We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place, beautiful and clean. best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #74 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This Westgate resort is right across from the Family Kingdom amusement park and is ocean front. It has a lazy river, lap pool, small hot tub an exercise room. It also has an activities center, and a small arcade. Perfect for families. There is a Friendly's restaurant across the street and you can see the giant sky wheel from the hotel. Our Ocean front room was clean and had a king bed that was comfy, and I slept on the sofa bed and it had a memory foam mattress topper that made even this more comfortable, Pillows were fluffy and we really loved having the stacking washer/dryer so we could wash clothes and take home clean clothes, not piles of dirty. The kitchen had full size appliances and an ice maker in the freezer. The bathroom was in two parts, the toilet and shower in one and the two sink dressing area in the other. The shower has two shower heads and the Jacuzzi was clean and comfortable, The in room safe held both our full size laptops. There was plenty of clothing storage, but not for food. The balcony has 2 chairs and a table. no privacy and no screen door. Someone from the neighboring room can access your balcony, so keep this in mind for safety! The balcony and the main door have good locks on them and even though there was security in the parking lot at night, you should always be on the safe side anywhere. They have wifi and a very small business center. Could use more computers here.
There is a restaurant and bar. We had room service the first night, and though it was limited, it was hot and ok price wise.
The resort is less than five miles from the mall and outlets and lots of restaurants. There is a concierge desk and the only complaint was lack of parking. So if you have company, they may have to park elsewhere as owners at this time share get priority. Negotiating the halls with the luggage carts can be a bit of a challenge as the connector from building one to two is a zig zag a few feet long. Handicapped accessible, Check out is at 10 am. Sharp. It was quick, but no receipt and when I had something faxed, they did not give me a confirmation, The top of the parking deck is an unsightly mass of an unfinished second level and has rebar sticking up several feet in the air, so it either needs to be finished, which is really needed, or cut off the rebar and make it less of an eyesore. The pool area is shielded from sight by decorative mesh walls, which is nice and all the gates lock, so small kids are safer. The beach is very big and nice with handicapped beach wheelchairs available, kudos for this The north tower is refurbishing some of it's public areas as of this review. Don't know what they are planning. (a spa, maybe? or an indoor pool would be nice ) We are owners every other year and this was our first stay and we were very pleased. Staff was friendly and responsive.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street also face an ugly, unfinished, parking deck and an amusement park, so noisy...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We really appreciate and value our owners and guests. Our resort is the perfect place for a family vacation. Thank you for letting us know what we are excelling in and some areas that need work. We appreciate you for bringing this to our attention. As you discovered, our oceanfront room is equipped with a washer and dryer making it convenient to wash your clothes. In regards to parking, with the size of our resort, it can become an issue and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that may cause. We look forward to you and your family staying with us again in the future!

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,665)
There are newer reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed and Westgate Myrtle Beach November 23rd thru the 24th of 2013. We had a wonderful stay, my daughter and I were very pleased. We had a room on the 17th floor with a oceanfront view. It was spectacular, and the view was something you couldn't even dream of. The staff at Westgate was wonderful to us and made us feel like we were at home. I would recommend Westgate to everyone. I was pleasantly surprised and my daughter had the greatest sweet 16 a girl could ask for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenyatta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review on your daughters Sweet 16th Birthday. Our staff members take pride in providing a “home away from home” experience for all our guests. It is a real pleasure knowing that you were able to have a fantastic birthday vacation with your daughter. We really appreciate your recommendation of our resort. We hope to provide you with another amazing stay in the future!

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We choose the Westgate based on a recommendation from a family member. We were there in November for a girls softball tournament. Overall, the westgate had a very pleasant staff. I was extremely impressed by the room they gave us. The night manager, Trevor Jonas, had to be thanked for that one. He recognized a small incident during our check in process where a young lady was not using her etiquette, and cutting in line. Trevor noted this, and when it was our turn to check in, he apologized for her, and provided us with an upgrade. Very nice and un expected.
The pools were all heated outside, so the kids had a great time as well.
We ate breakfast in the hotel, which was OK, but again I was very impressed with the service. The lady running the buffet was very helpful and asked if we would like anything outside the buffet, which was perfect.
Overall, I would diffinately return to the Westgate. Note, there are going through and expansion of the development, so if you are going to stay there make sure you ask ahead of time if construction has started.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower with an ocean view, 16th floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the lazy river and heated pools and that you took advantage of our breakfast buffet. All of our staff looks forward to the next time you stay with us.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at Westgate Myrtle Beach and had a great time. We stayed in November and had beautiful weather. The staff at the hotel is what impressed us. Everyone we encountered seemed as if they would be glad to go out of their way to help whatever issue we had. We had a nice oceanfront room (very basic), but suited us for the short 2 night stay that we were there for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbarawfxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, it's always nice when the weather cooperates! We expect all of our staff to provide you with excellent customer service and make of your vacation a memorable experience. We would love for you to join us during your next Myrtle Beach vacation and look forward to your arrival.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Let me start by saying that this was not a bad place to stay. There were just a few inconveniences/issues that would make us choose another place to stay if traveling to MB again.

The good: The location is convenient to the beach, and provides easy access to Kings Highway (Route 17). We stayed in the "North Tower" which appeared to be a newer section, and the room was clean and comfortable. There was an issue with our reservation (not booked directly through the resort, so not their fault) but the situation was handled quickly and efficiently by Trevor, one of the managers. The other staff members we encountered were also friendly and helpful.

The bad: The first night when we arrived we decided to order room service since we were exhausted. The pizza we ordered tasted like it had been frozen and reheated...not very good. The resort provides Wi-Fi access, but it cost us almost $40 for the week...many other places we've stayed provide this as a complimentary service. The "tower" rooms, which apparently are the condo type rooms, are in a totally separate building from the check-in area, with only a small amount of parking spaces. We were there in off-season (November) and the lot was full almost all the time. Also, the laundry facilities are in the main building, which was kind of inconvenient for us (maybe some of the larger condo units have laundry in the units...not sure). One evening we decided to find a vending machine to get some sodas. After trying 5+ floors, we finally found one that worked (on some floors, there were vending areas, but no machines) only to find that for $2 you get a CAN of soda or a SMALL bottle of water...kind of steep in my opinion. One of the days we were there was kind of chilly and not really an outdoor activity kind of day. After calling the front desk, we were told that movies were available to rent from the lobby. We went down only to be told that the machine wasn't in service (maybe the person we spoke to on the phone could have provided this information?).

Anyway, this was by no means a bad vacation. But if you're considering staying here, these are some things you might want to be aware of prior to booking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Allows to thank you for mentioning how well located our resort is. We are very glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and that our staff was able to assist you with your check in. Indeed our larger units do have washer and dryer in the room and as you experienced we do offer a laundry facility for guest and owner use. We are sorry if there were any challenges that took away from your vacation. We only ask for the opportunity of seen you back at the resort, so that we may provide you with the best vacation possible.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

this is our second time visiting this resort. when we arrived our oceanfront room wasn't ready from an oversight, but thanks to excellant customer service of staff ( nyteli) , this oversight turned into a fantisy vacation, she put us in the north tower, in a wonderful, clean appartment size room, it was an ocean front condo with all the comforts of home, kitchen, living room dinning area, washer, dryer, walk in shower with a jacuzzi beside our kingsize bed. we spent a week enjoying everything the resort and the myrtle beach has to offer. the outdoor pools, lazy river, heated spa etc. that you see in pictures on hotel site are as amazing as they look. the outdoor swimming pool is surprisingly and comfortably heated to take a swim without shivering. (thats what we call truly heated pool). the breakfast buffet is good and reasonably priced ($7.99 and includes drinks).

the resort itself is very conviniently located with everything at walking distance. from what i can see the parking is limited but it was not an issue for us as this is not a peak season.

Room Tip: if you don't have oceanfront room reserved, check with the front desk how you can get an upgrade...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleySandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We are so happy that our staff was able to not just meet but exceed your expectations of your stay at Myrtle Beach. All of our staff is there to make sure you enjoy and have the best time possible. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our amenities like our heated pool and breakfast buffet. We trust it will not be long before we see you back at our resort; we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Westgate has always been and will always be one of our favorite places to stay.
The atmosphere was pleasant- home away from home. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Joe Baxter and team displayed professional and skilled customer service.
Suvash and his team along with all in guest services and housekeeping were very responsive and helpful.
Appreciate you all.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Depending on your taste, but I enjoyed the higher floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We really appreciate and value your review on Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We feel honored to be one of your favorite vacation destinations. All of our team members are expected to provide you with excellent customer service at all times. It is fantastic that they were able to assist you and help make your vacation more enjoyable. We are delighted that you will be returning and look forward to having you back.

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,249 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £47 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing