We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike Rally...Just the adults but would stay & feel comfortable with anyone”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #17 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The 3 bedroom condo was great. We had 6 adults and plenty of room. The pools are superbly, kept and every amenity they offered was well taken care of. Now our room was not superbly lavish, however everything worked and the beds were great. The only thing dated was the living room furniture. Plus a kiddie pool heated area, a large outside pool, an inside/outside lazy river heated, and a smaller kids play pool that was shallow inside that circle. The best thing was 4 elevators on each side, so it didn't take 20 minutes to get downstairs. I must admit we always have a hard time planning our annual fall rally trip with just the adults. We wanted somewhere that had a lot of activities, not only for kids. We found it this go round. Normally I make reservations for a house, this time we decided to try another hotel, and I'm glad we did. This place is more like a golf resort with many elderly people, but we had a lot of fun. Our misconception that every elderly golfing couple was stuffy and boring was well put to rest on this trip. Even the other guests were great to be around. Our 3 bedroom condo, which yes did have a little dated furniture, was still wonderful. Air worked great, and we used it a lot it was HOT. Everyone from check in, to restaurant help, to pool guards (and yes Adults are allowed to use the waterslide too), to our maid was super helpful. They went out of the way to do everything possible to make our trip great. We loved this place. I would not hesitate to stay here for another bike rally, to stay with the kids, or to even use for a family reunion. It was just a welcoming friendly hotel to all. I booked via the internet website and got a much lower rate, and was very happy. www.oceanreefmyrtlebeach.com

Room Tip: Angle ocean views have very large balconies angle ocean views allow privacy in the bedrroms from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgreeneofnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful Fall Bike Rally experience with everyone online, and especially with the management and staff of the resort. I know that a vacation is so much more than just a comfortable room; there is an experience attached to that room. We offer a unique and comforting experience from the moment you arrive. We take hospitality very seriously, and I am absolutely delighted this ideal was reflected to you during your stay. Everything within the resort is accessible internally without going outside, which is a huge benefit in the off season when the weather is a little cooler. We hope to see you and your other guests in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,285 - 2,291 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

We've vacationed at Ocean Reef Resort four times in the past two years. Their rates on shoulder season (May/Oct) are amazing - we got the 3 bed room/2 bath condo for $99 a night +tax. 3 bed rooms with ocean view, huge balcony, kitchen, and washer/dryer AND we had the pools practically to ourselves (Sun-Tues, early Oct 2012). The kids love the variety of pools. Being on the beach is really convenient with young children (no trouble if they tire early and then want to go back later). The location is very walkable for restaurants, grocery, ice cream, etc. The reason I didn't give 5 stars is that it's not a top-of-the-line resort. There is a little cosmetic "tiredness" at the resort, but overall, it's a fantastic place at a very good price for a family vacation.

Room Tip: The 3-bedroom rooms are in the angled tower - if you get one on a higher floor and a number closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Thank you first and foremost for your continued loyalty to the Ocean Reef Resort. The fact that you have returned four times in the past two years says something about the product and service being offered. During the varying seasons, we offer some of the most competitive rates on the beach, and considering the amenities that are attached to this amazing prices you really can't find a better deal. There are some necessary upgrades that will be performed in the coming off season that I know will set us further apart from the competition. We would love to have you back with us here at the Ocean Reef for your fifth trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This was the 4th time staying their and had a great time. The view of the ocean from the room was nice. Customer service was great. They treat us like we were a part of their family. The privet balcony was great because you don’t see anyone standing out on their balcony. You only see the beach and the people on the beach. I will stay at the hotel again and you should too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mont2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

We are so pleased you had a great time with us while staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. You mentioned you felt our staff treated you like family; that's because you are Family! We consider all of our guests part of our extended family. From the moment you arrive you are greeted promptly by one of our customer service experts, and that is just the beginning of the superior service and the hospitality experience offered by our team! We sincerely hope you are able to make it back to Myrtle Beach soon, and when you do that you stay with us here at the Ocean Reef!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Last summer my husband & I stayed at the Patricia Grand in Myrtle Beach which was just "ok"- this trip, we were VERY pleased we went with Ocean Reef Resort! We had gotten an unbelievable deal on our 2-Queen Oceanfront room through bookit.com (we're talking after their rate plus additional discount from signing up for the bookit.com newsletter we paid $50/night for our early October stay!)...we didn't even have to sit up in bed to be able to see the ocean- great views! As with any beach hotel, the decor was a bit outdated & the sliding door to the private balcony (a plus though!) stuck a bit...only other "gripe" was the bed was definitely not the most comfortable but overall it was a great room for the value. The parking situation was much more favorable than other hotels in Myrtle Beach- there is a good sized lot directly acroos the street via a crosswalk plus a covered garage next to the lot. The staff was very friendly and efficient- we have never had a simpler check-in nor check-out process, but I largely attribute it to having booked through bookit.com...everything was taken care of on my end prior. We did not eat or drink at any of the hotel restaurant or bars, but we did take advantage of the Starbucks in the mornings which is just a couple hundred of yards walk at the next hotel over. The indoor & outdoor pools were huge with very generous hours- 9am-11pm. The hotel is on more of the "quieter" end of the strip which was nice- just a short drive to the boardwalk area. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and couldn't have been happier with the great price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJP2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

We are so glad we were able to "rescue" you and keep Myrtle Beach, SC in your favor when planning a Summer vacation. We offer the ultimate vacation experience, with everything you could possibly imagine within your reach. I agree that being able to wake up and look right at the beautiful Atlantic Ocean every morning is absolutely breathtaking! We would love to have you back with us next Summer, or sooner if you ever want to make the short trip. Keep in mind we do also send out mailers and emails to our repeat guests that offer more than competitive rates. We love our repeat guests and will stop at nothing to make sure they have a great experience time and time again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Their listed price was more than double. Grabbed this hotel via Priceline. The only way to book. Right on the beach. We couldn't have asked for a better view. The swimming area was plenty, lazy river and 3 different pool areas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patschenectady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

We are glad the resort and view were exactly what you were looking for! Our resort sends out emails with promotions in them to our repeat guests, offering the best possible specials anyone can find. Please be on the lookout, and we hope to see you again here at the Ocean Reef soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My Husband and I took my 4 year old daughter down for her birthday 9/27. We stayed in an ocean front room. The room was great, bigger than most we've stayed in and very clean (we are clean freaks). We did have a problem with the shower backing up and told the front desk and they very promply repaired. The pool areas are wonderful, pools clean and towels are provided poolside. Great kid area with lots a spayers and a slide even my daughter was old enough to do. Wonderful view from our room and fast elevators never had to wait long at all. Parking was across the street or in a parking deck right arcross from hotel. You can load and unload in spaces provided in the front of the resort.There is a bar located pool side and it was great. The onsite restaurant was a treat as well, we had breakfast there with all the usual breakfast goodies on the bar and it was very reasonable I think I paid 1.95 for my kid- drinks included, very friendly from wait staff to cook. We were able to eat outside on the patio with a awsome ocean view and watch the dolphins jumping in the ocean. The only thing that I didn't like was they put $100.00 hold on your ccard and can take 10 days to remove but this is an industry standard and really not a complaint. We had a great mini vacation and will return.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room worth the extra just for the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

If you have kids this is the best place to stay. We had a 3 bedroom angle condo and I don't care what other people say about not having a beach front view the angle view was great. We stayed in room 420 with a very nice clean room and would come back again. Along with the 3 kiddie pools there was a great big pool that was cleaned every morning starting at 630 every morning ( I know because I was on the balcony every morning with my coffee watching them ) the slide is great for young and old and the 4 hot tubs were great too. I would recommend this resort to everyone. And also all the staff there were very nice and helpful thanks for making our vacation great!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanReefManagement, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

It's so nice to hear you and your family had such a good time here at the Ocean Reef Resort. The 3 Bedroom condo is ideal for those traveling with their family, as it gives each person a little extra privacy. Our maintenance and grounds staff gets on the pool decks each and every morning beginning at 6:30am. They clean clean and treat all the water amenities during this time, making sure they are clean and safe when they open at 9:00am promptly. I hope we get the chance to show you again what a perfect vacation is all about in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,946 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,062 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £53 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing