We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTNG !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Happy Holiday Motel
Ranked #185 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 12 September 2011

booked through Expedia, filthy grounds, filthy room, no room service, no ice machine, no wash cloths, hand towels, fridge that should haved been condemned, filthy toilet...the Myrtle Beach Health Department needs to make a vist to this place. While we were in the office a couple walked in & they were given a price cheaper than we got from Expedia...worst place i've ever eperienced in my life

Room Tip: maybe if we had read these comments first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

After a few days at another hotel, we wanted to stay an additional night but could'nt find anywhere with reasonable vacancy. After checking in ($67.22 for one night) which was'nt bad, we quickly realized you get what you pay for, riff-raff. What better smell combination than old beer, smoke, and pure body odor. The bathroom.....fan was filty and dangled out of the ceiling, tub stained, corners full of hair, cloth fibers, cereal, and old caulking thta had long since quit it's job. The kitchenette....we never touched it or even looked at it (appeared to be a meth-makers paradise). Fridge was clean, however the previous guest had left drinks in the freezer to overflow and, well you know. Nice silver duct tape held the transition from carpet to ceramic tile down. The lamps did'nt work, nor did the bedside lamps. Oh, and we had to share a charger for our phone as the recepticles did'nt work....hence the lamps not working. We wore our Crocs in the room for obvious sanitary reasons, but when getting ready for bed my foot grazed the carpeting which was sticky to the touch....yeah, I know. Beds were not totally uncomfortable but smelled of an old "thrift store" here at home. Curtains worked, AC was great. Parking was good too, right at the front office where someone spat on the car and vividly wrote "Suck My **expletive** HO" on the rear window. Nice. Beyond the Harley getting a 2am tune up at our door (room 103), and the adults running upstairs, hispanics harrassing young waiteresses while leaving work, and the horrific smell of curry.....all in all....it could have been much worse. Something to laugh at now, and to know better next time. And by the way.....when you read reviews....go with your gut. It's usually right.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Truth4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

You cant expect much from a cheapo motel but this is by far the worst. The management is horrible and they are very rude. The power goes out all the time, the room smelt terrible, there was blood on one the lamps, and the key cards never seemed to work. They even gave out a key to someone that was not with us and someone came into the room and stole the girls money and their cell phones while we were on the beach. Not to mention a gang fight that happened 2 nights in a row, and the last night we were there gun shots were fired. This is a very unsafe and dangerous place to stay. Also they will only give out one parking pass per room. Also you cant be on the balcony past 12. They will not give out extra toilet paper or towels either.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dustin_s12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This place was the worst!!! There was dryed up puke on the wall next to the toilet. The shower was not clean. The room was in terrible shape. The beds were hard and the pillows were flat. There were 4 of us (women) and they said they did not have extra blankets or pillows and would not give us extra towels. (They only provided us with 4 towels). We also had to ask for clean towels every day and they never once serviced our room. I willnever stay at this hotel again! Worst place Ive ever seen!!! Oh and the pool had hair floating in it and was never once cleaned the entire tiem we were there and there was no WiFi.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caligurl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed May 30th - June 2nd in a corner large efficiency. Updates since our last stay included new fridge and microwave, updated shower and bath and painting to the exterior. We were on the 3rd floor so it was easy to people watch and hang out on the walk-around balcony. The staff were awesome - especially Susan.
Room was clean and AC worked great - bring extra pillows as the ones they have there are thin and flat.
We noticed that several of the run down motels on the back avenue had been demolished and clear lots were all that were left. Kudos to the city for taking action - it look MUCH better !
Other great improvements to the city - Ocean Blvd now has bike lanes and only 2 lanes of traffic with a center lane for turning - makes it much easier to get around. The boardwalk is wonderful and has had a great impact on downtown with new restaurants and bars ( MUCH needed ) all along the backside of the main shopping area. The new skywheel is very impressive - the light show after dark is great.
Finally, I know the Happy Holiday isn't for everyone, but it is a clean, safe a inexpensive place to stay that is walking distance to everything downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scsokrboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Where do I start -Absolute worst hotel ever. Not Safe. Room Smelled BAD . Mold and Mildew all over. Lamps all broken. None of the draws had bottems in them all broken.
AC didnt work just blew dust and bugs. Bed, box spring still had plastic on it and filled with mold,mildew and food. Top mattress filled with bed bugs. Sheets dirty, Disqusting. Rug in room extremly dirty feet stuck to it as you walked.. Bathroom filthy, mold, mildew and bugs Dirty towels. The smell in the room was so bad it made you sick. Staff was rude at front desk. Had to fight to get money back. Made them call manager at home. DO NOT STAY HERE. Health Department should close them down..........

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This place sucked bad room was dirty stairs smelled like urine pool was green and dirty I don't recommend staying here if you booked your room stay here get your money back and find another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gageomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#97 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#142 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
709 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#145 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#119 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
574 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Holiday Motel

Address: 507 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3915
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £40 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Happy Holiday Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Happy Holiday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Holiday Hotel Myrtle Beach
Happy Holiday Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing