We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunes Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark(Myrtle Beach)
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Island Vista(Myrtle Beach)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Caravelle Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Colony Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,284)
Filter reviews
6,284 results
Traveller rating
3,971
1,394
509
247
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,971
1,394
509
247
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor waterparkwater parkcaptain's cafepalmetto toweracross the streetping pongocean frontqueen suitelazy riverkids activitiesangle oceanfrontpalms buildingshuffle boardparking garagefamily vacationwasher and dryerfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,308 - 3,313 of 6,284 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The rooms are very shabby, I mean you can only do so much patching up to a place. A good remodeling would due this property some good. However my kids enjoyed the amenities, as this is the only property with an indoor water park, which served it's purpose being that the weather was in the upper 60's and low 70's during our visit. Not to mention its in a great location, with parking directly across the street which isn't too bad of a distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meme39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Dunes Village Resort. I am sorry to hear that you found the rooms to be shabby. We just did a fair amount of remodeling over the winter, installing new carpet, new couches in every unit, new bedding and bed boxes, and several other smaller projects to enhance the look of the rooms. We have gotten several compliments on the crisp clean look of the room now, and the cleanliness levels are superb. I am glad to hear that the kids enjoyed the property. With all the fantastic amenities we have to offer, we are chock full of fun.

We do hope you get another opportunity to come back and see us. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Overall great stay, staff was friendly and service was great. The kids loved the waterpark. The food at restaurant was very good, drink prices at tiki bar were a little high and not great selection for beer drinkers. Parking was across the street and very accessible. Overall a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer. Our resort has so many fun things to do and our team here is the best, most friendly and helpful grup of people you will ever encounter.

We gope your travels bring you back to us again sometime soon! Thanks again for sharing your Dunes Village Resort experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here twice ... Nice rooms and location but two show stoppers. First, the wi-fi speed is terrible! In fact, plan not to have a connected device for your stay since even cell service is very poor. Sitting in my room with one bar on AT&T and I can only get that if I hold my phone just right ... Gave up on wi-fi.

The access points are strong but the circuit is very poor. Clearly they do not intend to fix this since it's bee two years since we were here. Second, the room safes are faulty. Again, had the same problems with them last time. Put your code in, try it and it works. Come back later, can't get into the safe. Call maintenance and wait for 45 mins.

Too bad too because I would give the rest of the hotel good marks. Having said that, I grow real tired of having to run into town to get a connection. Won't be staying here again ... Too much of a hassle if you have to work for a living.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you very much for offering your feedback regarding your recent visit to Dunes Village Resort. I am sorry to hear that you had some challenges during your time here with us. Since last year, we have done a very costly upgrade to our WiFi system, changing everything over to a fiber-optic network and adding many more access points into the resort. Honestly, the amount of positive feedback on this upgrade has been phenominal, making us wish we had done the improvement sooner. I am sorry that your experience with the WiFi was unsatisfactory, as I understand the need to work on vacation.

Waiting 45 minutes for maintenance is unacceptable, no matter what the issue, and that is something that we have already addressed at our daily stand-up meetings in order to improve our guest service. I apologize that you have had difficulty operating the safe, and wish that these 2 items were not deal breakers in your intention to return. If I can do anything to change your mind, please do not hesitate to contact me. I am at the resort most days.

Sincerely,

Cari Garvey
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

If you are interested in staying at a carnival, this is the place for you. I felt dirty staying there. The pool was over crowded with kids and adults--it was a free for all. It seemed is if there were no rules. No lifeguard at any pools. Rooms looked as if they had been put through hell wrapped in cheap polyester bedding. The only good thing was the Starbucks in the Palmetto tower. Advice: don't stay at the Dunes Village "Resort" in Myrtle Beach unless you like Carnies.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Eatmeimaturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback regarding your Dunes Village Resort vacation. We are a popular destination, especially in the springtime, when there is questionable weather since we have so much to offer indoors to keep our guests entertained. I am sorry to hear that the crowds were bothersome to you. I am not sure that "carnival" is the best way to describe us; maybe family fun would be a better chocie when describing the atmosphere. Even though there are no certified lifeguards on staff, we have plenty of staff in both water parks regularly, as well as our activities team, managers and even the maintenance team ensuring all guests are playing nicely and the environment is safe.

I am glad to hear that Starbucks was a highlight for your stay. The team there takes very good care of our guests, feeding them homemade goodies and serving up specialty coffees with a smile. Thanks for noticing.

We take all feedback to heart, and make changes to any items that we feel need improvement. Thank you again for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Terrific experience. Kids thoroughly enjoyed the water park. We found the staff helpful and courteous. The resort is well equipped and offers a lot for a family with small children. Most water areas are 3 feet deep, so ideal for children at least 3-4 years old.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful Dunes Village Resort review. We appreciate the 5 star rating, and we are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed all that we have to offer. Our team here at Dunes Village Resort really does a fabulous job making sure all of our guests needs are met, and we appreciate your mentioning them.

We look forward to seeing you back here again. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews