We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I won't give up!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
McLeansville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I won't give up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I wanted to share with you regarding my previous stay on 8/12-8/15! The Dunes has been a place for my family and I to visit for the past 6yrs and during that time some things have changed but no worse than some other resorts that I've vacationed in! On this past visit my husband, son and I spent three days that definitely started out on the ZERO end of the scale! Let me explain...you see during the past couple of times that we've stayed the condo hadn't been cleaned properly and this time unfortunately was no exception! After driving 4.5 hours all that we wanted to do was to shower...relax...eat...and begin to enjoy our vacation. But instead the room was less than something that I would allow my pets to sleep in as far as cleanliness and the people under our condo on the lower floor played loud music until almost midnight and until 1am the following night...UGH! There are always kids splashing around in the spa pool and I feel and also other adults that we met felt that they should not be in there but everytime I go it's always the same! Now for the POSITIVE....I want to give KUDOS to Ray, Cat, Cari, Adam, Rashawnda, Angel, Holly, Courtney, Laron, Tina, Derek and Lisa! These fine people from the Management team, Customer Care/Check-in, Restaurant, and Housekeeping, went ABOVE and BEYOND to correct what was wrong and did everything in their power to makeup for the travesty that we had encountered upon our arrival. I was literally in tears and could not believe that this was happening yet again!

My husband was also MORE than upset at the condition of the condo which took almost 3.5 hours to re-clean...but Management-(Holly, Adam, Cari, and Derek) came to my aid and patiently listened to my concerns. I was never rushed by either of them when stating my frustrations and complaints. They each showed and were geniuenly concerned regarding the state of affairs at hand. Housekeeping-(Cat, Rashawnda, and Angel) constantly checked on us during the rest of our stay to ensure that we were made comfortable, and (Courtney and Laron) showed concern and compassion for the unfortunate state of the room and gave us stellar treatment in the restaurant. (Lisa and Tina) were fantastic at check-in and check-out and wanted to know if there was anything that they could do for us once they found out what had happened. Now the main man of the hour...Ray...OMG!!!! If management EVER loses him it will be a devastating loss for the resort itself!

Would I stay there again...YES I believe that I would! Not because I'm still NOT pissed off regarding how my vacation started out yet AGAIN....but because these fine people truly care about their guest and they go out of their way to show it! I won't show you pictures because everything was corrected...but all that I have to say is if you have a problem please give them a fair chance and they will definitely go out of their way to make you feel special and to ensure that the rest of your stay is relaxing and exactly what it should be...a well deserved vacation! Thanks again everyone...I WON'T GIVE UP ON YOU...you're a GREAT group of people...see you in December!

I gave three stars for the condition of the room upon arrival...but it's a GREAT RESORT and lots of activities for the kids from infants to teens!

Room Tip: The angle oceanfront is great and you can indeed see the ocean and also look down the beach at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCutlerFosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,481
    1,234
    430
    194
    131
See reviews for
3,825
671
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort annually since 2009 to celebrate our child's birthday. On July 18th I spoke with Shelia at the front desk to make an inquiry about breakfast. She replied with such kindness, professionalism, and care I was appalled. This lady is a testimony of true care and commitment to her job. This was followed with interacting with chef Jamal in the dining area, who make the best omelets every year. Lone wasb He is very kind and professional as well. Dunes Village should promote these individuals who are exemplary leaders! Sincerely Irene

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank frazerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

First, I would like to thank Jamal and His brother, Stephanie and Lackesia at the Breakfast Resturante on the property for an outstanding experience. The omelette Bar and waffels were delicious! The coffee Strong and Hot! The service was kind, efficient and went out of their way to make the dinning experience fun with our kids! Even though the resturante was busy the staff were courteous and professional... the same holds true for lunch and dinner at the other resturante too!!! Our Hotel experience was wonderful from the front desk to the excellent room staff...our room was well prepared and clean-refreshed everyday...many thanks!!! The Grounds were well kept with friendly staff! Our family had a Wonderful vacation!!! With Warm Regards,
Paul M, Charlotte, NC

Room Tip: All were outstanding this is our 10th trip over 8years...the best rooms are the 2-3 bedroom condos i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Dunes Village Resort was an awesome experience from the time we arrived, until we left. We arrived a little early, and the friendly staff checked us in and gave us access to all of the pools and eating areas. The food in the Café was great, also at a very reasonable price. The breakfast buffet was DYNOMITE!!! The rooms were very clean. Everything was clean like the pools, the public restrooms, and they had everything that was needed for a beach vacation at one spot!! The access to the beach was perfect, and so was the parking!! I have one complaint, and that was the hard mattress in the room. I won't let that stop me from going again next year. I LOVED THIS PLACE!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront. Yes, there is activities and pools underneath, but the doors and walls are sound-proof a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Plenty of things for the kids to do!The staff was great,waterpark staff was good with the kids.Wish they had a exercising room in both hotels.Our room needed a really good paint job & some better cleaning.There was sand in the drawers,trash on the balcony,stuff on the carpets,ants & dead flies.Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We checked in last minute the week of August 8th. The reservation desk was very accommodating and pleasant when booking and checking in. The room was not ready yet but we were told we would be allowed use all the amenities offered at the hotel and we would be called as soon as our room was ready. It was ready before the scheduled 4pm check in. Upon first glance the room seemed very nice and clean. Upon further examination we found numerous belongings and garbage from previous occupants. A dirty bandaid, a old cheese doodle and a few hair ties and bobby pins.

Loved having a washer and dryer in room but whenever it was running there was an overwhelming smell of fish.

When coming back to the room the next afternoon after a long day at the beach housekeeping had cleaned and we noticed that the deadbolt had been left in the closed position so the door was not able to latch closed. Was not happy to know that my door was left open for an indeterminate amount of time. All our belongings seemed to be accounted for but we still all felt slightly violated. I would have called and complained but I did not want to get anyone in trouble. The cleaning that the housekeeper had done was subpar. The bathroom still had residue from toothpaste and soap scum. Same goes for the bathtub.

The master bedroom was so dark with only one small window and small lights. The rest of the suite was freezing cold while the bedroom was roasting hot. The decor was ok. Nothing exciting.

The hotel was close to the beach and the view from our balcony was AMAZING! The buffet breakfast was just blah. The lunch at the pool was pretty good and great for a quick meal in between beach time. The indoor water park seemed cute but our teenagers didn't make any use of it.

The location of the hotel would absolutely make me go back but I would have to be a little more on top of housekeeping.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenniyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have stayed at Dunes Village Resort 3 times prior to this visit. Obviously, we came back because we always had such a nice time. After this last visit, we will not be returning. The biggest disappointment was the pool temperature. All the pools inside were cold -- the outside lazy river and pool were okay probably from the heat of the sun. When we questioned the water temperature, two different people said they would check into it and the water was cold our entire stay. Also, the room did not seem it was prepared for a new guest. There was just a small amount of toilet paper with no extra in the cabinet, the safe could not be activated because someone else's code was in there, and the worst was the room smelled like it was sprayed with some awful febreeze. Even the guy who came to fix the safe said it was overpowering. We had to open the doors to air the place out. Even the elevators had the odor. We had to request that they don't spray whatever it is because we were told they spray every time they make the room up. I never had this experience here before. And to top it off, the room had ants. Everything just seems like its going downhill--even the pool towels seemed chintzy. Very disappointing!

Room Tip: I would check out another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#37 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing