We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for the price!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Sands South
Ranked #70 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Massachusetts
1 review
“Not bad for the price!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

I found this room on the computer and thought it was too good to be true. The only problem with the room was it was small. When I called to book it the woman had told me it was on the small side, so the honesty part was good. We had a very nice view from our balcony. The room stated oceanview and it was. (we weren't viewing from a 1/2 mile from the beach, the hotel is oceanfront) The staff there was very nice. For the price it worked for both of us. What seemed to bother me was sharing some of the things we had. This hotel has condos right next door that they also own. And even though they have a pool also people were constantly back and forth and back and forth. It just seemed to make the outdoors a little more crowded then it needed to be.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauriO39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    190
    82
    38
    43
See reviews for
248
118
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Hotel is in tough shape. Not taken care of. Broken smoke detector, light switches and running toilet were never repaired our entire stay. When we complained about the smoke detector the desk clerk responded "well why didn't you come down sooner". Not sure how they could have missed it to begin with. Another thing is they don't have alarm clocks in the rooms. What? What hotel doesn't have alarm clocks?

Hotel staff doesn't care about you. There were multiple instances when the maids crowded me in the elevator with large carts. I literally had to squeeze in the corner.

In conclusion, the hotel is very out of date and in disrepair. Combine that with uncaring staff and a location 5 miles from anything and you have a bad experience. Plan on using your car alot if you plan on going to the shops on the boulevard, where you will also pay for parking.

No wifi either as a side note.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmurray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

http://www.holidaysandssouth.com/

I stayed here the month of June 09. I hope this review will help ya.We were in the smaller building in the south beach.Holiday sands South.
First the BAD- very little good parking without walking several blocks to the hotel.Can't use the next store parking in the new building.Only 2 elevators and getting floor to floor during the day is alil tough. Bathroom toliet(don't laugh) is too small and I'm only a 185 lbs. (MALE)Bathrooms are alittle small.Can't get in the shower with the door open.Some cooking utensils and pans,but not many.Bring a couple with you.Some noise above me and beside me during the night.Almost called the desk.Sound like they were banging the walls out.In your room,it was wayyy too easy to hear others closing their doors in other rooms.

NOW THE GOOD;For the money,a good hotel and reasonablely priced. Plenty of lounging room.Very close to the beach.About 100 yds to the water!!Nice Kitty pool area with different landscapes inside & out. In door pool and outdoor.Nice hot tub.I haven't eatten at the hotel,so I'm not sure about the food. CLean rooms and good views. Looks like about a 22-25" TV in the room.Least the one I am in. Has a safe,but its small. Wallets,jewlery etc.. Has DSL hook up in the room for your laptop.But a veryyyy short cord.Better bring one.I couldn't even sit at the desk.Bout it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Our first trip to MB. This place was a mess. People stay here because it is one of the cheapest places to stay. You get what you pay for. Our room was filthy. The pools were small and so packed you couldn't swim or get in. When we went to use the micorowave there was a TV dinner from the guest before us that the housekeeping left in there, which it had exploded and smelled of rot. The manager at the front desk got loud and began to yell at me as if it was my fault. RUDE! The sheets on the beds do not fit so you wake up on the mattress. The towels and bedspreads smelled of rot. The carpet was filthy. We checked out other places to stay and the Compass Cove or Coral Beach was top. If you want cheap stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

We recently stayed at Holiday Sands South Beach in a 1 bedroom condo. Location is great, pools were great. Parking was provided in a garage for that building. Lots of room with a great view. Kitchen had plenty of dishes and utentiels that we needed. But no alarm clock at all. Staff was friendly and seemed to want to help -but could not seem to get things correct. Each day the housekeeping did not leave enough towels and wash cloths and we had to request more. We ask for a blanket for the pull down bed two different times and never did get one. Brought a mattress pad one time and nothing the second time. We had two babies in our room and they kept finding food crumbs from past guest under edges of the furniture. Housekeeping obviously only vaccums the open places. The balcony also had pieces of several different foods left from previous guests. Also, the houskeeping employ servicing our room was very obvious in hinting for tips. She kept mentioning how long her week was and how much work she had to do. She was also the one who did not bring the promised blanket and didn't leave enough towels etc each day. I may stay at this location again but I would request to see the unit to be sure it was clean before completing the registration process. I would also encourage anyone I told about this condo to check first.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountain2beachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

I just got back from a weeks vacation(6-8-09 thru 6-15-09). I normally stay at the Holiday Sands on the North end, but I must say that this one is far better. We stayed on the beachfront and it was a nice view with our own private balcony and our rooms separated by the kitchenette. The staff was very nice, they had an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Then only hangup about this was that every morning when housekeeping came through to do our room, she was always out of things. We gave her our dirty towels and she would promise to bring them back, but never did and she only cleaned, vacuumed our room once. I just hated to have to go down to get towels and wash cloths after the fact that she promised to bring them back each day. Why were they always out of them anyway? Other than that I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone the price for a week was fantastic and it smelled great compared to the one on the north end always smelled of mildew from the wet sand and pools.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Holiday Sands. We stayed on the condo side and had a very spacious 1 bedroom condo. The view was great and had great maid service everyday. We loved the parking garage as we could park on the floor we were on and only steps to our room (4th floor). All employees were nice and friendly. Great condo at a very reasonable price. Who could ask for more!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elzgarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#77 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#115 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#133 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#104 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Property: Holiday Sands South
Address: 2411 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4746
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Sands South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing