We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly nice. Kids really liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a nice place. Not my favorite ever, but nice. We found the room and facilities to be clean, but if you are looking for extreme luxury this is not your best choice. The room was large, having a separate bedroom with washer, dryer was awesome. The bedding was fine. The towels are really, really cheap, but that's ok and not a reason not to stay here. The bathroom was nice, but the tub didn't drain well. We were there the week before Christmas which was very quiet. I imagine the resort can be very crowded other times. Kids loved the indoor water park. I was very unhappy though that one of the water parks was closed for maintenance even though I specifically asked if that would be the case when I made my reservation and they said no. We chose to stay in that specific building to be by that waterpark, but really the short walk to the other water park was not a big deal.
The views of the ocean are great. The beach was beautiful. You should know that most rooms require going outside to get to the water parks, and it was very cold our first night there, so dress the kids accordingly when they run soaked to the room outside! The elevators were quick though and it was not a terrible problem. We bought the buffet the first night and it was served as an alacarte buffet due to low occupancy. That was fine by us as all the food was made fresh. But, the breakfast overall was very average. We were happy to go check out other local places for breakfast the next few days and spent less elsewhere too. But, the breakfast was not horrible, or unreasonably expensive, just decent. The parking across the street was not burdensome at all. The hotel is on a very quiet stretch, and was peaceful. So, overall we liked it a lot, but it was not perfect. I would stay there again if going to Myrtle beach, or might try someplace else. The indoor water park in the winter is the defining aspect of the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doclorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience! We are glad to hear that you would consider coming back to see us.

I apologize for the waterpark closings during your time here. The project the week you were here was not a pre-planned project, as they usually are when we do our annual renovating. It was unexpected, and I am sorry it affected your overall stay.

We are so glad to hear that the kids enjoyed everything, and we hope to see you and your family back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,179 - 3,185 of 5,970 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

My family and I visited for Christmas 2013. We had an angle oceanfront queen suite.....pretty much meaning an ocean view room. The room was very clean, roomy, and convenient. The beds are hard and unless that is what you like, you may not sleep well. Our room was located in the Palms tower. Our pool area was designed for the older kids, however, it did have the submarine splash area. The slides and pool was bigger. The pool in the Palmetto tower is designed for smaller children. It had smaller slides, a wonderful toddler play area, lazy river, ping pong tables and pool tables. If you travel in the winter months, make sure that you pack warm cover-ups to put over bathing suits. You are exposed to the outdoor air going from room to pool or from one pool to the other. The outdoor area is phenomenal. The playground was a favorite for my 2 year old.

The staff at the hotel was awesome!! They were always polite and gave service with a smile!! My son lost his pool bracelet and when we went to the front desk to get another one, we had no issues what so ever!

The location of the hotel is awesome! It is not in a high traffic area, however, it is very close to the strip and Broadway at the Beach.

I look forward to coming back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

"Fantastic" is one of my favorite words, and I am glad you chose that one to describe your Dunes Village Resort experience. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer.

Dunes Village Resort is made up of 2 buildings, as you described, and we are separated by a public beach access. What that means is that we do not own that property, so we cannot build a covered or enclosed walkway between the buildings. Your advice about warmer clothes or a bathrobe is a very good idea.

We look forward to having you and your family back again soon! Thank you again for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We are former owners of an ocean front efficiency, and thought that it would be great to stay in the same unit as a paying guest. The room was not available at check-in, but we got the unit next to it. It was a fun experience and we will return again as paying guests next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trika1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

That is a great story! We were so happy to have you back home for a quick visit. Sorry "your" room was not available, but maybe next time....

We hope you get back for another visit soon. Thanks for sharing your story! And thanks for the 5 star rating. That says a lot to us (especially since you are a past owner).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

What else is left to say about this property? We had another great stay at the Dunes. We lacked a few toiletries in the condo, but that was quickly rectified with a quick chat to a member of the maintenance staff. The property is still very well-maintained and all amenities were open and operating. The staff is gracious and inviting at every turn. We were so relaxed at the end of our stay that we seriously considered trying to book a quick trip for New Year's!

Room Tip: There is no bad room. It depends on what view you like, how much you want to pay and the season. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We really love to hear that you keep enjoying all that Dunes Village Resort has to offer, and that it was another perfect stay for you! Our staff is the best on the beach, ensuring our guests have a wonderful experience! Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review. We hope you get another chance to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Wifi sucked all three days. Desk said they have lots of complaints about that. Room was wonderfully set up, just couldnt sleep on the mattress, felt like a hard trampolene that bounced you with every move. Waterpark was fantastic but they need to come up with something that gets hair out of the water... Yuck!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Post166sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. I generally do not offer excuses, only explanations. With that being said, there was a problem with the fiber optic cable that brings our WiFi into the resort. It not only affected our property, but several up and down the street from us reported the outage. It was addressed by our tecnicians as well as the company that supplies our main source of Wifi. Since our WiFi upgrade several months back, we have had minimal issues with the system, and that is the way we like it. I am sorry that this was troublesome for you, and can assure you that this is not the norm for us since we have done the WiFi renovations.

I am unsure of any product on the market that gets hair out of water. I do know that our maintenance team spends close to 3 hours a day preparing the water parks for our guests use, and they clean the filters several times daily. I have never seen a clump of hair floating in the water, so I am unsure of the magnitude of this concern, but will pass it on to see if there is a way we can address the situation.

Mattresses are another story alltogether. Some of our guests have stated they get their best sleep on our mattresses. I am sorry that you did not feel they were to your comfort level.

We do hope to see you back here for another visit. Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

What more could you ask for two indoor pools outdoor pools right on the beach ocean view.. Dunes Village is close everything but not in the middle of all the traffic. I have stayed here several times and it just keeps getting better

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSturdyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

You said it ALL!! Thanks for the wonderful review. We are so glad that we keep impressing you time and time again. We love to hear when we do well, and your 5 star review says it completely! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope you get back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were met by Sheila, front desk, and she was great!! very dedicated, always smiling and great customer service. We saw her several times during our stay and she was always cordial and smiling. Would stay again, rooms and bed very comfy.

Room Tip: Ocean front with great views..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience. We appreciate the kind words, as well as the 5 star rating!

By meeting Shelia, you have encountered the epitome of Dunes Village Resort. Shelia is friendly, happy, and very helpful to our guests. She is truly an asset to our team. I feel sure that every other team member you encountered was wonderful as well, since we have the cream of the crop here to take care of our guests.

We are so glad to hear that your trip was so wonderful, and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Thanks again for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,213 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,622 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £68 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing