We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average says it all !”
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jonathan Harbour
Ranked #146 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. Room was Ocean front efficiency with Awesome view. The sheets was clean, air condition cold, water hot. Over all Average with needs of updating furniture. Pool was dirty, 1 hot tub broken and the other needed drained and refilled.
Door had molding missing at bottom causing whistle sound when the wind blew. Reported to manager 1st night who did not have repaired.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We got an OF room for $95 on a Saturday night! Awesome rate! Our room was clean and spacious. My bed was super comfy and clean as well. Parking across the street but that was no big deal. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaglemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We have stayed at JH many times over the years...It is becoming a bit worn. Our room was 313. It had been updated some, but the carpet was most likely the same carpet that was there 20 years ago. I would not have been comfortable with a toddler being on it. I did not see any bugs or mold. There was a chair on the balcony that was broken and dangerous. The building next door is under renovations so it was a bit noisy. JH pools are very small and only 3 to 5 feet deep so it does not offer much to teenagers. Parking is across the street, but did not seem dangerous. The lot next door is public access to the beach and I saw several people come from the lot into the JH pool. You must take something to block the light and have privacy on the bedroom window. There is a light at every window and no curtain to block the light, only a cheap blind that can be seen through when people walk by. The advantage is, this is not just a hotel room it is a bedroom, a sitting room and a separate area for the kitchen. It is quite on the south end of town, and not much of a crowd. We did not allow housekeeping into the room while we were there. Upon arrival, there was hair on the headboard and in the batting of the comforter. We continue to stay here because of the space in the rooms and the fact it is only 5 floors so you don't have to worry about being ocean front in a tower with only a view of the ocean and no view of the beach. Will we stay here again? Yes. My only real concern was the carpet since I carry my own covers and cleaning supplies anyway, no matter where we stay. One more thing...the beds are hard as rocks, but I always carry a mattress foam with me too.

Room Tip: 313 was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaB576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

the room was disgusting. the tile floors were all sandy like no one had ever swept. there were hair balls in the bath tub, the kitchen was moldy, the pull out bed had springs coming out of it. i thought i was going to die it was so bad. something accidentally got spilt in the bed so we took off the sheets and we found multiple red splotches on the mattress and splatter marks down the side of the bed and on the floor next to it. either someone spilt chili there or someone was brutally murdered on the bed in my hotel room.

Room Tip: run away quickly you might be the victim of fowl play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beatrixlestrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

As a last minute decision to not camp out, my son looked this place up online and we checked in.

My son is 14 and loved the fact that our room was more like a very small apartment and he had his own room.

This wouldn't be up to my standards but since my son loved it, I was happy to be there with him.

The rooms are OLD. Very outdated. The bathroom wasn't as clean as it could've been and the towels were rough, small, and worn.

The elevators were also old and nasty. I felt like the elevator wasn't safe from breaking down. The price was low though and so you can't really expect much. Also, we don't spend much time in the room anyway, so it's ok.

The beach was nice but to get a drink you had to walk next door to where there was an outdoor bar. Although the beach was nice, it wasn't a pleasant view walking to it. We'd have to walk through the pool room to get outside and it wasn't a nice area. The pool was very small and dirty also....

If you are looking for a place with a kitchenette at a reasonable price, this might work for you. Just do not expect much because it looks and feels low end.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirosebud54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had a great time at Jonathan Harbour in Myrtle Beach. The building is old and some of the rooms are aging. Our suite was clean and very comfortable. It has 2 large flat screen tvs, stove, fridge, sink, microwave, and a dinning area in the far room. The pool and hot tubs were kept clean and everything functioned properly. Best of all, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The price was excellent as was the maid services. Since it was on the south side, it was quiet and there was no issue with parking. The beach behind it was nice and more open. We would love to go there again. There are newer hotels but age does not matter when it is clean and friendly. I would say the worst thing we encountered was a dripping bathtub faucet. Thank you for the great stay at Jonathan Harbour!

Room Tip: Room 207 was clean, comfy, and all furnishings were good. Had 2 large flat screens too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

It was a horrible smelly room. We bought febreeze. The people were nice but we couldn't relax in the room bc it stunk the whole time. There were hardly any towels and the pool is small and the area around it is tiny

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aqualee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#140 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#114 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#98 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#108 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Sands South
Holiday Sands South
#88 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonathan Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Harbour

Address: 2611 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4755
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jonathan Harbour 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jonathan Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan Harbour Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing