We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our third year at dunes Village. They exceed expectations with their hospitality and friendliness. The rooms have always been nice each year. Our 9 year old loves the indoor water park. There was an issue with the ac unit and it was immediately replaced, literally in less than 30 minutes. Cannot say enough good about this resort , the staff aims to please. Truly a great place for a family to stay and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bentleybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review of Dunes Village Resort you offered. We appreciate your spending your vacation time with us. Your loyalty means the world to us, and we look forward to many more years with you and your family. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,864 - 2,870 of 5,977 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

My family has been booking and staying with Dunes Village for the past 5 years. It has become a family tradition for us and we hope to keep it up in the future. The staff at Dunes Village are second to none. They have exceptional staff who are always smiling and friendly and more than willing to help out any way they can. From the bartender, to the restaurant workers, to the check-in and check-out staff, to the housekeepers and grounds workers, the staff are exceptional. The Captain's Cafe food is to die for as well as the Admiral's Room breakfast buffet. They are a staple of our vacation every year. We have always loved staying here. This is the first year I have had a complaint, though. We stayed an entire week and only had our housekeeper clean our entire room twice. The first time we were in the room and she was exceptional as always. The second time, we weren't in the room and we couldn't tell what she had done in the room except load our dishes for us and change our towels. The room was just as untidy as it was when we left. We were extremely disappointed. After we started cleaning the room ourselves, we started getting even more disappointed. When we moved our couch to clean we found candy bar wrappers and trash... we hadn't had any candy bars or any of the trash in our room. These were left over from previous stays. Even worse than that though was the old pair of dirty black socks that were beneath the drapes in our bedroom. That is disgusting. When my husband started making the beds that were unmade he found a bottle of old baby lotion and some wrappers behind the mattress. As I We tried to use our blender to make some drinks when we were finished and the blender didn't work. Needless to say we had to leave the room and go out so we didn't get frustrated with the facility. We didn't want to stay around and find more faults. We've always stayed in the King Studio but upgraded this year to the Angle Queen Oceanfront Room just so we could have a washer and dryer available. I think next year we will downgrade again. The room was musty and old. So badly that our allergies acted up the entire stay... even our children had problems with their allergies due to the old musty drapes and furniture. When we mentioned this to our housekeeper she told us it was an ongoing problem that people complained with their allergies in those rooms. With the prices people pay to stay here... that is inexcusable. It's time for upgrades. The bathtub stopper was broken off. The towel rack in the bathroom was broken, there was visible black mildew around the top of the sinks and the bathtub was visibly dirty as well as the drain covered in soap scum. The beds in the bedroom were so rock solid and hard that we woke up with back aches and tight muscles. We slept on the sofa bed and murphy bed the rest of the vacation after the first night. This is not what you expect from a room you paid hundreds of dollars per night to stay in for a week. We love Dunes Village Resort and we will return next year, but please do something about these things or your loyal customers may stop being so loyal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fulltimemommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. Your concerns are definitely being addressed, as we agree that losing our loyal guests is not an option. We love watching our families return year after year, seeing the children grow up, sharing in the joys of the last year like families do. When there are solutions to our guests concerns, we are on top of it.

My request to you is a simple one: Please let me know personally the next time you are coming to see us so I may do a secondary inspection of your room. Sometimes things get overlooked, and I do not want you to have the same experience on your next visit. I am at the resort most days.

Sincerely,

Cari Garvey
Guest Services Manager
843.449.5275

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Loved Dunes Villiage and we will definitely stay again. Room was awesome and the pools and loved the dj's at the pool. We enjoyed the volleyball court and the use of the cabanas. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Our team herre at Dunes Village Resort is the best there is in the Hospitality industry. Friendly, professional, and able to enhance your vacation with the smiles that we constantly offer. We are thrilled that we were able to provide you a wonderful 5 star vacation, and we hope to see you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is our 2nd year staying at this resort. We stayed here from June 1-6,2014. It was my husband, my daughter and I. We stayed in the king oceanfront room. Bed was comfortable. Had a pullout sofa bed. Only problem we had was there was no sheets on the sofa bed. Called down to front desk and someone brought up a sheet set. Problem was fixed in a timely manner. Bed was comfortable. The 2 waterparks on site were great !!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Indiana2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Our goal here at Dunes Village Resort is to ensure you ahve all your needs met as quickly as we know what your needs are. We are glad to hear that your 2nd visit with us was such a success, and we look forward to a 3rd visit sometime soon. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind words and lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband, myself and our two year old son really enjoyed the restaurants, game room, splash pads and pools. The rooms really need some help, though. With the right tweaks, this could be an outstanding resort. For a beachside property, the price was right - but I'd still expect a bit more quality.
-Coffee maker was broken
-Corkscrew was broken
-Pots & pans were in serious disrepair (though I will say kitchen was pretty well equipped)
first pack & play that was delivered woudln't latch. It wasn't in our room when we arrived as requested, and when they delivered it, it was broken. Guest services was on point, though - they delivered another newer, working on in less than 30 minutes.
-The angle oceanfront king condos are VERY small. Any more than two adults and one child would have been too much. Honestly, even if your child is older, it's too small. The floor plan looks so much larger, but you have to move the dining table if you want to use the hideaway bed - yet there's no place to move the dining table. Also, the view on an angle oceanfront is *very* angled. You get a peak at the ocean, but mostly just the pool below and hotel next door.
-The rooms could be cleaned better, in general. A lot of dust bunnies, toilet was slightly dirty, food bit stuck to the side of the sofa - nothing disgusting. But, I expect a "resort" to me more than just liveable or "not disgusting."

Pros:
-Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.
-Onsite dining was impressive
-pool & play facilities were amazing. They never got very crowded and were well-kept. It's nice to have the indoor option when it's raining or storming outside.
-Nice area of the beach that also wasn't very crowded. A lot less hooplah in this north/residential area (but it is too far to talk to restaurants, etc.)

Room Tip: Avoid angle oceanfront if you actually want to SEE the ocean. Go all out if you want a good view. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience. I am sorry to hear that you found some items in disrepair in your room. We try to do a thorough inspection between guests, but if we are not advised on some broken items, we don't know to fix or replace them. Generally, when our guests have something that is not working, they just call the hotel operator and a new one is brought to them. While it may be an inconvenience to call, it is better than not having an item that you need.

We are glad to hear that everything else was wonderful for your vacation, and we look forward to another visit from you sometime soon. Thank you again for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room was better than expected. We had a one bedroom angle view suite. The suite was so spacious. The washer and dryer were a pleasant surprise. Everything about our stay was lovely. The staff was friendly, the elevators were super fast (we were on the 12th floor), the pools and slides were wonderful. It rained one of the days we were there and it didn't make a dent in our fun as several of the pools are indoor. We will be back. Very family-friendly resort.

Room Tip: Our room on the 12th floor in the tower was quiet, and the angle view was terrific. We didn't ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

You "LOVED it here" and we LOVED having you here. Dunes Village Resort is such an awesome resort, with plenty to do, great food outlets, and the best staff on the beach to meet your needs. We are glad to hear that it was a 5 star visit for you, and we hope to give you another perfect visit next time you are here. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This place really had it all.

If you have kids you're going to want to check this place out. Numerous pools, all of them clean. Water slides, playground...

And wow.. the staff is so friendly! Seriously... at one point when I was walking down to the beach, I used the elevator to the ground floor and emerged in an area where there were large walk-in freezers and other storage. There was a guy down there loading product into one of the freezers. When he saw me he gave me a genuine 'good morning,' and told me to enjoy my stay. And that was just one of many similar experiences.

And since we're talking about Myrtle Beach, I'll put this out there: the hotel is located in the ... non-obnoxious ... part of MB. You are close enough to things to do without being among the riff-raff. And you are right on the beach. But you could easily entertain yourself without ever leaving this hotel.

Great place. Go there. NOW!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oklesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

WOW! What a GREAT review! And such wonderful compliments! Thank you so much for sharing your 5 star experience here at Dunes Village Resort. The "good morning" you received WAS genuine. We truly want you to have the perfect visit, and it sounds like we succeeded with you and your family. We appreciate your choosing Dunes Village Resort for your get-away and we hope you can get back here to see us again soon. Until then.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,214 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,626 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £69 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing