We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd time at Dunes Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our 2nd time at Dunes Village”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our stay was from June 22 through the 28th. Driving from Ohio came down on Saturday and stayed at a hotel in NC to rest up and let the kids swim and prepare for our Myrtle Beach vacation starting on Sunday. We arrived at Dunes around 1pm well before the check in time. I was expecting to just check in and pay for the stay, and maybe use the public restroom for us to change into our suits and go to the pool, to wait for our room to be ready... But no it was ready when we got there which really made me happy. So we got to unload the car together, and go right up to the room. We stayed in a Oceanfront Queen Suite which is the same room we stayed at last time but had the extended balcony. I really wanted this again but it was sold out, there are perks to booking early. But the suite has everything you need, just fill the fridge and the freezer with food is what we did so we could cook breakfast and lunch to save a little money. But Monday after going to the local Walmart coming back realizing that the Refrigerator, was not working. Had to call the front and have maintenance check it out, I stayed up in the room for almost 2 hours while the rest of the family was down at the beach, This did frustrate me since i kept calling front desk and they kept telling me someone was on their way up. I found out later i didn't have to wait in the room....I REALLY WISH THEY WOULD HAVE TOLD ME THAT WHEN I CALLED...Long story short. they swapped the old fridge for a new one. Problem solved just wasted some of my precious vacation time waiting..Great Pools...attractions for the kids. Day that it rained we were able to stay inside and swim still. The biggest issue i could say i have with Dunes Village is that the beds are not comfortable at all...for me at least. Everyone has their own opinions when it comes to mattresses. These were bad for me, had back pain almost every day. So it is a good possibility our next stay i will be looking into a different Family Resort. But I do love the location of Dunes Village and all the amenities. You just have to drive to really get to anything, no restaurants within walking distance or stores or attractions. Not an issue though i really like being on the north side in the residential part of Myrtle.. Get down to the pool early before 9am before it opens. People must go down there and put towels down before it opens. just an FYI. There is one restaurant in the tower we stayed in the Palmetto tower. Our last night there i ordered she-crab soup. worst i have ever tasted. They did take it off the bill. but the food there is mostly bar food a few entrees, though the crab cakes are pretty good and so are the hush puppies. All in all i would recommend Dunes Village.

Room Tip: 8th Floor i really liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,555
    1,258
    444
    201
    136
See reviews for
3,918
688
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay for the kids. It has water parks, beach access and kids activity room. Rooms are a bit dates but overall was satisfied with what we got. Would stay again but with and ocean view versus a partial ocean view. staff is nice but in/out can be nuts.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Our room had a great view, great service, clean rooms!!! We'll be back! We got a two bedroom angled deluxe and the view was amazing! We faced south side so no building obstructing our view! :) The water park was a huge attraction for us since we have kids that love swimming.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinu1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Tazewell, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The staff was very helpful, especially Sheila at the front desk! Room was very clean. They have wonderful activities for the children to do. Awesome water park for children and adults. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This has been our fifth year in a row staying at Dunes....and this is first "average" rating that I would give the resort. First, the staff was exceptional as usual. Very helpful and courteous. The pools/water parks were also very nice as well. The issues we had were with the guest rooms and the "price/value". The rooms appear to have had minimal updating and their cleanliness were below average. I know, I know, who cares about a room when you are at the beach. Well, we do. Especially for the price we paid. This leads me to the "price/value". For the amount we paid for the room, we expected more. I understand that prices increase year to year; but I also know that they would not stay in business if the consumer feels like the resort has become a "money-grab". While on this trip, we toured other facilities to compare and discovered better value. Therefore, we are seriously considering another resort for next summer.

Room Tip: Angle oceanfront rooms are a better value than the actual oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent Dunes Village Resort experience. We appreciate your loyalty thus far, and we are sorry that you did not feel the value this time around. Over the last winter, we did a lot of projects to spruce up the place, from new carpeting to new sofas to new bedding to common area refreshing. Did you get an opportunity to play on our newly renovated mini-golf course?

After 5 years, I would really hate to lose you. The last thing we ever want is for our guests to not feel the value of all that we have to offer. Would you please contact me so we can discuss this. I can be reached at the resort most days.

Sincerely,

Cari Garvey
Guest Service Manager
843.449.5275
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family and I stayed at Dunes Village in Room 1208 for a week from June 29th - July 3rd 2014 for our Daughters birthday. For what we paid I expected a much cleaner and well-kept Property.

The Pros

1. The view from the room was terrific.
2. The waterpark was terrific.
3. The DJ’s were great.

The Cons

1. Upon arrival the telephone in the bedroom was unhooked from the wall. Even after plugging it into the wall it failed to work. I was unable to call out after dialing 9 on the kitchen phone. When I called the front desk they offered to connect me after telling me they didn't know why it was happening..... It took all the way to the last evening to get the telephones fixed.

2. The wireless internet did not function for the first 24 hours

3. The Mirror in the bathroom was falling off of the wall.

4. The bathtub had a gob of hair from the previous tenants.

5. The door to the washer/dryer was missing and the fixture/hardware was still there. Instead of fixing the door they removed it.

6. One of the burners on the Stove-top was not functioning.

7. The Girl that cleaned our room failed to wipe down any surfaces or vacuum. My wife spoke with the girl and was told that she was not trained for the job. She was a foreign exchange student from Kazakhstan. I had to call the front desk. The manager of the cleaning crew had the girl clean everything properly. The very next day She did exactly the same thing. No Vacuuming completed or surfaces wiped. Very disappointing

8. The put-put golf course on the property had rotten wood, overgrown grass, and was not maintained.

9. The price of Alcoholic drinks at the bar was outrageous.

10. The free gift offered at the beginning of the stay turns into a Time Share deal to get local attraction tickets at a cheaper price. What a croc!

Room Tip: Dont Book Here. Not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wizard130775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Dunes Village Resort. We are glad to hear that the waterpark was to your satisfaction. We are sorry to hear that you had some issues in your room. It appears that we have a communication breakdown in getting items addressed in a timely manner, and I apologize that this was the experience you had.

We hope you consider giving us another opportuinity to show you the Dunes Village Resort so many people have come to love. Thanks again for sharing your story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A wonderful place to stay with your family. We travel to Myrtle Beach every year and I must say this staff at the Dunes Village Resort made our trip with all the smiles we received. They truly love their jobs. We will see you all again next year.

Room Tip: My granddaughters and I had an ocean view 2 bedroom with two queen beds in each room plus a sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GmaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari G, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
It is true that the team we have here at Dunes Village Resort LOVE their job! We work hard to ensure that our guests have a fabulous time, and it is great when it is recognized! Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. The busiest week of the summer is the week of the 4th of July, and we are pleased that we were able to provide the perfect vacation for you and your family. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
0.8 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing