We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
McLeansville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What an awesome vacation!”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We arrived on 6/15 and we were checked in within minutes. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable of the hotel and the amenities, plus area happenings for our family to enjoy. We stayed on the 12th floor, in room 1220 which is an angle-view room which was beyond any of our expectations. We had tons of stuff that we had brought for the trip, and all that we basically needed was toothbrush/paste, comb/brush, beach shoes, shorts, tops, and a bathing suit, sunscreen, and sun glasses! My 12 year old son, and 6 year old grandson fell in love with the place for the awesome water park! My adult daughter's, mom, and husband just fell in love with the comfort and the beauty of the surroundings. The room was well maintained, we had 3bdrms/2bths and a full kitchen, washer/dryer, utensils, pots/pans, dishes, dish liquid, dishwasher powder, soap, everything was already there! The only thing that you might have needed to bring was paper towels, oh yeah and food...but it was a fantastic place!

Pros-Great staff, very courteous, very friendly, great ocean view, clean beach, clean pools, clean water park, great food...the buffet breakfast is to die for, great steaks at the restaurant, excellent not overpriced gift shop, the valet service is great, the hotel itself is clean, clean, clean, activities at different hours for the kids, some with a small fee, but not overpriced, the beds were extremely comfortable, the bathrooms within the rooms were a great size, 4 TV's so no arguing about who was watching what, but with so many activities no one had time for television!

Cons-the parking garage is across the street, but if you unload in front of the hotel and take your stuff up to the room, it's only one trip to the garage and it does have an elevator, and main road traffic will stop and let you cross. We only left the hotel once so it didn't matter. There needs to be more supervision and policies enforced in the pool and water play areas, kids diving in front of you in a 3 ft pool when it's clearly stated no diving. Teenagers rough-housing in the pools, and very immature adults jumping in the pool and splashing my daughter and my two year old grandson. A few adults had their beer coolers sitting around the pool play area. I did tell the water park staff and was informed to complain at the front desk. Rude people over us who kept banging, and jumping on the ceiling all night, and our housekeeper didn't do a good job at cleaning the bathrooms, replenishing our towels, or making all the beds because there was a dirty towel left on one of the beds, we were told that she wasn't supposed to remove anything from the beds! We had to speak with the front desk several times because of this and to the head housekeeper who came in and made everything right. We had several bulbs that needed to be replaced in lamps and it was taken care of on day two, but we never did receive the other bar stool in our room, but with so much space we really didn't miss it. I did have a major concern regarding the glass top table with a two year old, but my husband just removed it and put it behind the sofa until we left. But anything that we needed or had concerns about were rectified faster than I could put down the receiver on the phone. (and one of the phones had no cord, but I only used the phone to call the front desk anyway!)

That's the only reason that I could not give the hotel 5 stars, but we will definitely go back every year! Overall, an awesome, clean, kid-friendly, family environment! I actually shed a tear when we left, we were soooo impressed that we stayed an extra night!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCutlerFosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,602
    1,273
    451
    204
    138
See reviews for
3,977
691
42
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We finally found a great family resort in Myrtle Beach. Perfect location, perfect price, perfect staff...We'll continue to go here on our yearly Myrtle Beach vacations.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristobalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This was my family's 1st trip out of our home state. You should have seen the reaction on my kids face. They were entertained every day. there was not one dull moment.MY husband, who is very critical of everything, was pleasantly surprised. The food was great, spacious rooms, very nice amenities and great location. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabuloosfunfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Ewwww! My family and I stayed at the Dunes this weekend and needless to say, I was extremely disappointed with the accomodations. The bathroom was the size of a broom closet, the bath towels were ratty, dingy and needed to be used to dust with rather than used for bath time. A tip for the hotel manager...making swans out of the dingy towels does NOT give the place a touch of class. The drain in the shower was horrible and water backed up onto your feet. I kept my flip flops on while taking a shower. The tables in the room were scratched and the upholstery was a bit suspect. The pictures on the web site are very misleading. The Dunes could potentially be a good place to stay, but they need to upgrade the place terribly. I did dot get what I paid for that's for sure! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kren6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVManagement, Executive Assisant at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
This post is very upsetting and puzzling?! We are very sorry your visit with us was not a positive one. We take great pride in dealing with our customers in a friendly, polite, and efficient manner. When such is not the case, we want to do our best to correct the problem. We have two towers at our resort and not knowing where you stayed we can only say that one of our towers at Dunes is 3 years old and the other only 2 years old. Everything was new when we opened. We do not get many comments like these and again we are scratching our heads. We have a dedicated office, housekeeping, and maintenance staff to maintain our property. If you would have let us know you had a problem with your tub we would have taken care of it immediately because we have a large staff to take care of any problems we are made aware of. Dunes Village staff and management alike takes great pride in seeing that each and every person have a wonderful experience when visiting our resort, and with our ongoing Preventive Maintenance programs we try to keep our rooms in as “like new condition” as possible. After reading your comments we must have fallen short on these programs as it relates to you and for that we are very sorry. Please give us another try, and we are sure you will leave and write only GREAT THINGS about our Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

If you are looking to get the most bang for your buck then you should definitely consider staying at the Dunes! We traveled with our 18 month old son and we all had a wonderfully relaxing and fun time. Our room was a one bedroom king suite with an angle view of the ocean. We could still see the waves rolling in and it was always nice to sit out on the balcony to have breakfast. While it wasn't a full ocean view having a separate bedroom to lay the kiddo down for naps in the afternoon was great. I really liked the layout of the condo and having a kitchen to cook meals in was a real money saver. We only left twice, once to buy a few things to cook for dinner and we also went out to eat once at The Sea Captains House (yum!). Our main purpose for going to Myrtle Beach was to just sit on the beach and relax. We got so much more than that by staying at The Dunes. Our baby loved the beach and he also loved playing in the pool. My only complaint is that there is no crosswalk between the hotel and the parking garage across the street. I saw a lot of people just walk right out in front of cars, luckily all the drivers were paying attention. Other than that we loved our stay and if we ever make it back to SC we'll definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJF1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2010

The hotel was very clean and the room was spacious. The staff was professional and courteous. My children loved the water slides and pools. This hotel is a great for families or people who want to go to the beach and not deal with the "party crowd" . If you want a better idea of the rooms you should go to YouTube, where you can see tours of the room from vacationers. I will stay here for my trip to Mrytle Beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Young02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2010

This is our second stay at the Dunes Village in Myrtly Beach and can't say enough about how great our stay was The ocean front condo was in great shape, the facility was very clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. Ron Brown was especially helpful is scheduling golfing and shows. I would highly recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmddesantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,689 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#40 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing