We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Reef Resort
Nearby Hotels
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Myrtle Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carolinian Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,286)
Filter reviews
3,286 results
Traveller rating
1,675
1,018
338
146
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
1,018
338
146
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe du portlazy riveracross the streetbedroom condobreakfast buffetpool areaoff seasonnorth towerfamily vacationtrip to myrtle beachnice resortwasher dryerrecommend this resortbeach accessfull kitchenbeach frontparking garage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,337 - 2,342 of 3,286 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Arrived for a weekend visit with my husband on Oct 12th. We had made a few special requests regarding room placement with our reservations & were pleased that all were accomodated. Our room, # 904 was clean, comfortable & had a fantastic view. The elevators were readily accessible, the hallways were clean, & there were no odors noted anywhere in the resort. The pool area would be great for families with children & was well cared for & had plenty of lounge chairs. Towels were provided at the pool side. There were 3 hot tubs & the one we used was the perfect temperatrure. All the staff we encountered were helpful & pleasant. We ate in the restuarant one morning during our stay & the breakfast buffet supplied the usual breakfast fare & at an average price. There is a Starbucks within a block that you can walk to if desired. There was a coffee maker & cups in our room but unfortunately no courtesy coffee packets were supplied. Overall one of the nicest resorts I have stayed at & would definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: Odd floors have better oceans views. Even floors have a wall instead railing for the balcony wall. Room 904 offered a great view .
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbb1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

I'm so happy to hear that the accommodations offered on our behalf were exactly what you were looking for. We go out of our way to meet the individual needs for all of our guests, in hopes to provide the ideal experience from the moment you arrive until long after you leave. In the future, please see one of our guest services representatives to receive some coffee. We do provide coffee, cream and sugar for our guests that is available upon request. We definitely look forward to having you and you husband back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have stayed at Ocean Reef three times in the past year...1st 2 times with our 3 daughters and the 3rd time just the 2 of us...each time has been wonderful. Rates are great and the staff is friendly and very helpful. We have stayed in one and two bedroom condos, they are clean and have great views of the ocean. Family oriented, with a great pool area! You are within minutes of great reataurants and fun things to keep you busy. You can't go wrong with Ocean Reef...would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlovers1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Thank you for your loyalty with us here at the Ocean Reef Resort. I will say it time and time again that our repeat guests mean everything to us as a company. The overall goal set forth by our resort is to give the mentality of being at home, only with the essence of southern hospitality. The year isn't over yet, so hopefully we can bring you back for your fourth visit before the year is over!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After a bad experience last year, I was contacted by the managment to appoligise and an offer to come back. We gave them another chance, and they made it right. The only complant i still have is, when checking in and out, there was only one representative at the counter. When there are a lot of people in line, it seems they need more people to help, rather than have everyone standing arround, waiting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wktg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

I sincerely thank you and your other travelers for allowing the Ocean Reef to make right by you and give you the vacation not only expected the first time with us, but more importantly the one you deserve. We regret immensely when a guest of our resort has a less than satisfactory experience, especially is it's something we can do to prevent this. When an opportunity presents itself to not only redeem someone's expectations but exceed them, we try everything within our power to accomplish this. I am unsure at this time why there was not ample staffing available at the front desk, but I assure you this will be fixed immediately. The believe the expression is "Third time is a Charm;" yet, I'm so happy we were able to attain this on the second trip! We hope to see you again soon for the third, surpassing yet again your idea of a perfect vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Just returned from spending three nights at this hotel. We have stayed at hotel before and they have great fall and winter rates. Hotel is clean and in a good location convenient to restaurants, etc. The only thing I noticed was that bedspreads needed to be replaced as is the case in so many hotels.

Room Tip: Special rates are available for fall and winter on ocean front rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zooland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Thank you for returning to the Ocean Reef Resort again, this time for what sounds like a long weekend. There is a standard for our resort, being that you will always get a clean room, wonderful service, and superb amenities that are hard to beat anywhere in the area. We hope you will continue the tradition with us for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We booked a 3 bedroom condo at this resort a few months back, for a golf getaway for two couples (men wanted to golf...us women wanted to relax!). After receiving some great tips from another TA reviewer (thank you.......you know who you are) we felt prepared for our stay here. Our 3 bedroom angled condo, was located on the 12th floor...and had a beautiful view from two balconies, of the beach and ocean. Really nice to sit out in the morning and have your coffee while watching the dolphins play in the water. Check in was efficient, the price was excellent, and housekeeping took care of us daily with fresh towels and anything we needed by request. Maybe because it is the quieter time of year, we had no problems with noise around us. Something that was important to all of us...FREE WIRELESS! And, even being pretty high up (12th floor) we had no problem connecting and using our computers. I travel a lot, and this is a BIG BONUS. Thank you Ocean Reef!

The condo was equipped well enough for us, as we had no desire to do any real cooking...just breakfast and lunches here in the condo. If you want to really cook dinners, you may need to bring some items from home, as there was not even salt and pepper shakers here. Just enough plates, glasses, cups and a few pots and pans and a pitcher. Again, that was fine by us.

Walking the beach every morning at sunrise became my favorite thing to do, and what I miss the most! Being that it was October, the pool area was quieter than during the summer, which allowed me to get in the big pool and swim laps in the morning undisturbed. The pool opens officially at 9am, but I was able to get in a swim alone at 8am, which I appreciated. There were also some nice kiddie pools and a hot tub, which we did not use.

The resort is located in a string of many resorts, so there really isn't any shopping within walking distance. There is a Food Lion store within driving distance for groceries, which was great...but other than a Starbucks nearby, there was not much opportunity for us women to shop when the guys had the one car at the golf resorts. It was ok for us, but if you are looking for something to do during the day, and have no car, there is not much available nearby. If you want to just lay on the beach or laze by the pool, you will not be disappointed. (By the way, the pool is salt water, but it was sparkling clean every day...and I am picky about where I swim.)

This was my first time in Myrtle Beach, not being a golfer myself I had no real desire to come here, but I have been pleasantly surprised. Nice beach, some pretty good restaurants nearby, and the opportunity to just take a deep breath and be away from work made this a great little getaway.

Room Tip: I think higher up would give you a better view of the water. We stayed on the 12th floor overlooking the pool, and it was great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francefantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

We are delighted you had a terrific stay with us here at the Ocean Reef Resort during your first trip to Myrtle Beach. We are the ideal resort for golf packages, and vacation packages for that matter, considering how close we are to all the golf courses and restaurants in the area. If you go one street West to Highway 17, you can easily find food, grocery stores, gas stations, entertainment and basically everything and anything someone would need when they are away from home. In all actuality, we have a restaurant on site, as well as a gift shop, game-room, and a fitness center, so this could even be your home away from home! The next time you are able to getaway from the hustle and bustle, we hope you will come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews