We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Sands South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Sands South
Ranked #71 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

would give anyone looking for good hotel to stay to check out holiday sands south! very good location,easy access to everything,probably nicest staff I have ever met! nice little restaurant in hotel. only hotel I will ever stay while in m/b.dont forget indoor pools and hot tubs or outer pool. only downfall is maids like to start early but that's ok cause gets ya moving earlier! THANKS AGAIN! SEE YA NEXT YEAR.

Room Tip: Get an ocean side. Views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    190
    82
    37
    43
See reviews for
246
118
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Love this motel. Ive stayed here 4 years in a row for Mustang Week. The staff is the best. It may not be the nicest or up to date but I feel at home every time I stay. And I'm sorry our loud mustangs keep everyone up.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have never stayed here before. Booked based on price and location. Stayed in the hotel with an ocean view room with a full kitchen. It is no frills but that's fine with me. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. The view was good. Walk out and you are right on the beach. Some reviews complained about the parking. There is plenty of parking across the street in the overflow parking and it is lighted. I would definitely stay here again. The only issue I had was that Mustang Week started at the end of my vacation. They drag race at night in the street. It's really loud. I would not stay here during that week.

Room Tip: Don't stay during Mustang Week. They drag race in the streets at night. It's really loud. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red8lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Everything was good until i received a letter from the maid service telling me that i needed to clean my own room. i went to the front desk and asked for my own cleaning supplies. I also responded by letting them know that i would try to contain my special needs son so tgat he wouldn't get anything dirty or unorganized. I complained about the letter, but they brushed it off. We vacation often, but bc of that, we will take our business somewhere else. This is no place for special needs kids obviously.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qsevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorheesville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have been staying at Holiday Sands South for 16years or more and Love it there. The rooms are clean and employees are polite and do eveything they can to make your stay enjoyable. John the manager goes out of his way to please everyone. Tim at the front desk always greets us with a big smile and a hug!!! How more welcome could that b!! Steve and Harriet at the Ocean View Cafe treat us like family. We have lunh everyday there because of the great food. We stay in the Condos now because we bring our grandchildren which is great for us because there is a washer and dryer in the room. The kids swim in the pools and love the lazy river. This is a great family hotel!!!

Room Tip: If you coose to stay in a condo make sure it is managed by Holiday Sands and not CONDO LUX. You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was not clean. We actually found a dirty pair of panties in the living room with trash in the floor next to the air conditioner unit which was so loud you could barely sleep. The carpet was not clean. The bath tub was a hot tub with jets and the jets were black from buildup. The towels stunk and were stiff as a board. We had a kitchen that literally had only a few pieces of cookwear. And some of it was in the draw and it was dirty. The whole place needs some serious updating from the main lobby and esp the room. The carpet is old and dirty. The tile if out dated. For the amount of money that it costed us to stay there we could have been living high on the hog. We wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EFC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed on the hotel side. First off I want to say the hotel staff is excellent. Better then I have seen even in good hotels. Also the food in the little cafe is excellent. The hotel is also very clean. I always ran into someone cleaning up. Now the bad part. The hotel needs to be updated badly. We had a two bedroom which is separated by an accordion door. The back room doesn't have air conditioning. So you need to leave the door open just to get air back there and believe me it gets hot! Also there isn't any soap, shampoos, etc that you get in other hotels. Also don't use the kitchen items unless you clean them beforehand. The parking also needs a big overhaul. It's across the street and if that is filled you have to go behind another building to park. They also have like 5 upfront parking just for hotel management! I only saw two cars there the entire time. Which makes me wonder where the rest of the staff parks at. The pools are also small. Overall is a good hotel for the price if the above things don't bother you. We won't come back unless some upgrades are done. But the staff does rock! !

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzyFite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#114 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#124 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Property: Holiday Sands South
Address: 2411 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4746
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Sands South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing