We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #88 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My husband, daughter, and I were looking for a family friendly affordable hotel for vacation and we were very pleased with Holiday Shores! I had some difficulty making reservations online so I called and Kathy very quickly matched the online pricing and booked my reservation. We booked last minute and based our decision to go with this hotel from other reviews.

When we arrived Kathy greeted us and was available during the duration of our stay to answer any questions.

Our room was clean and well stocked. We were pleased with the balcony overlooking the courtyard which housed the pool and a nice grassy area with beautiful flowers and charming southern touches. The rooms are older and dated, however, it adds to the "charm" and "mom and pop" feel.

We also took advantage of the gas grill available for guest use. We cooked most of our meals on the grill, and enjoyed the ease of gas as most hotels with grills only offer charcoal.

The beach was close enough for us, about a block walk, but only one street to cross. We enjoyed the pool and it was nice to have the kiddie pool for our daughter.

The rooms are non-smoking but the outdoor areas are available for smoking which was great for myself and my daughter in the room ad great for my husband who always smokes outside.

We would certainly refer our friends to the Holiday Shores and we will be returning! Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    25
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
57
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My spouse and I made the reservation because of the website's ad that all rooms are "non-smoking." We made the wrong assumption. When we first entered the office, it reeked of smoke. The small courtyard area around the pool also reeked of smoke, as many people were sitting on their patios smoking. There was an ashtray on every plastic table. Even though the rooms are labeled "non-smoking", please be aware that this is very much a SMOKING motel!
The pool was very small and the kids of a few families had it monopolized all afternoon, throwing beachballs in an unsafe manner.
Because the place is so small, you can hear courtyard noise from your rooms. At 9:30pm we had to call the front desk because we had an early morning check-out scheduled the next day, and even with our TV set and air vent on, the shrieking, thumping, and yelling from the pool courtyard area was obnoxious.
The employees seemed nice enough. The room was small but clean, and everything worked. The location is central to attractions. As my title indicates, this is a fine place for a certain clientele, but it was the wrong choice for us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville,NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and i just returned from a relaxing and fun stay at Holiday Shores. Kathy and the entire staff are so nice and accomodating...They make it feel like your "home away from home". The rooms are comfortable and well appointed...the pool area is beautiful and everything is so convenient and easy to access....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JesseGreenville_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Shores. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything! We try hard to make our place feel like your "home away from home" and we are happy that you noticed! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Ms Cathy was really good to us for a motel to be right off the shore is a plus room had its own kitchen utensils which was A plus I didn't mind cleaning them before I left I will stay again this is one of the best motels in myrtle beach!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pawleys island, sc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was a weekend get away that went the right way!! Reasonale rates, very friendly staff, clean rooms and close to everything. The ability to park close to room and the easy access to the pool is so convient. In addition, you never had to look for a chair by the pool because there were more than enough! I would reccommend this gem to families, couples and anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of the larger hotels!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheree07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This place feels like a room out of the 80s! And I love it. Everything is pretty dated but it adds to that escapist feeling. The water here seemed very clean as well and the onsite laundry wasn't too gouging.

The room seems well insulated as I did not hear my neighbors at all. Plus the location is a quiet rental neighborhood and quite safe.

Only issue I had was the door in my room facing the pool sent an electrical current through me.... so don't stand barefoot and stick a key in it when it is in contact with the metal frame. The owners didn't seem too concerned with this but I imagine someone is going to get electrocuted one day...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoxFx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We are very fortunate that we have a lot of loyal, repeat guests and we welcome any comments or concerns that can help us keep our repeat business. I do remember you letting me about the problem with the aluminum frame around your door, and I apologize if I did not seem concerned. I immediately called our electrician and did not hear from him until late in the day, but he came the next day (you had already checked-out) and corrected the problem. We hope you will visit us the next time you come to Myrtle Beach - call me directly and I will give you my best rate! - Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The staff are very polite and hospitable. The access to the beach was just great. You don't have to stay beach side to have fun. Nice family orented place. Clean and well taken care of. As far as I can say we will go back again and again. Price is affordable for people who don't have a lot of money to spend so you can do other things. A short trip to everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it! We do hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Villas Beach and Racquet
Ocean Villas Beach and Racquet
#157 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#81 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
Horizon at 77th
Horizon at 77th
#68 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jade Tree Cove Resort
Jade Tree Cove Resort
#51 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts

Property: Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts
Address: 7501 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4246 (Formerly Atlantic Dunes)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Shores Motel in Myrtle Beach is a nostalgic, well maintained property located just one block from the beach. Holiday Shores is ideal for families and budget minded Myrtle Beach vacationers. We are an economical and family-friendly cozy little getaway. We have laundry onsite, shuffleboard, outdoor grill and free parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Shores Hotel
Holiday Shores Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing