We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel/Little Over-Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel Staff extremely friendly and smiling! :) Loved our stay. We received our room for a 35% discount for spring break (2014) but probably wouldn't stay again at full price. Our children loved the water park, shuffle board, chess, and checkers boars. We stayed one night but were allowed to stay on the property until 4pm to enjoy their amenities. Excellent place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience. Dunes Village Resort has the very best team assembled to satisfy our guests needs, and we appreciate your noticing. The value of the room goes hand in hand with all the amenities we provide. The water park is 30,000 square feet of pure entertainment, and, as you mentioned, you can still use the property after you check out. In addition to the water parks, we have a 9 hole mini golf course, basketball and tennis courts, a sand volleyball court, daily activities and many other diversions for your entertainment. We have an on-site spa, 2 wonderful restaurants and a Starbucks coffee to satisfy your food cravings. Plus, we have the best team in the business to ensure your satisfaction, which based on the 5 star review you offered, we were successful in. Thanks for writing. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,077 - 3,083 of 6,068 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a wonderful time however I would like it if the Internet were a lot better, especially being the fact I run a business from home. I couldn't use the Internet hardly at all while being there, I had to use 3G on my phone. Also there was no coffee in the room, creamer or sugar. And be careful when booking, because the site advertises that the rooms are oceanfront and a lot of the rooms are not actual oceanfront more like side oceanfront view.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Kellynichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. It sounds like your vacation was a success, and we are so glad to hear that!

Our building is listed as an ocean-front building. The rooms on the sides of the building are called "angle-oceanfront" because they are on an angle from the oceanfron part of the building. When we sell those rooms to our guests, we do emphasize that the room is on the angle portion of the building and not straight oceanfront. Even on the angle, there is still a great view of the ocean. I apologize if there was any confusion regarding the type of room you reserved.

Coffee and cream/sugar can be obtained at the front desk. We do not place it in the rooms. I hope that someone on our team helped you locate the coffee.

We certainly appreciate the review you offered, and we look forward to helping you with some more family fun in the near future. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Dunes Village. We were in Palms Tower, 11th floor. Our room was very clean, perfect size, and had an amazing "angle-oceanfront" view, just as advertised. Kitchen had basics, nothing fancy, but definitely enough to get by.
Staff was VERY courteous and helpful. We did not have housekeeping "in" during our week long stay, but they did check with us daily, swap out towels, take garbage, etc, as well as offered to come in to do more service.
The outdoor pools were very nice, heated. Our weather was not great, out of 7 days we had 2 days in the low 70s, 3 days of rain, and the other 2 days between high 50s to mid 60s. Kids loved the indoor park in Palms Tower (they are 10 and 7). Not a huge waterpark in either tower, but definitely entertaining and fun enough for those rainy/chilly days.
Resort is about 3.5 miles north of Broadway on the Beach (or Myrtle's Grand Strand). Definitely too far to walk down the beach to with kiddos :) But nice & quiet, and a more private beach, even with public beach access.
Our only complaint would be the WiFi service, which was definitely not good. VERY long time to load any page/email/network. Service in the waterpark itself was non-existant, and even at the pools was spotty. Not a deal-breaker at all though :)
We ate at Captains Cove at least 4 times, each time was excellent service and decent food. Starbucks was also a plus!! But be forewarned, it is privately owned as "Perks Up", so it does NOT accept Starbucks gift cards.
Would have loved if Starbucks and Tiki Bar were at our tower....or if they had locations at both, actually :)
We would DEFINITELY return to Dunes, we had a wonderful stay at a wonderful resort!

Room Tip: Angle-Oceanfront in Palms Tower was awesome! The rooms that face the ocean (and pools) would be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so much for the detailed account of your visit here at Dunes Village Resort. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had such an exjoyable experience with us. There is lots of fun to be had here, and it sounds like you maximized your time!

We hope to see you back here again for some more family fun! Thanks again for the lovely 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our kids lived all the pools and hot tubs and the breakfast is truly amazing, the rooms are super clean and staff is great also a great value for such a highly rated resort we for she love this place and will only stay here when we go to Myrtle beach thank you Dunes for making our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melhatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate the 5 star rating, and we are glad to hear that you will come back and see us again. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at Dunes Village over Easter weekend. It was a very busy and crowded place but you never would have known that from the customer service that we received. The room was very nice and clean. We had pretty bad weather all weekend but there was so much to do for the kids and the indoor pools were nice and warm. Also the on sight restaurants were very good. I would definitely recommend to families.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lulu0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

We are so glad to hear that in spite of the weather, a good time was had by all here at Dunes VIllage Resort. Our team here provides excellent guest service, as we understand what the definition of hospitality is. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with the world, and hope to provide the backdrop for some more family fun very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed 4/13-4/20 2 BR angle oceanfront. Do yourself the favor and book this set up especially if you like a nice deck as there are 2 extended decks that wrap around most of the room w/ sweeping views. We also would recommend the palmetto tower for the proximity of parking garage almost directly across street where Palm twr a little more walking but not that much. I didn't find parking to be a hassle at all w/ both towers sold out during our stay never had a problem parking and when it was crowded I just went straight to roof (6th floor) and parked right by elevator which I waited I think once for 2 minutes tops.

One thing that really impressed me was the ability for these 2 towers to accommodate capacity crowds where everybody was inside most of the week due to the weather. I've never seen the weather this bad during the course of a week this time of the month 50's and low 60's when warm and rarely did the sun come out but my kids made the most of the waterpark in Palmetto Twr as it was geared to them more so than one in Palm. Boys 4 and 8 yrs old could not keep them out of the water younger one loved the 2 smaller slides and older one loved the lazy river and as crowded as it was we were always able to find a couple seats for our stuff as it never felt over crowded.

The only time we had to request housekeeping was the first day and after that the room was done like clockwork by noon everyday. The restaurant inside the hotel we had room service from once and it was excellent. We had breakfast there once as well on Easter and found it to be average but what saved the breakfast was the dude on the omelette station who was as good as I've seen cranking out quality omelettes. I had one issue w/ internet service and another with missing golf balls from putt putt area and had both of these issues dealt w/ quickly and a smile. I also want to commend the staff for their attention to detail w/ kid's stations for crafts, activities etc. both of my kids were eager to return on a daily basis and they kept the mood upbeat all week despite the weather.

Back to the room family of 4 we were extremely comfortable in our space and loved the layout. My only comments would be continued attention to the bedding from mattresses to the pillows it goes a long way when choosing accommodations. I'm not saying they were bad but more on the average to below average for a place which such high marks in other areas I would expect more in this area w/ regard to comfort. My only other comment on trip was lack of spa. This is one of those parts of the trip that had my wife's attention and she wasn't happy about it especially w/ bad weather a quality spa that was open would have been nice and certainly on my wife's list as something that's a necessity to return.

Again I highly recommend Dunes Village for families. This now our 4th different property in Myrtle and although I was glad to try out other places I'm put off because I realized what I missed out on the other 3 trips. One plug for my favorite miniature golf course Captain Hook just up the road they simply have the best 2 mini golf courses on the strip imo!

Room Tip: don't worry about oveanfront/oceanview unless you are obsessed w/ being directly in front/closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LasVegasGuru666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Wow! Your review blew me away! Thank you very much for all the wonderful things you shared regarding your visit with us here at Dunes Village Resort. You covered so many of the highlights, and we really appreciate the amount of time and detail you put into this.

You had horrible weather and you still had a 5 star vacation. That says a lot about all that we have here to keep you active and having fun. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. We hope to see you back again for some more memory making!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Everything was GREAT, my grand-kids had a wonderful time. Rooms are comfy and clean with plenty of space. The water parks and pools offered plenty of FUN. The beach area was clean and ready for fun. I can honestly say we had a wonderful stay. We'll BE BACK....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful vacation with your grandchildren. We are the perfect resort to spend family time in because of all the fun amenities and safe environment we provide.

We appreciate the 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort you offered, and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,355 reviews
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £56 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing