We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting rooms the hotel needs a face life....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bermuda Sands Motel
Ranked #157 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting rooms the hotel needs a face life....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

They don't know what CLEAN MEANS.... Or how to use bleach.... Our bedroom sheets n pillow cases had strains all over them ask for new ones because we refused to let our children sleep on them... The dishes were dirty in the kitchen... Bathroom toilet cover didn't fit not even made for that toilet... The pools were gross black stuff growing in the groves of floor the barbwire was showing on the 4th floor they had temporary jacks holding up the top floor it's bound to fall apart. I would not recommend this to my worst enemy.. location was great

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiffl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    97
    71
    63
    335
See reviews for
299
162
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

As you can tell from the other reviews this place is a complete dump. I'm not going to waste my time telling everyone how much of a dump this place is. It should be condemned. I had originally booked this hotel for a second stay in August and I cancelled those reservation the day we arrived and booked else wear. If you want a nice hotel for the same price or nearly the same price, try tropical seas. My family stayed there for our second stay and I have nothing negative to say about it. Please if you are considering a hotel to stay at, DO NOT stay at this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Up until about 6 years ago, The Bermuda Sands is the only place we would stay. For some reason, it seemed they stopped trying to keep it decent. I heard they were going to tear it down but they haven't. The last time I stayed there, the doors on the cabinets were falling off, the drawers wouldn't close, the bathroom door got stuck with my grandson in the bathroom. It took over half an hour to get it loose. The carpet was filthy and the air conditioner leaked water into the room all the time. We had to clean roaches out of the bathtub before we could use it. The towels and wash cloths were very rough and stained. The maids never came to our room once in 4 days. We had to go get linens from the office. The pots and pans were so old and had dried on food that couldn't be removed from them. It was such a disappointment because it used to be a nice motel with reasonable prices. The location is the only good thing about it now.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, get an ocean front room. They were the only ones that seemed to get room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

THIS IS BY FAR THE NASTIEST MOTEL I HAVE EVER BEEN IN-EVER!! The bathroom smelled like URINE, mold was all over the tiles and ceiling. The door inside the bathroom was ripped off. The hallway carpeting was disgusting--and smelled foul. An entire room between the office and the pool was FILLED with garbage--which I guess is why my husband saw rats outside the hotel. Ran out of towels and washcloths and it took TWO days to be re-placed.. We bought our own at Walmart. The kitchen/stove area was DISGUSTING--Would NOT EVER EVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE--THE State inspectors SHOULD CLOSE it down and CONDEMN IT!!!! THE MATTRESS LITERALLY HAD SPRINGS STICKING OUT OF IT.

Room Tip: "don't stay here ever"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The room was somewhat clean at check in. However, the room just seemed to have too much moisture in the carpet. Sheets were stained, along with the washcloths and towels. Poor lighting and housekeeping was absolutely worse than terrible.

We asked them to vacuum and give us fresh sheets when they make up our beds the next day, they neverchanged the sheets, nor gave us any, didn't even make the beds, throw out the trash, vacuum, or gather up the used towels! Nasty birds flying around pooping and pecking food.

The elevator stunk of urine and beer. The guest next door played loud music at the worse hours! I want a refund!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unknown0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Staying at this motel ruined my families trip. Overpriced and not worth it, do not stay here ever. Room smelled horrible and had obviously not been cleaned. Mold, damaged sheetrock and damaged ceiling tiles in the bathroom. Kitchen was a mess, had to clean it ourselves before we could use anything. Locks on the door were broken and after the recent shootings we definitely didn't feel safe there. Kids found dead cock roaches everywhere. Dirty clothes from past guests under the beds and garbage in the drawers. This place needs to be torn down as a public service. I wouldn't recommend my worst enemy staying here. A one star rating is more than it deserves.

Room Tip: Don't choose one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This place was absolutely disgusting! Our first night we found a beer bottle and all kinds of crap under the beds. We made the best of it because we traveled 10 hours to come to Myrtle Beach but if we could've checked out, we would've done so immediately. The place (the elevators especially) reeked of cigarettes, pee and weed. (Yes, weed!) The only thing good about this place was the view of the beach. They also screwed up our reservation. We reserved a room for 7 people but were given a room for 6. When we made them aware of this upon our arrival all they did was refund us $50.00 so we were forced to go to Walmart and buy an air mattress. The place was so dirty that we also purchased cleaning supplies from Walmart and scrubbed down everything as best as we could. We even bought bed sheets for the beds because after seeing the conditions of the room we just didn't feel comfortable sleeping on the sheets that were provided by the hotel. The lazy river that they claim they have is an embarrassment to all lazy rivers. It was so incredibly small and very dirty. They also claim to have Wi-Fi but there is barely a connection. Wi-Fi, my butt! DO NOT stay here! I'm surprised none of us came back sick or with some kind of disease from this place.

Room Tip: The only thing good about the rooms is the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#77 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#90 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#132 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#63 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bermuda Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bermuda Sands Motel

Property: Bermuda Sands Motel
Address: 104 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4042
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bermuda Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Bermuda Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermuda Sands Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bermuda Sands Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing