We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay at this hotel or eat in their restaurant Casa Blanca!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Sands North
Ranked #77 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Anderson, SC
1 review
“Do not stay at this hotel or eat in their restaurant Casa Blanca!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

My family and I just stayed the 4th of July weekend at Holiday Sands North (July 2 - July 5, 2009). I have been coming to Myrtle Beach for vacation once a year for my entire life and have never had a worse experience. The hotel including the pools and jacuzzis were filthy and in need of repair. After arriving we had to request a different room because the carpet in the first room was so stained and disgusting, I was afraid to let my 6-year-old walk on it. The bathroom was also dirty with some type of residue/dirt piled in the corners of the room. The blankets on the beds had stains and cigarette burns on them. The staff at the front desk acted as if I were crazy because I wasn't happy with the room and acted annoyed that I wanted to change rooms. The entire staff was rude and condescending and made us feel like they were doing us a favor by waiting on us. The only reason we stayed for the entire weekend at this hotel was because we could not find another hotel with a vacancy because of the holiday weekend. We spent the majority of our first day driving around Mrytle Beach trying to find another hotel. On our last day of vacation, we made the horrible decision to eat at Holiday Sands North's restaurant, Casa Blanca. The food made my family and I so sick with vomiting and diarrhea, we are still recovering from it. Not only was the food on the buffet stale and obviously old, the staff there was extremely rude. During my stay, I witnessed several other guests being treated rudely and spoken to as if they were children. I have filed formal complaints with the Better Business Bureau as well as South Carolina's Department of Health and Environmental Control for both Holiday Sands North and their restaurant Casa Blanca.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbincarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    145
    91
    66
    74
See reviews for
249
149
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia ,North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

The bad~Serious UPDATING is very much needed here.The rooms are not in the best of shape.I was shocked to find out this hotel is only 13 years old.Our room safe did not work, the door to the balcony had to be slammed every time we closed it, and the air conditioner in the room above us leaked leaving a big peeling mess on the ceiling of our room.We had to wait for towels until up in the day because they were not ready when the housekeeper came to clean.Bed was hard and pillows flat.Parking is across the street and sometimes we had to park in a lot where you could not even see the hotel.

The good~Every staff member I encountered was very pleasant, the location is within walking distance of everything,about 4 blocks to the old pavilion area, 7 blocks to Family Kingdom, and close to the 2nd Ave pier..The amenties are also good(one of the main reasons I've stayed here 2 years in a row), Cafe had great food. Price was okay-$640 for 5 nights oceanfront.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCAngie9399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

I was very unsatisfatied with the quality and service of holiday sands north. At over 100.00 a night and after changing rooms, these rooms are very outdated... pieces of the ceilling were falling off, the lamps were broken, tv kept going out, beds were hard and uncomfortable and rooms/bathroom were way too small. Also, there is no complimentary breakfast nor was there coffee in the room or lobby. Then, when i finally made my own coffee, the front desk did not have any type of sweetner and the cafe told me they would have to charge me for sugar!! I would not recommend this hotel. I worked at Quality Inn and we always had coffee and some type of breakfast for our guest ...even when we were in the middle of remodeling. I think it is sad that that charge people this rate considering the condition of the rooms. They really should think about remodeling or dropping the price. The only thing positive i have to say is that the houskeepers were extremely nice.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stnorris77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

KentuckyGirl101
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel last year and we loved our stay. The staff was very friendly and made us feel at home. We had a beach view room and decided to stay an extra night it was so nice! The beds were clean and they had great room service. The parking wasnt too far either. It was a great stay and we are definanetly going back!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ill
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at , The lazy river was filthy & they had to close the pool , the beds were so uncomforatble they had to bring foam for the top of the mattress we had a handicapped child , the fire alarm went off they told us to wait parking is 3 blocks away just a very poor hotel

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debjim14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

First of all, all of the staff that I spoke with during my stay were very kind and helpful. This is a older hotel and is in need of a few repairs, but nothing that is dangerous. Mainly just cosmetic problems. My room could have been a little cleaner. Yes, there is sand in the hallways, but it sits on the beach and that's understandable. The DSL internet connection worked fine, but I had to buy my own network cable. They supplied a cable, but the modem was on one side of the room and the desk was on the other and the cable wouldn't reach. I asked at the desk, but wasn't given any help. I bought a long cable at a local store and stretched it across the floor to the laptop. The kitchenette was useful and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fatdad461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

Please read this prior to making a reservation. The online pictures are very deceiving. Our room was very outdated and I would not recommend staying here to anyone. The appliances were very old. The eyes on the stove would not stay down and we had to put our cold grocery items in the freezer part of the refrigerator to keep them cold enough. The bathrooms--We wore flip flops in the shower. Our balcony was useless because the air conditioner leaked and ran rusty water on the floor. The back was also off revealing rust and corrosion and blew hot air. So please ask to see the room you are getting before you give them a dime!! Overall--Just nasty!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horriblestay2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Sands South
Holiday Sands South
#71 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#63 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Admiral Motor Inn
Admiral Motor Inn
#41 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Sands North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands North

Property: Holiday Sands North
Address: 400 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Sands North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-oriented oceanfront resort that caters to families and couples. Centrally located on the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk & Promenade the Holiday Sands North is located near numerous entertainment venues, golf courses, shops and restaurants. Come and enjoy the best Myrtle Beach has to offer at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Sands North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands North Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing