We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Six years and looking forward to next Spring already”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Binghamton, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Six years and looking forward to next Spring already”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This will be our our families sixth year in going to the Dunes Resort. We drive from upstate NY. Our entire family of 10, enjoys every minute. We go to Disney and stay in South Jersey for the summer. Of all the places we go, our family prefers and looks for to this vacation every year. There is something for everyone from our youngest 3 yr., old grandchild to our 13 yr. old grandson and our adult children.The ocean front 3 or 4 bedroom condo has plenty of living area and sleeping accomodations. Our family especially looks forward for the time and activities we share with Cari Garvey, the activity director. She makes each family she comes across feel special. It is a pleasure to watch someone who loves her job and takes so much time to make sure everything is right and everyone happy. Every year she improves upon the activities. Cary has watched our family grow, and is one of the most loving memories our family charish.,of our yearly vacation. She has become like extended family to us and look forward to seeing her next spring.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjg111070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thanks for your kind words! I am sure Cari will be here next spring to welcome you home again. Each family is special to all of us here at Dunes Village Resort, and we appreciate your loyalty. See you next Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,518
    1,248
    435
    198
    134
See reviews for
3,876
676
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

the hotel has turned into an average hotel,the dunes village i went to four years ago was beautiful.The rooms were brand new and the atmosphere was great.This year was very disappointing,my room was not up to par. their were fruit flies everywhere ,the room looked wornand not well maintained.The hotel is not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thanks for your recent review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate all feedback. Hearing that your room was not up to par is not typical of our standards set here, and I am sorry for your experience. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked this hotel knowing the weather may not cooperate, do to the fact our stay is at the end of April. We chose the Dunes mainly because they advertise their "indoor" waterpark. Well let me say if it is 60 and windy/rainy, you should find something to do besides swim. The windows/doors are left wide open...which means you are left freezing! Our angle king suite worked but was a little on the small side. The staff is friendly and helpful. Overall a good experience, but next time I will try to wait a few more weeks so my kids don't freeze and we can enjoy what we pay for!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tisharat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Dunes Village Resort. After such an unseasonably warm winter, we took our winter enclosures down in preparation for hurricane season as we do every year around this time. Usually the weather cooperates. Unfortunately, sometimes there is a chill in the air, even at the end of April. I wish you had gotten more opportunity to enjoy the water parks more, which are truly indoors from November - February at the very least. I hope the next time you join us here, everything will be perfect for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. catharines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We are snowbirds travelling to Myrtle Beach for the winter. For three years in a row we have had the pleasure of getting to know Cari Garvey, the activities co-ordinator for Dunes Village. Cari takes a personal interest in each and every couple who have extended stays at the hotel for a month or more. She is a wonderful ambassador for Dunes Village. Always smiling, friendly and caring.

Room Tip: We always choose south side ocean front. In the winter months you get sun mid morning and all after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely words about Dunes Village Resort. We love our "Snowbirds", because you are like family, especially after 3 years! We take pride in our winter rental program, leaving you with many memories of shared meals, planned outings and fun crafts. We are glad you have chosen Dunes VIllage to call home during your extended stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conover, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Took my family on a mini vacation and for my husbands promotion at work. Turns out we found a place we cannot wait to return to. My husband only wants to stay here when we go to the beach. Everyhing went perfectly, from check in to check out. I read tons of reviews before going, i hate to waste money on crappy rooms. They have stepped up pool security and check for bands. Thy chage up the color so to hopefully keep others away. I suggested to the manager to put up a sign, if your caught using the pool without hotel guest privalages you will be fined. But those certain kind of people would probably still try. Anyway it was great, the two bedroom condo is magnificent, our room was clean and big. Love the extra balcony space of the angle view. Everything was far better then we expected. Loved the 9am indoor pool opening with warm water for the little ones, and the pool guards already up in position for safety. No they don't have lifeguards everywhere but come on they are not s babysitting service, watch your own kids. My only problem is the insane price increase for the summer, and winter because of needing more employees and them offering so much. I was instructed about all of this by the check in crew when we arrived and i asked about reservations for July. I know every other hotel does it too but it still stinks.

Room Tip: Angle ocean view 2 bedroom condo is large and private. The extra balcony room is awesome for little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgreeneofnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thanks for writing such a wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate all feedback, and are thrilled when we make people so happy. We are glad that you found your room to be better than you expected. That is what we strive for; to give you better than you anticipate! Congratulations on your husbands promotion! I hope he gets another one soon. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We enjoyed our second winter here. We returned for the ocean view, large rooms and mostly for the activities offered by the hotel, enthusiasticly looked after by Cari Garvey. She works hard at making sure young and old have a good time.
Having read the other reviews I must agree that the excessive chlorine in the pools are a problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 102traveller102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your long-term stay at Dunes Village Resort. We are glad you had a great winter. We appreciates all our "snowbirds" and miss them when they head home. Hope to have you join us again next winter for another fun-filled month of water aerobics, tie-dye t-shirts and pot luck dinners!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We just visited the Dunes Village Resort over Easter break and because of the uncertainty of weather, it was a perfect choice. With temperatures ranging from mid 60's to high 70's, we were able to enjoy water fun every day with the indoor water park. On warmer days, we opted for the outdoor pools, lazy river and beach. Being able to choose between indoor and outdoor activities made a huge difference and ease with the vacation.
Besides the water features, the resort staff had a full schedule of activities for kids of all ages. From free face painting to Tye-dying tee shirts, the kids were never bored. After hours of playing in the water, kids could play with the giant piece chess/checkers games, ping pong, pool, Wii and more for free. Some nights they even had an outdoor drive-in movie with free popcorn and soda. For everything this resort offers, it is really worth the price.
Almost every area is handicapped accessible and the indoor lazy river has a 0 entry ramp to allow for easier access. Since amenities are shared between 2 side by side buildings, people using a wheelchair will have to enter the main hotel from the front, since there are 2 steps up onto the cement deck of the next building on the side. The palmetto tower building doesn't have steps going to the play ground, pool, hot tub and beach. So that building may be a better option for those needing easier access.
Where the resort lacks: The rooms are smaller than other comparable hotels in the area. They could also use some updating, although everything was very clean. We stayed in an oceanfront King studio. For a family with 2 small children, this would be fine. Anything more would seem cramped.
Although there was a full kitchen in the studio, there really wasn't any dining space for more than 2 people to eat. The kids had to eat off of a coffee table, sitting on our coolers. Although they could have sat on the couch, it also left a bigger possibility of spills with the height difference. With the hotel holding a deposit for a clean-up fee, we didn't wish to see any accidents happen.
Within the one-room studio, they had 2 TVs only about 10 feet from each other. With the room being the size it was, it was impossible to watch two different shows. However, it did allow for easier viewing for kids on the sofa bed to watch the same show as the parents in their bed.
Since we spent so little time in the rooms, we could learn to live with these issues but for those who plan to spend more time in the rooms than out, I'd have to suggest getting a bigger room for comfort.
All in all, The Dunes Village Resort allowed us to almost have it all. A beach within steps of the hotel, a decent sized water park with several pools, hot tubs, lazy rivers, playground and activities.

Room Tip: The rooms were very sound proof in the Palmetto Towers. We rarely heard the other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 411TravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes VIllage Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to say such nice things about our property. Our staff tries to anmticipate all your needs and desires, and it looks like we succeeded with you. Just to clarify, the deposit you put down at the time you check in is not for cleaning; it is for any miscelaneous charges you may put on your room, or for any serious damage that may occur. We are a very child oriented resort, so we expect spills, and we deal with them as they occur. As for the seating in your room, that will definitely be looked into and hopefully rectified before your next visit.

We appreciate you staying with us, and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing