We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the cost!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #136 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Hershey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel for the cost!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Comfortable, clean room for a great price. We only stayed here one night but had we wished we could have stayed longer. We loved the balcony that overlooked the pool area and the river. There was even a prom going on while we there and we didn't hear any noise! We didn't stay for breakfast because we wanted to have breakfast at a restaurant on the beach but the breakfast at the hotel looked very nice. The staff is very nice and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Myrtle Beach for a one night's stay or a whole week!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    63
    42
    40
    28
See reviews for
80
62
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel and we stayed for 5 days so we spent enough time there to use most of their facilities. The location of the hotel is kind of interesting - across the street from a closed down mall / amusement park, but it was easy to get to and from all the attractions in the Myrtle Beach area and was quite peaceful and quiet. The lobby is very attractive and spacious and the beautiful indoor/outdoor pool area is just off the lobby.

Our only complaint about this property is the very cold water temperature of the pool. We even made a specific request to turn up the heat in the pool, but it never happened. Since we were going to be there for 5 days, we wanted to be able to actually use the pool during our stay. We tried going in it on 2 different days, and it was so cold we just couldn't force ourselves to go all the way in. We did settle for the hot tub both times, but even that was very cool by normal hot tub standards.

The complimentary breakfast was by far the nicest one we have ever encountered at any hotel, which included hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, pancakes along with the usual waffles, cereals and fresh fruit. The eating area is huge and has a lovely view of the waterway that runs behind the hotel. The service was also excellent so there was constant attention to keeping everything well stocked and cleaned up.

Our room was quite roomy and comfy and we had a first floor room with a sliding patio door opening up to the parking lot. That might not necessarily sound like a big plus, but when you are travelling with a dog (this is a pet friendly hotel), it is a very convenient feature.

Another nice amenity was the availability of two clothes washers and two dryers for the use of hotel guests. Since we were on an extended trip, it was very handy to be able to do two loads of laundry simultaneously while we ate breakfast.

This was our first visit to the Myrtle Beach area, and we liked it enough that we are planning on returning next year. When we do, we will definitely plan on staying at the Clarion again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_and_J_in_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas,Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The hotel is in a area that tourist attractions have been abandoned. The hotel is clean but outdated. They have redone the lobby so maybe the rooms are next. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the intercoastal waterway so could watch the boat traffic.
Only one of the elevators was working .
The staff is very helpful.
Breakfast was amazing & they have a restaurant & bar on site .
Short drive to the Tangers outlet mall , broadway at the beach & the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for water/pool view or you will be looking at the parking lot & a closed primeoulet mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mills75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jderossc439, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Myrtle Beach and look forward to welcoming you back real soon!

Scott Harvey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I suppose that the location used to be next to a nice tourist attraction but everything was abandoned. The hotel is older but well kept. Nice lobby and clean, nice size rooms. Bed was confy for me but a little hard. The room was a nice size with small blacony facing the river. The breakfast was amazing. Sausage, Bacon, great coffee, french toast. And no additional chaarge.Easy access to convention center and beach. My only complaint was housekeeping dropped off towels, soap etc at 10:00 in the morning and did NOT clean the room. I have no idea why! We were out of the room by 11:00 which should have given plenty of time for cleaning. It was very odd. We did discuss with the front desk but it was 11:00 pm before we arrived back to the room Because of this I won't be able to rate seervice as hight as I otherwise would have. .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caatmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This hotel used to be a Holiday Inn, until Clarion bought it a couple years ago. It's a bit hidden at the end of a road, across from a shopping center and, oddly, next to a pretty waterway (if your room happens to face that way... otherwise you'll be looking at the parking lot).

We stayed at the hotel two nights in late January and selected it because it's one of only a few Myrtle Beach hotels that offers free shuttle service to the local airport. We were able to leave our cars in the hotel parking lot for a week, saving us parking fees at the airport. The staff at the Clarion were quite nice when we were making reservations, modifying our reservation, and checking in & out... always friendly, cooperative and made it painless for us.

The shuttle service works pretty well. Just let the front desk know in advance when you'll need it, and they'll call and arrange for the van to pick you up and drive you the 10-mins to the airport. When you return from your trip, just call the front desk once your plane lands, and they'll send the shuttle van to pick you up.

The first night we stayed on the 6th Floor and when we returned from our trip a week later, we stayed on the 5th Floor. Both rooms were similar... about 33' x 15', faced the water (pretty) and had comfortable king size beds. All rooms have a flat screen TV, coffeemaker, tall mini-fridge, and microwave oven.

On the down side... in BOTH rooms... the balconies were quite small, there was weak water pressure for the shower (though water temp was quite hot -- quickly), inconsistent wifi connection, beat-up toilet seat, shoddy caulking in the tub area (see photo), old worn-out comfy chair w/ stains & holes (see pics), old beat-up clock radio w/ an alarm that doesn't work (see photo), and bedspread that was dated/old. And perhaps because the hotel was largely unoccupied when we stayed there -- the hallways/corridors were quite cool/cold.

We had an early flight out so we didn't get to enjoy the complimentary breakfast during our first stay, but we did get to partake of it when we returned a week later. It was one of the best complimentary buffet breakfasts I've encountered. Aside from the usual cold & hot cereals, bagels & toast, they have a steam table with lots of bacon, sausage, omelets (mixed up scramble eggs with veggies -- delicious), fresh fruit, plain yogurt, etc.

The only weak point of the otherwise great breakfast was the coffee. Like most hotel coffee, it was a bit weak. I'm always surprised hotels don't serve more robust coffee. Why is Starbucks so successful... because they serve bland/weak coffee??

Much of the time, the weak coffee issue could be resolved by just throwing in an extra scoop -- when in doubt, add more grounds! You can always water down a strong cup of coffee if necessary, but there is NOTHING you can do with a weak cup of coffee.

By the way, the coffee/restaurant area is huge and multi-level, and butts up against the pretty indoor swimming pool. Nice ambiance.

Before leaving I spoke with the mgr at the front desk about how good the breakfast was -- except for the coffee; how much we appreciated the complimentary shuttle service; and some of my observations about the condition of the rooms. He mentioned that the new ownership of the hotel was budgeting to renovate the rooms, but it wasn't going to happen immediately.

In summary, this hotel is a great deal if you take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service and above-average tasty breakfast (especially if you get a discount rate i.e., AAA, military, etc.). However, the rooms are pretty worn at present, which is why I didn't give this property a higher rating. (I want to give it 3-1/2 stars, but half-stars aren't offered to reviewers here, so I'm giving it 3 stars.)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room... if there any. And face the pretty water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesnee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I travel a lot for business. One of the minor ammenities that looms large for me having coffee 24 hours/day. The attitude at the Clarion was that they quit doing 24 hour available coffe because it was too expensive....oh give me a break for crying out loud!!!!...onlu bright point was front desk clerk by the name of KISO who went out of his way to secure some coffee for me...actually seemed like the guy is serious about doing a good job for his employer and the guests!!!!

Room Tip: always ask for a room on the intracoastal waterway side..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H Winston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Charlotte
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Me & my family stayed at this hotel in July 2012 and it was the best...from the lobby to the restaurant to the room everything was perfect, not one single complaint! Breakfast was nice and had plenty selections. {Loved the potatoes & ham} overall I will definitely stay here again, of course it was a plus because I am a Choice Hotel Employee and my room was only $35. :-)

Room Tip: The place next door has great wings, forgot the name of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
#94 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
77 reviews
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#96 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
46 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#62 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 101 Fantasy Harbour Blvd, US Highway 501, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-7435 (Formerly Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our hotel, Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, located directly on the Intracoastal Waterway in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, just minutes from the sandy beaches of the Grand Strand! A place where visitors return time and time again to enjoy more than sixty miles of sunny, sandy beaches. Visitors enjoy golfing on championship courses, gourmet restaurants, exciting nightlife, retail and outlet shopping, and much more. Myrtle Beach, South Carolina embraces fun for everyone, offering key attractions like Broadway at the Beach, Ripley's Aquarium, Brookgreen Gardens, Huntington Beach State Park, Barefoot Landing, House of Blues, Alligator Adventure, La Belle Amie Vineyards, miniature golf, and amusement parks. The hotel is just minutes from great shopping at the Coastal Grand Mall, Tanger Outlets and the New Market Commons. While visiting, check out our huge line up of family dining and entertainment...Pirates Voyage, Medieval Times, the Palace Theater, Alabama Theater, Carolina Opry, Legends in Concert, IMAX 3D Theater, Planet Hollywood, Margaritaville, Rioz Brazilian Steakhouse, and many, many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing