We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never gets old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife found Dunes Village online by chance when we were looking for a family vacation near the beach 5 years ago. We've gone back every year since!

The Staff: The front desk is amazing - and extremely friendly. Tanya has checked us in the past 2 (maybe 3) years now, and she's always smiling and so helpful regardless of how long the line is. Whenever you see an employee in the hall or on the elevator, they always ask you how your stay is going, and make sure you have everything you need. Housekeeping does a great job too! They would do fun things with my daughters stuffed animals every day, and she'd be so excited to come back to the room from the beach to see what they did.

The room: The view... I look forward to that all year. There isn't another hotel on the south side tower and you can see all the way down to the ferris wheel. You can also see fireworks from the baseball stadium (currently on Monday nights). The beds are good, not great - but, the room is clean, well taken care of, and was very spacious (we get a 2 bedroom suite). The full kitchen is stocked with everything you'd need to prepare a meal if you don't feel like going out.

The resort: Our kids (7 and 12) love the waterslides, and playing basketball in the pool. Not all that enjoyable for adults, but, that's what the 5 indoor hot tubs and 2 lazy rivers are for. There's also shuffle board, large scale checkers and chess, plus pool tables and ping pong located around the pool areas. Every day there is an activity for the kids - everything from face painting, tattoos, arts/crafts, scavenger hunts, etc. Most are free, but some do have a small fee associated with them. The beach is right out the back door, and you can go from your room to chairs on the sand in less than 5 minutes.

Restaurants: I can honestly say, I've never eaten at the resort. There are so many choices around town that we never seem to think to stay at the resort for a meal.

Overall: It never gets old... we're going back next year, and every year after that. We love the staff, the resort, the town - everything.

Room Tip: The South tower has the better views as there aren't any other hotels for MILES to the south. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

What a lovely and detaild review of Dunes Village Resort. We really appreciate all the kind things you had to share about your recent 5 star vacation with us! We are glad to hear that Tonya was your first point of contact for another year. The team here at Dunes Village Resort is the best, with many staff having been here for several years now.

We are glad to hear that your views were excellent, your waterpark time was fun and you were never bored. Next visit, though, please try the restaurants. I have nothing but praise for the food myself, so I will highly recommend both the breakfast buffet (Admirals' Room) and the lunch/dinner/cocktail area (Captain's Cafe).

We look forward to seeing you again. We hope that it will be soon. Thanks again for your awesome review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,986 - 2,992 of 6,131 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

First off, let me say that I wouldn't stay here if I was travelling without kids. It's clearly a family destination and if you're not a kid person, I think you would be annoyed. However, I was travelling with a one-year-old, so it was perfect. There is so much to do around the hotel that we only left in the evenings to walk around the boardwalks for shopping/dinner. We really enjoyed our stay. I only have two serious complaints: (1) the concierge was terrible, just truly awful. The first time we asked the concierge for a suggested family-friendly evening activity, she responded, "I'm off in 15 minutes, you can be helped right there." She sent us to a podium next to hers, where a nice (somewhat pushy) lady tried to get us to commit to a 2-hour timeshare pitch the following morning. Clearly, we weren't being helped. The next day, my wife asked the concierge where the best place to park was to watch the fireworks by the boardwalk. Not only did the concierge not have a parking suggestion (were we truly the first people to ever ask this question!?), she had no idea the city had fireworks. This is pretty funny since the fireworks are a recurring event in Myrtle Beach. In any event, use Trip Advisor for suggested activities and don't waste your time with the resort staff. (2) the room never felt clean. My son spilled one of his food pouches on a sheet/pillow case the second day. We wiped it up, but a clearly visible spot remained. The staff apparently never changed our bedding for 5 nights. I also used a towel one day to wipe up water on the entry tile floor into the room. It was disgusting. The towel was practically black. I don't think they ever truly clean the floors. Walking around the room before bed your feet will be black.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit here at Dunes Village Resort. I am sorry that the housekeeping service was not up to par. That is an area that we have already addressed, and we expect that the next time you visit you wil find everything spic and span.

As for the concierge, I am sorry that they were anything less than helpful. Their job is to make sure that our guests are informed, and this will be addressed with their superiors promptly. The team here at Dunes Village Resort is known for its friendliness and helpfulness, and to hear anything different is unacceptable and will be rectified.

Thank you again for choosing us for your vacation get-away. We look forward to having you here for some more fun and relaxation in the future. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was a little confusing with the parking across the street, and it took me a moment to remember where my elevator to get to my room was, but it was an excellent trip for my son. They have a water park that kept my son entertained for hours. I loved the fact that they removed all the excess shells from the beach every morning, so that you can enjoy a beach walk in the morning without stepping on a million seashells. I will definitely be back again, but the only change would be not to use bookit.com. They overcharged me, so buyer beware if you are using them. As far as the hotel, yes I will definitely be back but not using bookit.com. Make sure on that website that you are not being charge more than you agreed to like I was.

Room Tip: I would go with their suites on the south side or in the palms. I stayed in 952 and it was a great l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank U M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding Dunes Village Resort. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our property. I am sorry you had trouble with booking your reservation through a 3rd party website. They do a great job promoting our resort, and I have never heard a bad thing about them. I hope you were able to clear up the confusion with them. Either way, we will happily book your next reservation for you when you are ready to visit again. Hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first time visiting Myrtle Beach. I researched hotels and decided to stay here. The room was clean and well laid out. Was the room spotless, no but we took a little time and did some sanitizing ourselves. My wife will do that no matter what. The swimming pools and water slides were excellent. It was my kids favorite part of the trip. The nice thing is most of there pools are inside so you don't have to worry about your kids getting burnt up. They are inside but the sides are open so you still get the ocean breeze coming through. They have a total of 4 water slides 2 of them are pretty big and fast. Not much of a line to go down them. They had activities on the ocean side of the hotel every night. One night they showed Monsters University on a outdoor movie screen. They also have a nice playground there too. Every night around ten we would take the kids for a walk on the beach. There were all kinds of people, mostly families, out walking the beach at that time so we felt very safe taking our kids out. The only thing I didn't like is the lifeguard on the beach also rents umbrellas and chairs. First thing in the morning he sets up all his umbrellas and chairs in a straight line on each side of him taking all the good spots because you are not allowed to set up a umbrella in front of those umbrellas. It might impair his vision of people swimming which I understand. So you have to set up behind those umbrellas. Not cheap to rent one, $35 a day. Every staff person we talked to was super nice and helpful. The area around the hotel was nice. We traveled into south Myrtle and it seemed kind of run down. I was very satisfied and if we come back to Myrtle beach we will definitely stay here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank icemann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed all we have to offer here at Dunes Village Resort. We have so many diversions to keep our guests entertained, as you have mentioned, and we are so happy that you participted in our planned activities! Our movie nights seem to be a big hit with out guests, as well as our "Glow-tastic" dance parties.

Thanks for choosing to spend your vacation with us! We hope to see you back here again for some more memory making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Visited on the recommendation of a friend who visits with their family regularly. I was only there for one night, but it was fun. Our room (and view) was great and I enjoyed the lazy river (even though we don't have kids). We did have a resident pigeon who lived on our balcony in one corner--no nest or anything, he just liked sleeping there. Since we were only there one day, we didn't have the heart to force him out. :) If you're big on TV watching you should know that the cable selection was a little limited, no Food Network, HGTV, etc. Otherwise the rooms as very, very nice. Being that my wife is very pregnant, I pre-booked the valet parking. My only complaint there was that they appeared to have only one person working at a time, so the initial check-in was long and awkward (we weren't acknowledged/greeted when we pulled up, and then they didn't appear to have our reservation on file when I explained I had prepaid). Once we got signed up and received the tags, service was speedy and great. Room check-in at the service desk was good and very smooth. I would have liked more time to settle in and check out the amenities! I think I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your Dunes Village Resort experience with us. We are glad to hear that your overall experience was a positive one! Congratulations on the upcoming baby! As you have seen, we are very faimly friendly here, and we look forward to seeing you and your family sliding on the slides and playing mini golf in the near future.

Thanks for the lovely review. We will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Everything thing was great! Except: we got locked out of our condo. It took them about 30 min to break lock and let us in. The housekeeping wakes u up early which was irritating. But the pool ,lazy river, hot tubs where amazing. The rooms had plenty of room for whole family. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We are glad to hear that your experience was a good one, and that the kids had a great time. We look forward to another visit with you sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My spouse and I are local business owners, and love the fact that we live here in Myrtle Beach, We have 5 children and are not ready to leave them for a couples "vacation", so we've decided to go on a "stay-cation" . We chose the Dunes Village because the ratings were very pleasing. After staying two separate times, we finally booked a 3 bed room condo and took the kids for a two day get away! IT WAS AWWWWWWWESSSSSSSSOME!!!! The kids had a smile from ear to ear the WHOLE ENTIRE TIME! Such a clean, family orientated establishment. We ate lunch at the restaurant where we met Dan, (manager) and thanked him for great service and the unforgettable experience. I am going to be booking our next stay cation here in a few minutes!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1051. It was a huge 3 bedroom , 3 bath condo with a beautiful ocean front view. Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennagiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

"Perfect" is our favorite word. "Perfect" means that we could not have tried any harder to pleae you, and that is so wonderful to hear. As a local, you know how important hospitality is, and for us to have impressed you with our "awesomness" makes us smile from ear to ear.

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely 5 star review. We are ready for you whenever you schedule the return trip! See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £55 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing