We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single rooms are terrible, multi-room suites are okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2009

If you are planning on staying at The Grande Shores then only book one of the multi-room suites. There is a world of difference between the multi-room suites and single rooms. The single room we had contained a refridgerator that froze everything (regardless of what setting you placed it on), a ceiling that was peeling and had water damage, a television that was splattered with paint speckles, a door that would only open if you pulled UP on the handle after inserting the key, and was basically run down and in desperate need of repair. The multi-room suites that the rest of our group booked were pretty nice and in much better condition, although they were a bit "dated" as far as the decor. Also, the elevators are terrible (plan on a wait because they're so slow, they are extremely hot, and they really needed to be cleaned). The pool area was nice but 2 of the 4 hot tubs would not work. Based all of this and the single room experience, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone, especially when the price wasn't all that great either.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms3839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2009

We spent seven nights at the Grande Shores and everything was outstanding! My specific reservation was honored, the efficiency was especially clean and the beds slept great! The pool side grill was very tasty and reasonable; Antonio can really cook up a ribeye sandwich! The maid was exceptional! Each day she did a thorough job, never cutting corners, left plenty of towels and supplies! The service of all staff was pleasing, the views were beautiful and everything was clean, even the elevators!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We just got home from our first trip to Myrtle Beach, I read the reviews on here prior to our booking and found that for the most part they were pretty good. When we arrived at the hotel we had to wait to check as we arrived early. We were told that we were welcome to use the amenities until our room was ready. We changed and headed for the beach. This was a bit uncomfortable because we hadn't any towels or anything but it worked out. We finally got our room and headed up. We had ocean front room with a kitchen. I wasn't happy about being on the 3rd floor but the hotel was booked and we weren't able to relocate. As it turned out the room was great. We added another night to our trip and because it was after the initial booking we weren't able to stay in the same room. We ended up staying in a condo for one night that was an ocean view. It was a beautiful room!!! The view was even better then the ocean front one! As one other reviewer wrote, If your looking for 5 star this isn't it! But if your looking for cost efficient, and clean then this hotel will work for you. The rooms were clean and bright. The housekeeping staff although didn't speak english very well, were very pleasant and got the gist of it when we asked for extra towels etc.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxin4once
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This place is very run down and outdated. I knew it was an older buidling before I booked. The problem is the staff. One of the Manger's Jennifer / Jenna (?) was very rude and when I asked to speak to the hotel manager, I was told he is not available. I also tried to ask the staff several questions about the area, but they were too annoyed that I interupted their discussion, to give me the time of day. The staff is very unfriendly and frankly they seem down right unhappy. This is a reflection of bad management, and based on other comments and the responses I read from the Hotel Manager - it seems bad customer service is the trend here. I couldn't believe the negative responses I read via the Hotel Manager from other reviews- no wonder the staff is so unhappy! Oh and the pools are dirty and gross. There is soap scum in the jacuzzi's and lazy river. My wife even got some on her new bathing suit our first day there!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unklesnappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The Grande Shores should be closed. I compare the rooms to the "Motel Six Hotels. We had bugs crawling up headboard of the bed. The carpet was dirty and worn as well as the bathroom never appeared to be clean even after we made two request to have it cleaned. The hotel staff could not answer any questions concerning the surrounding area for dining. The pool side grill closed at 3:00 p. m. daily as did the bar in the lounge because there was not a crowd. Their advertisement is very misleading. At $151.00 a night I expect a lot more that a broken refrig, no microwave and bugs.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEORGIAPEACH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed Easter Week at Grande Shores and had another wonderful time. The furnishings are clean and the cleaning staff of the hotel are always taking care of the property...which is what I like to see. The location is perfect because if you get tired of the beach you can float in the lazy river or swim in the pools. The area is very quiet and you can eat on-site or walk to stores for a coffee or an ice cream treat. I love the private balconies and the views remind me of Central Park on the beach. I also love the on-site parking. Many other beach-front hotels in Myrtle Beach have parking across the street and at Grande Shores you can park your car in a garage in the same building - this is a must for me! Already booked my August trip. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Just stayed a week at Grande Shores. Was not impressed at all, so much, I just got home and thought to myself, "I have to look up reviews on this place, maybe I should have done that first!". The elevators are a nightmare. You have to wait forever to get on one and the structural integrity is very scary. I have never been in such a junky elevator. The parking garage was hell to get in and out of. One night I could not find one parking space and had to drive up and down floors until someone left. If another SUV comes towards you, you have to turn around and back up so that they can get through. We had to go down to the office 3 times about our keys. Our roomate lost her key and they reset all of them, then the new key we got did not work, so we had to do that process again. Then, another day our keycard wouldent work (again) and we went to the service desk and they said they had that we were checking out a day early even though we paid for 7. The room itself was beautiful, but, our refrigerator did not work after we just bought groceries for the week for everyone. It took an hour and 1/2 for the first maintenance man to come and he told us that "coldest" on the refrigerator meant "a higher temperature". He instructed us to keep the knob in the middle and it would cool-it didnt. We called back again and they brought us a new refrigerator and that one worked fine. Also, the toliet in the master bath had problems flushing. The carts they provide to get your luggage in the room (if you could find one) were jacked up. One was missing a wheel, one had a flat and the other was completely broken.
I guess GS would be okay for some people. I guess I expect to relax on vacation without key drama, toliet drama, refrigerator drama, elevator drama, and trying to find a place to park. These may seem like small issues, but, as a single mom taking care of my children, these little snafu's made our vacation more stressful and work than it had to be.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerohead123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,941 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Shores Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Address: 201 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £48 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Shores Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grande Shores Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grande Shores Ocean
Grande Shores Ocean Resort Myrtle Beach
Grande Shores Resort
Grande Shores Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing