to the people in the pool when they jumped in. The hotel should have a staff member check the pool area to make sure the rules are being followed. A security guard comes in at 10 pm to tell you to get out, so maybe the security guard should check in at other times, too. The rooms from the 6th floor down open to the parking deck, it does get noisy, which didn't bother us too bad. In the morning is the loudest time. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We will be going back, and requesting the same type of room.

Room Tip: Stay above the 6th floor to avoid the noise from the parking deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albanyblu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for returning to Grande Shores. We really depend on guests like you and we know there are many choices when coming to Myrtle Beach. Thank you for taking the time to review Grande Shores. I will certainly have the staff visit our pool decks more often to see if all is well there. We want all guests to enjoy their time and having a peaceful environment is very important. Again, thank you for your kind words. Have a tremendous summer and please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Never again will I come anywhere near this "resort!" Since the first phone call to make reservations, this has been a very unpleasant vacation!!! Their staff is very unfriendly and unprofessional!!! The pictures that are posted online are very misleading!!! I'm definitely not impressed!!! The rooms are dirty looking and run down. To top it off, the internet didn't work our entire stay!!! How do you advertise High Speed WiFi, and it doesn't work?!?!?! UNACCEPTABLE!!! I called to speak with the manager, and she without any care responded, "Oh, I'm sorry." REALLY?!?! Ok that's fine...my family and I will choose a REAL resort next time for our vacation!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandersr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
It was really difficult reading your review and from the tone of the review I can tell you were really disappointed. During this past week we have pulled every rounter from each room having issues and reprogrammed to get the internet back up and running. I am so sorry this happened while you were visiting. Please accept our apology. I know our staff will feel very disappointed to see you were also not satisfied with their service. They do try very hard to send a positive message to our guests. I am very sorry you did not feel we cared. Thank you for sharing your feelings. We have to heard the good and bad from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Thanks Grande Shores for another great winter vacation away from the cold in Canada. We can not say enough how well we are treated here. Keep up the good work with all your renovations.

You should be very proud of your staff, from the front desk to the cleaning staff. Any problem that arose or anything that we required was taken care of within a short time. Also, a special thank you to Michelle for returning my keys.

We miss drinking our morning coffee on the balcony and watching the sun as it rises above the horizon. It's also hard to fall asleep without the sound of the ocean coming in the window.

Looking forward to next winter and meeting up with all of our winter friends.

Room Tip: Remember the best rooms are in the front looking out onto the oceans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you Barry for the kind words. I will make sure the staff sees your comment. It will mean a lot to them knowing you enjoyed your winter with us. It is great fun having guests for extended stays. Getting to know everyone and watching all the fun our winter guests have makes our winters enjoyable. When you get lonely visit our social media sites and we will make sure to post pretty pictures for you to enjoy. Thank you for the great review and have a tremendous summer. We wil be waiting for your return this coming winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Shores Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Property: Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Address: 201 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Shores Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grande Shores Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grande Shores Ocean
Grande Shores Ocean Resort Myrtle Beach
Grande Shores Resort
Grande Shores Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing