We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed. Would not stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #72 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Would not stay here again.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel tries but falls short on every level. Stayed here with our daughter and her family. Requested 2 deluxe ocean view rooms in tower. We were contacted for pre-registration and they asked for an arrival time. When we arrived, we were told that was not a guaranteed time and our rooms were not ready. Why ask for an arrival time then? The woman at the desk (a manager?) got snippy with us. That set the tone for the rest of our stay. Waited over 4 hours for the second room to become available. We were offered another room with an 'ocean view' which really was just a parking lot view that if you leaned way over the balcony railing you could see a sliver of the beach. Not what we paid for. The one room we were able to get in, was a pet room on the second floor. We were very disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. Broken glass, filthy kitchen floor. They do not clean the rooms during your stay! The pull out couch is extremely uncomfortable, ok for young kids only. Noise from the amazement park and adjoining rooms make it difficult to sleep. They try to make it a resort atmosphere, offered cool towels at the pool one day, asked if we wanted drinks twice but these amenities are few and far apart. The pool area was acceptable, but not anything special. Lots of rowdy teenagers during our stay both at the beach and pool areas. Beer bongs on the beach. If you want to relax go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide a relaxing and enjoyable experience for your family and it sounds like we did not reach those standards during your stay. We are sorry that you experienced issues with the cleanliness of your room. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guests’ arrival. Customer satisfaction is our main concern. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts housekeeping manager know. Please accept our apology if a member of our staff was less than courteous; this is not our standard. We appreciate your comments, as it helps us identify areas in which we can improve. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a wonderful stay.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    372
    261
    198
    221
See reviews for
685
468
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Dolly Parton and her co-owners need to put some money into renovating this property the bath room had mold around the tub, under the sink the pole that held the sink up had rust falling from the bottom, old mini fridges, old curtains, a few coat hangers, no rubber bath mate the tub shower was slippery. When you arrive they want to give you a sell pitch to be owners but the property they show you is beautiful but who can afford them they would do better fixing up the other units.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauryn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your input. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are a timeshare resort and we do offer for our guests to go on a tour of our timeshare resort side. Our resort side is more like an apartment type setting with a kitchen and living room area. We also have our hotel side. It is set up like a hotel without a kitchen or living room area. From your review it sounds like you may have stayed on our hotel side and toured our resort side. We would like to encourage you to visit with us again and check out our resort side. As stated, it is a beautiful resort and we would love for you to give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I will always stay at this resort when I visit. Sinuan Li went out of her way to help me.
I had a problem with my room and she had us moved to an even better room. We went May 31st until June 4 it was a great place to stay. Li was the most friendliest person I ever met. I cant wait to visit this resort again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for such an excellent review! We expect all of our team members to provide you with excellent customer service at all times and we are happy that our Front Desk team was able to assist you with your needs. It’s great to here you really enjoyed yourself and found our resort to be a great place to stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Westgate Resorts provided very good service. The Hotel has great accomodations for individuals or families- a children's pool and an adult pool with an outside bar. Plenty of sitting space for reading or just enjoying the sun. The hotel is located directly accross from Friendly's Resturant which is a great place to eat and free ice cream with dinner.The Hotel is three blocks away from CVS, a Dollar Store. The Family Kingdom Amusement park is two blocks away. My room was nice and clean and the balcony faced the ocean. The only downside for me was that the balcony is simi-private

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, found our location convenient to all the area attractions, and were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer on-site. We offer many different amenities for everyone in the family from a kiddy water park area to a tiki bar for the adults. We’re pleased to hear you really enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again soon.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have been to Myrtle Beach and stayed in many Hotels and Resorts. This particular resort was the best!!!! Trevor the manager was excellent! He made it possible for our family to stay at an affordable price. We were recommended to stay here by a family member and the rates were excellent for the dates! Don with the Concierge team greeted us upon arrival and the 3 nights that we stayed he was great with accommodating any and all of our needs. The resort itself was beautiful, clean and a at home atmosphere. The staff was very polite and everyone took care of all of our needs. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Thanks to everyone at the Westgate Resort for making our vacation so pleasurable!

Room Tip: The Resort itself is very much recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for such an excellent review! We’re so glad you chose us as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination. We expect all of our team members to provide you with excellent customer service at all times and we are happy that our Front Desk and Concierge teams were able to assist you with your needs. Thank you for saying our resort is clean, beautiful, and your home away from home. That’s awesome you recommend us to everyone! We can’t wait to have you visit again!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was great! The thing we were most impressed with was how friendly and helpful the staff were! Every single one of them seemed happy to be there, saying hello to you when they got on the elevator or walked past you. When we first checked in Li got us a luggage carrier and took us to our room and wouldn't even let us pay her tip for pulling the luggage cart. She was very friendly and remembered us every time we'd see her in the hallways which was nice! Their customer service there is great, I love it when staff make you feel welcome and don't seem like they hate their jobs. We stayed in the north tower which was very nice and clean and had a beautiful view of the beach and city lights. I would suggest staying in the north tower if that's manageable because we had to do laundry once in the older building and it did not seem as clean as the newer building. Maybe the rooms aren't that way but I'm just taking note of how the hallways appeared. The north tower is much newer than the other also so there is of course less wear on it and would be nicer. As for where we stayed though it was perfect, couldn't have asked for a better place; it's very close to everything you'd want to do while staying down there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatImhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for such an excellent review! We expect all of our team members to provide you with excellent customer service at all times and we are happy that our Front Desk team was able to assist you with your needs. It’s great to here you really enjoyed yourself and found our resort to be a great place to stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel from May 30- June 7,2014. First let say the location is great , the room was great but it wasn't until the middle of my vacation that I noticed a problem . On Wednesday I was called up for some type of tour they do and I saw all the different types of room available , they were beautiful ! But I realized I had gotten ripped off. I paid over $1,500 for my stay and on my reservation said "full kitchen " which the other rooms had but mines did not so clearly they just took my money and lied to me. Then I called for room services THREE times for them to finally come clean up my room on the fifth night of my stay. Also if you plan on staying here be REALLY REALLY careful cause there is lots of bad people out there and if they want a key to your hotel room all they'll have to do is call a random person who may have ur phone and say it's you. Don't get me wrong it's a beautiful hotel just be really careful and make sure you get what you paid for!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Summerlove4520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our resort to be great and conveniently located. We do apologize if you had any issues with our Room Service. We appreciate your comments and will pass along the information to our resort manager. Our units offer a fully equipped kitchen or a kitchenette, which is a little smaller with fewer amenities. We do apologize if there was any misunderstanding with the unit type you were placed in. Our Front Desk agents are always there to assist you if there’s an error or issue with your unit. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again and we hope to see you again soon.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
2.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Property: Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing