We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and new!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very clean and new!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

We stayed at the Dunes Village Resort for two nights over Labor Day weekend with two teenagers. We had a two bedroom angled oceanview room on the fourth floor because we could not get an oceanfront room as we booked late. Positives: Very clean and well-maintained rooms with full kitchen and three good size TV's and DVD players. Kitchen had plenty of cookware and dishes. Bring your own dish soap. Two good sized bedrooms, one with king bed and one with two queen/double (?) beds and there was a pull-out sofa in living room. Two large bathrooms, one with Jacuzzi tub. The washer/dryer combo in the unit was great! (Don't forget to bring laundry detergent and dryer sheets.) Everything was in great shape and CLEAN! The front desk personnel were really nice and helpful. The hotel has daily maid service which is a plus. We ate breakfast and lunch in hotel restaurant--very good food and convenient as we were there only two nights so we didn't want to shop for any groceries and do any cooking. Also had good "tropical" drinks (great mudslides!) which they let you charge to your room so you don't have to carry cash. (They add a $50 charge to your room upon check-in for "incidentals".) You can sit outside of the restaurant which overlooks the pool and beach which is nice. Very friendly staff in restaurant. The pools and water park area were very clean and so was the beach. Our kids enjoyed the water slides. The kiddie area looked fun for younger kids although the elephants were not shooting out water as shown in the hotel photos. You can rent beach chairs and an umbrella from the lifeguard. We found the hotel to be in a good location as everything was only a few minutes drive away. Some people may want to be within walking distance of the arcades, t-shirt stores, mini-golf, etc., but we didn't care about driving a few minutes as this hotel has a nice, family-oriented crowd. They have an employee keeping an eye on things in the water park area which is great. Negatives: The beds were too hard. Our unit overlooked the new construction of a Dunes Tower going on next door. We had a nice view of the ocean but looking at the building next door spoiled it. There was no construction noise inside the unit but there was if you went out on the balcony until the workers left at 5 PM. The construction crew was there on Saturday, Sunday and Monday (Labor Day holiday!) Also, the A/C units for the building were right outside our unit door (Room 418). We didn't hear any noise inside but it was tacky to see and hear every time we went in or out of our unit. (Note to Management--put up some lattice or something around that area! And replace those worn out ping pong paddles in water park!) Also, there were never any pool towels when we were there--always a sign saying they had run out--so bring your own towels. And they could use a few more lazy river tubes as we had to "stalk" people who were getting out of the lazy river in order to get a tube. I would stay at the Dunes Village again and I would recommend it to family and friends despite these "minor" annoyances because everything was new and clean and I am very picky about things being clean! I have stayed in too many hotels where things were run-down and used to death. Dunes Village is new and nice!

  • Liked — Everything was new and clean
  • Disliked — Construction next door
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickymama101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,479
    1,234
    430
    194
    131
See reviews for
3,824
670
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

This is the best place to stay in Myrtle Beach, by far!! This review is coming from someone who has been traveling to MB for 20 years and stays there 2 and 3 times a year! The staff was superfriendly...rooms were superclean....the pool area is very nice and the indoor water park is lots of fun. We wore those slides out!! This is a good place for couples or families. We slept late almost everyday and were never awakened by noise or the staff. We will stay here over and over again!!!

  • Liked — The staff was wonderful....the pool area and the indoor water park were awesome! The onsite restaurant is really really good, too!
  • Disliked — Leaving....
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherriwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

Just returned from a 4 night stay at dunes village resort in south carolina. Booked a 2 bedroom condo ( I thought I was getting a corner unit oceanfront ...I even called the hotel directly to make sure of the room before booking) what we actually got was a 2 bedroom (angel) oceanfront condo with a great view of the construction of the new Dunes Towers , a wonderful view of the backstreet and a partial view of the ocean & beach... if you could stand to come out onto the balcony and look between the two buildings with all the noise of the construction that went on from early morning til late afternoon. I complained the first night, was told there were no other rooms ( not to sure I believe that one --seemed as though there were alot of rooms open all week). It was a very nice room lots of space and was cleaned everyday.
We were given no information about this hotel upon arrival and there was no information in the room---we had to figure out things on our own. Had a CD player broken in our room, the maintence man couldn't fix the cd player , but informed us of the hotel aminities after asking, he also told us that we should have gotten information at check-in by the staff (but we didn't )
They have a small indoor water park....its OK ---crowded with kids ( thought the kids would be back into school this week---wrong)
Outdoor pool is just a regular box shaped pool ---nothing fancy. Lots of chairs for sun bathers and an additional hottub outside.
The beach is a pretty good walk from any room at this hotel--it can become quite a chore especially if you take along beach chairs,towels,toys , cooler,etc.
I don't think the staff goes out of their way for anything...upon checking out they asked how our stay was and after complaing again about the construction ---they replied....well the contruction is almost over now. Well, So was my Vacation....TY soo Much!
If you stay here and want a oceanfront room --make sure that is what you are getting---NOT Angel front room.

  • Liked — lazyriver
  • Disliked — construction
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poohn100acwds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

My family stayed at Dunes Village Resort August 27-31 and we all loved it! It's a great place for families with children. My 6 year old son & 21 month old daughter loved the waterpark. The water was comfortably warm in the waterpark & outside pool. Pools were very clean. We stayed in a 1 bedrm oceanfront on the 10th floor and it was perfect. The washer and dryer came in handy. I brought my own dishwasher soap but they do give you a little bag of it daily when the room is cleaned. Things to bring from home would be: laundry detergent, salt & pepper, pot holders. You get one dish cloth and one dish towel each day from room service. There were plenty of dishes and cook ware. The only thing we found wrong was the bathroom door lock was broken which really wasn't a huge deal. Overall our stay here was excellent and the price is very reasonable. We will stay here for future vacations for sure!

  • Liked — waterpark
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank djmyamommy2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

Stayed Labor Day weekend. Staff is not that friendly. Hotel is away from most things not in walking distance. Only one restaurant in hotel very expensive for just a quick bite. Games were very rundown- Ping pong, pool table, etc.. very run down. Lazy river is inside and only the pool is outside so do not expect to get any sun in the lazy river. Smelled very musty and beds were hard. For a cheap hotel I suppose it is fine for one or two nights but not for a full vacation at Myrtle Beach.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Darby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

We stayed for a little weekend getaway in August. The resort is located in a great location. We really enjoyed the Seatle's Best Coffe shop located in the lobby. The onsite restuarant was a pleasant surprise, food was better then expected. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful with our needs. Looking forward to going back next year when the second phase is completed.

  • Liked — Amenities, coffee bar, free internet, pools and beach
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tomandrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

Myself, Husband, and 6 yr old daughter stayed Aug. 17-25, and my parents had a seperate room. Both rooms were exceptionally clean, well furnished and large. No complaints with either. The pools inside and out were the perfect temp. and clean. My daughter loved the water slides. The beachfront was nice several people, but not to crowded. The Parking building across the street was never a problem I have a Tahoe, and the parking places were plenty big enough. We loved the little coffee shop. We did'nt eat in the restaurant, but it smelled really good. There was daily maid service. Towels were never a problem. We are planning on going back next year. I would highly recommend this resort to anybody and I don't say that lightly I'm a clean fanatic, and The Dunes well exceeded my expectations. We can't wait to return next August.

  • Liked — Clean, Close to everything, amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#37 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing