We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upside was the waterpark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Upside was the waterpark”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights. Our primary reason for picking this resort was the waterpark. The waterpark was fine, but small (between the two parts) and was boring for our twelve year old after a couple of hours. The staff was nice. Parking across the street was a bit of a bother. The rooms were just ok. They were clean, but older and not quality. The beds were hard as a rock and it was difficult to sleep.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Squeakerandkiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent review. We appreciate all feedback, as it gives us an opportunity to address areas of concern. I am sorry that you found the parking garage to be a hassle. We located it across the street to maximize our oceanfront rooms. We offer valet service for those who find the trek bothersome.

The beds we have in the units are all the same, and some people like them while others do not. I am sorry your sleep was not comfortable for you.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the water park, and hope you choose to visit us again. Thanks again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,602
    1,273
    451
    204
    138
See reviews for
3,977
691
42
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed six days at Dunes Village Resort and had a great time. We got an awesome deal on our room ($79 a night!) and the staff were able to extend our stay an extra night even though our room was booked. This was our first time here and would return again. We had an oceanfront king suite on the 5th floor of the Palmetto tower. Our room was ver spacious and had two TVs and a full (mini sized) kitchen. The weather was 70s and even though the ocean was still very cold, walks on the beach were pleasant. The water park was great for our two children (5 and 6). The hot tubs were cool enough for our kids to go in. We ate the breakfast Buffett twice and the food was very good. The ocean view from the balcony was amazing. Our room was cleaned and towels replaced every day and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a very nice playground and kids activities every day. Location was perfect- not too far from the shopping outlets and plenty of restaurants within two miles. Very happy with our stay!

Room Tip: Palmetto tower water park is better suited for young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
"Perfect" is our favorite word! We appreciate your taking the time to share your "perfect" Dunes Village Resort experience with the world. We are so glad to hear that we were able to provide you with the "perfect" 5 star vacation and we hope to see you again for some more fun and family time sometime soon. Thanks so much for sharing your story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very nice place to stay with kids. We had a 3 BR 3 Bath condo for 6 adults and 3 children and there was plenty of room. The balcony was large but could have used more seating. We would stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: 3 BR 3 Bath condo was very nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We are thrilled to hear that your party of 9 had such a great visit with us. We appreciate the suggestion of more seating, and we will definitely look into adding some more balcony chairs to the bigger balconies.

We look forward to another visit with you and your group. We hope to see you soon for some more memory making. Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Low rankings were given for the following reasons: Got to watch a valet driver cut off and yell out a paying guest. Got to move around smokers outside of door ways. Got to watch glass bottles of beer being consumed on the pool deck. Not to mention the obscene amount of beer being drank by patrons. Cleaning staff was rude when asked to clean our room at 4pm in the afternoon. We still had to call the front desk and get toilet paper, kleenex, and fresh towels, the new ones she left had a blood stain on one and pretty sure she just took some off of our floor and just folded them. All three of us came home with congestion from I am assuming the lack of chlorine in the pools killing bacteria. The outside pools were much cleaner (assuming the UV light from the sun aids in stopping the growth of germs)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westj2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are not in the business to disappoint our guests, so I was saddened to read this review. I am so sorry that your vacation was not the perfect get-away that we try so hard to provide for our guests. Some of the areas that you mentioned have already been addressed, while others are being looked into. Your words are not going unheard, and any area that we can improve on, we plan to do just that.

On a side note, the indoor pools all have UV light fixtures in them to aid in the elimination of germs (much like direct sunlight), and the air filtration system is working perfectly at this time. I am not sure where your congestion came from, but I do hope you feel better soon.

We do hope you get another opportunity to visit us. We would love to have you back. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just back from six days at Dunes Village. This is our second visit and our four children had a nice time (as did we). Weather was cool during our stay but the indoor water parks provided plenty of entertainment for our kids. Our accommodations (oceanfront queen suite in the Palmetto Tower) were nice, and easily accommodated six of us. Housekeeping was great, and vacuumed, made the beds, removed kitchen trash and replaced towels daily. Had a clogged toilet one night and maintenance was at the door within five minutes of calling. There are a ton of things to do in the surrounding area, and there is a Food Lion 8/10's of a mile away so you can load up on food for your kitchen. There's something nice about having a home cooked meal when you're away, not to mention it's cheaper than going out for dinner every night! The staff all seemed pleasant enough, and the outdoor pools and beach were nice. The only issue we had was in the water parks. There are pool staff watching the water slides, but there doesn't seem to be anyone else monitoring what's going on in the balance of the water parks and there were several times that I saw smaller children knocked over or pushed aside by older kids rough housing. I know that kids will be kids, but it would be nice to know that someone was there watching. Overall a very good experience, and we would definitely return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on lowest floors on ocean side are right off pool decks and I would imagine you'd hear ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad we were able to provide the backdrop for your family vacation here at Dunes Village Resort. It sounds like you had a lovely vacation, and we are glad you chose to spend it with us. We would love to see you again, and hope that you will find your way back to us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conover, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Dunes Village. Overall the experience was good. The waterpark is great on the days there is bad weather or someone just wants indoor pools. In the cooler months I would still take my grandkids there. However during warm months I would stay elsewhere. The rooms are overpriced just to be able to use the facilities. I have stayed in much larger condo units up and down Myrtle Beach that was nice and cost less. The grandkids were happy so thats what counts.

Room Tip: We had an angle room and a good view of the ocean however I noticed some of the angle rooms would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelaritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience. We are glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable visit and that your grandchildren had fun. There is so much to do here, and even more so in the summertime. While we do offer year-round activities, we gear up a lot more as it warms up. From movies out on the lawn to a make-your-own-sundae event to a Fourth of July Family extravaganza, we have what it takes to keep all ages entertained all summer long.

Our room prices are very competitive with surrounding properties, but we offer so much more. That may be why we maintain a 98% occupancy all summer long. If you get a chance to come back when it is warmer, we would love to have you. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My family spent Spring Break at the Dunes VR and we had a wonderful stay. We booked on the early bird special and it was very affordable. The resort was very nice and the staff very professional. Argentina from housekeeping was awesome and made sure we had enough towels and accessories every day and we never had a problem with housekeeping. The indoor waterpark is a plus because when it was cool at the beach we had fun in a warm environment. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have had at a resort and even though our kids have food allergies the staff was very accommodating with substitutes. My kids actually looked forward to breakfast every day!! There is so much to do at this hotel from the playground for little kids, pool tables, many hot tubs, slides, outdoor pools and even tennis courts. Parking was never a problem for us- it just across the street. If I had any cons it would probably be that the beds were a little hard and uncomfortable probably because they were new but the room and view were amazing. Also cellphone service was horrible but we were on vacation and was too busy having fun anyway. There are grocery stores in the area in case you forget the essentials at home so even though this is on the quieter side of MB it is still within close proximity to everything and not far from the boardwalk. We will definitely be returning-our kids can’t wait.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a washer and dryer-this was a huge benefit for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessd4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
What a fantastic review of Dunes Village Resort! We really appreciate all the kind things you had to share, and are thrilled that we were able to provide you with so much family fun! You mentioned all the highlights, so all I have to add is a giant thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, and thank you for choosing Dunes Village Resort for your get-away! We cannot wait for you to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,689 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#40 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing