We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Amenities, Less traffic, Huge rooms!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Great Amenities, Less traffic, Huge rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

I love staying at this hotel! The suites are sooo worth every penny. Make sure you don't stay in a king angle suite, though. We made this mistake and the all face a hotel that is RIGHT next to the Dunes, so you get no real ocean view. You get a people on the balcony 20 feet away from you view. That is sometimes funny though :). The hotel seemed to get the complaint alot. We stayed there one night, and the next morning my hubby went to the front desk to see what could be done. They moved us to a new room with a beautiful unobstructed ocean view in a much nicer room. Wish I knew the floorplan title for that one! as usual try and get a room near the top floor,if you can. Much better views.
My husband and I travel with our son (2yrs) so we always like finding nice places that have two actual rooms in the suite. This does. We usually give our son the actual room and sleep in the Murphy beds with the balcony door open so we can hear the ocean. That way we can wash any clothes (i love unpacking from a trip with all clean clothes!) cook our dinner, watch tv and have that all important mommy/daddy time after he goes down early.
The best part of this place is you could stay a week and never leave the resort. They have kitchens that are well supplied with dishes and pans and a few places to eat. We tried a few things, and it was all pretty good. Nothing to mention specifically, but nothing to complain about either. The water parks were really fun. I can see some older kids (tweens and teens maybe?) getting over it fast, though. We went the very last week before the summer rates kicked in so it was still slightly chilly, but they have some heated pools i think because the water was warm.
I love the staff at this hotel, we have been a few times, and it is always top notch in customer service.
We happened upon this hotel, because my hubby installs the computer systems for the restaurants so he saw the kitchens were clean, too. Not all hotels in MB can live up to that. Seen with our own eyes.

One great reason to leave the hotel is the restaurant The Sea Captain's House. Great food and service and serveral, if not all nights, they have someone playing live music. A little pricey, but I normally don't eat seafood at all and I really like theirs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjjarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevejarvis, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2010
Very Good! I'm very glad to hear we were able to help you get into a room with a view that you wanted! We really pride ourselves on our customer service and guest satisfaction! Sounds like your family really enjoys your visits with us at Dunes Village Resort and we appreciate your compliments after multiple experiences! Thanks again and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,467
    1,232
    430
    194
    131
See reviews for
3,814
668
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

we had a wonderful time, the resort is beautiful; toby was very informative & helpful!! mallori was very helpful & the whole staff were friendly

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnmks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevejarvis, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2010
I am glad to hear about your experience with us, and i will pass on the compliments to the staff! Thank you for taking the time to share, and hopefully we will see you again soon at Dunes Village Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

The staff is always willing to help and very courteous.
They give a 110%, making sure you are satisfied.
This is the main reason why we are always coming back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKohute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevejarvis, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Thank you! We value your continued patronage and very nice comments...Dunes Village Resort Staff takes great pride in guest satisfaction, and that Is what we are here for! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

My husband and I stayed during the second week in October in 2010 with our 4 children. It met any and all expectations we had and some we didn't. It was a little away from the board walk and the "strip" - you had to drive a few miles but was peaceful, the water park was WONDERFUL for our kids, the rooms were great, the service was superb, the parking was sufficient, what else can I say? We went to eat at quite a few very pricey restaurants while in town and the service at the restaurants were bad. If I spend 100.00 plus on a meal my drink should NOT stay empty right? Well, the ONLY RESTAURANT we had good service in in the whole city was the restaurant at the DUNES where we had breakfast each morning. Friendly, efficient, went above and beyond in every way. The food was also excellent. We never ate at the restaurant for dinner because we were susally out but if it is anything like the breakfast buffet - I could only say good things. When traveling with 4 small children things like that MATTER because it is a MAJOR stress reducer. When we go back to Myrtle Beach - and now we will- I know where we will be staying. I only hope the service at the other restaurants in town step in up a notch and maybe take a few lessons from the best hotel and breakfast buffet in town in service!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stearsmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevejarvis, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2010
I am very happy that you are looking forward to returning to Dunes Village Resort with your family! We have so many people here that work very hard and take great pride in providing you the experience you expect, when you choose us for your family vacation. I do apologize for your experiences at other restaurants, but it only takes one time meeting me to see that i can personally point you in the direction of some great food, and service! (so just ask for Steve) I will make sure to pass on the appreciation to our staff and breakfast crew. Thank you, these comments are greatly appreciated by all of us at Dunes Village Resort! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

I absolutely loved staying at the Dunes. Its a bit further down the beach then most resorts so you get a little more privacy on the beach and you aren't overwhelmed by all the "tourist" areas. A short drive to quick shopping and other tourist attractions. Great views of the beach and amazing access to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiedid1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevejarvis, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2010
Thanks for sharing the fact that our location gives us very good access to the beach and unique views of the beach. I particularly like the view down the beach to the south with all of those amazing ocean front homes! Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Stayed at the Dunes Village Resort 7 nights. Picked this hotel because it had heated pools just in case the weather was cooler since we were going to be visiting in November. Glad we picked this resort for that reason, it was 60 degrees outside...but 2 outdoor pools were open and heated...nice to have. The hot tubs and indoor pools were heated, clean, not too crowded and open late. There were water slides, kiddie pools and lazy rivers. I saw early in the morning a crew power washing the pool area. The area also has billards, shuffle board, foosball and kids activities all day. Great Variety of rooms, we had a oceanfront queen suite. NO BED BUGS....believe me... they love me, but there weren't any here. Our room had two Queen Beds, whirlpool hot tub in the large bath. Washer and dryer that we didn't think we would need, but used everyday. A full kitchen, fully supplied with needed cooking items. Dining Area, breakfast bar. Large living room with a TV, couch was a pull out bed, room also had a Murphy bed. Balcony and ocean front view were perfect. Parking garage was free and secure and convienient, large spaces and well lit. We tipped the cleaning person daily, I believe they appreciated it and more towels showed up everyday. Golf pro was great, booked us golf courses that we had never been to and all were great price and great golf. Only thing that didn't work well was going to breakfast in their restaurant, we did not get seated, just told to sit where we wanted. Then did not get coffee or any other kind of service, served ourselves to the buffet. A waitress came by but ddn't want our order just took things off the table that I had just put there. Food was good....service not so good. Overall, very pleasant experience. Loved the room, loved the pools...even the Walk in Drive in Movie outdoors....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevejarvis, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
WOW! Thanks for all of the great comments! I am more than excited to see that you enjoyed our "Dive In Theater!" The big screen and sound system is a new amenity we have been able to put together and has been a HUGE hit with our guests of ALL ages! We do take great pride in our property having everything that you need to enjoy every aspect of your vacation from fun games and amenities to cookware and basic conveniences. Our housekeepers do appreciate the recognition for a job well done, just as we appreciate these compliments through your reviews! Our Golf and Entertainment Department is a great strength that we have here, and i am glad we pointed you in the right direction to enjoy some fun rounds! Again thanks for all of the great comments, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge,TN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

From the time you check in to the time you check out you feel like family. If you have a problem all you have to do is call 0 on the room phone and everything was taken care of in a timely manner. We had issues with the TVs they were fixed once they got a splitter which was just the next day no big deal because they have dvd players on all tvs thanks to maintenance man Nick. We stayed in a Oceanfront Deluxe Double Studio which was big enough for me, my fiancé, daughter and mother. We had amazing housekeeping service. The housekeepers were Anita and James. They gave me extra towels when needed and cleaned my room very good on the 3rd day James changed our beds and did a wonderful job. Thank you James. Then, Anita vacuumed and cleaned our sinks and my tub very well. Thank you Anita. I also love your waterpark staff they are very sweet. My daughter loves everyone of them she says they are her friends. I would like to thank Erin "Mgr of waterpark staff" for being the nicest person. She would ask how my day was and sit and listen. She is a generally nice person. I would also like to thank Val your Resort Mgr. She is so very kind. She helped in my reservation process and me and my daughter went to meet her one day on the trip. Val is at the best postion at your resort because we need more managment like her in this world. Thank you Val you are just too kind. I would like to Thank Dunes Village for making our 5 day trip the best. Everyone was so kind and the water in the parks was wonderful all the activites for children are great. Only problem we had was in the Captains Cafe. We had the rudest waitress. My mother asked for a cup of coffee and the waitress replied "Well do you want me to make you some," like she was wanting her to change her mind. Then what done it was she took my salad when I was still eating it. Then cut into my chicken and it was raw about halfway through me eating it. They took my meal off the ticket and we paid and left. I didn't get her name or I would of defiently complained on her. She acted like she just didn't want to be there. Other than that the trip was wonderful and I truely enjoyed myself. Thanks again Dunes Village for a wonderful stay. We will see you next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenngurl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing