We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs up dating and more staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“needs up dating and more staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Check in was 3:00, but we didn't get our room until 5:00, which meant waiting around trying to keep a 3-year old entertained. Could not use the pool since we did not have wrist bands. Our condo was in major need of up-dating. The furniture was shabby. Except at check-in, the staff was good and housekeeping/maintenance did a great job maintaining our unit and keeping the grounds clean, which is impressive considering how crowded it was. Lots of water activities for all ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Suzanne M,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. Arriving on a Saturday and Sunday are always our busiest days and we understand the frustration of our guests having to wait in line. While we are always looking at ways to expedite the check in process, we do ask our guests to understand that typically there are 200 people trying to check in at the same time, as is the case in most resorts up and down the beach and our front desk staff does their best to get everyone checked in as quick and efficiently as possible. Again, we do apologize for the wait, but please note we are continuously working on this process. Thank you again, and we hope you and your family were able to enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    945
    305
    126
    94
See reviews for
1,497
684
64
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The views from the oceanfront room were very nice, unfortunately thats where the praise ends.
The room appeared clean but didn't feel clean. I felt the need to wear shoes when walking on the carpet. The beds are very hard and the pillows are flat, bring your own pillows! So glad we did. Check - in was ok as we got there late in the evening, but the next day the lobby was lined up with people waiting to check in and waiting for their rooms to be ready. The elevators are slow and with this many guests they need more. Public restrooms were small and hard to find, the closest to the pool area is just outside the resturant. Someone coming down for a meal does not want to use a restroom wet everywhere from swimmers and sunbathers.
However the biggest complaint is the noise! Slamming doors, noisy water pipes and the fireworks @ 2AM well past hotel "quiet hours". This place must have little to no sound proofing. Parking is across the street and extremely hard to find a spot.
The location of the property was a good fit for us but we will not be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 339TinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear 33tinab,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Our main goal is make sure all of our guests are satisfied while with us and I am sorry if you did not feel this way the case. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your stay, as there are a few things I would like clarification on so I am able to address them with the appropriate departments. I understand you felt your room was dirty, but I am unsure if it was because of the condition of your room or you just felt this was the case? Had anything not been to your standard, we would have been more than happy to address the situation immediately. Also, we are glad check in went smoothly for you, but you are correct, we do have a busy check in and we do our best to get everyone checked in, but again, we are glad you were able to bypass this. As for the fireworks, unfortunately we have no control over people setting off fireworks on the beach. We do call the beach patrol, as we want our guests to be able to enjoy themselves, but unless it is being done on our property, we simply do our best to contact the proper authorities. Again, I would love the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your stay.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a blast, and as always the stay was great, clean room,pool area ,all of it was great . will be back for another week in september. The people at front dest was very nice and helpful, and the location on north end works great for us,between Barefoot landing and Broadway at the beach, and steak house within walking distance,good steaks and seafood. Thanks Mark and Kathy

Room Tip: Ocean Front, above 3rd floor, due to palm trees, in view below that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markdli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Markdli,

We ar thrilled you and your family had such a great time! And we agree, our location does provide a great in between to all of the cities attractions. We look forward to seeing you abnd your family in September!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We usually stay at the Beach Cove in NMB but I did some research and figured we would try something different. Great move!! Great location between Barefoot Landing and Broadway at the Beach. We stayed in room 715, a 2 queen parlor room for 5 nights from 7/7 to 7/12. It was very nice, looked newly renovated with comfortable beds. Pre-checked in early and when we returned at about 1:30pm, a floater from the front desk took care of getting our room keys for us to avoid a long line, that seemed to move along fairly well. There always seemed to be enough front desk people to handle the volume of people. Pool area is Fantastic. Multiple elevator areas and no problems waiting long to get one. Breakfast buffet includes a chef to make any omelets/eggs anyway you want them. Servers in the restaurant are experienced and are some of the best in the business; I would know, we eat out nearly every night of the week. Great customer service all the way around!!! Overall, one of the best stays ever in Myrtle Beach. Thank You, The Romano Family

Room Tip: 2 Queen Parlor corner suites are best here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Jim R,

We are thrilled that you and your family had such a great time! Our recently renovated Parlor rooms are definately a favorite amoung our guests and we are glad you had an opportunity to enjoy them! We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip to the beach!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

very rude staff Crystal worst of all everyone had to wait until 3 to check in and made a complete back log also told check in is anytime after 3 meaning when ever they want to give you your room they also double charge you with a resort fee and tax. Beds were so hard I think the floor might have been better if carpets were clean I would run and run fast from this place the lazy river was brown water no staff to control all the little kids that were on there own. to much with the time share sales. Beach was nice view was good but to far from myrtle beach fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Kelly c,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. To clarify a few items in your review, check in starts at 3pm. We do offer a "pre-check" for guests that arrive earlier than the start of check in so they are able to use all of our wonderful amenities and have a place to relax until the check in process starts at 3pm. Of course if your room is available before 3pm, we are happy to give you a call to get you into your room earlier, but this is not always possible. In regards to your pillows, a call down to the front desk would have had fresh pillows delivered to your door that met your satisfaction, as well as if there were any housekeeping issues, we would have corrected them immediately. Our pools are filled daily with families spending the day relaxing, so that is why we do have our pool staff available during pool hours and constantly walking the pool decks to help keep the pool decks safe and clean. I will say that as a manager we walk the pool decks constantly as well, and while I am not sure when you were at our lazy river, I can assure you it has not been brown all season. We have a certified CPO on site and our pools are some of the cleanest and well maintained on the beach. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were able to check in fairly quick but people were complaining about the wait. I can't complain about this because the place was booked, 20 people showed up at the same time and it is just a fact of life. They worked as quickly as they could given the circumstances and they were polite and helpful. When we got to the room the view was amazing! WOW did we see the ocean! Here is where we had a few bumps. The bathroom was not clean, one of the drawers was sticking and we did not have the couch in the room with the pull out sofa we had thought we would have. The blanket in the closet we were supposed to use was old and scratchy....I was mad! Really mad. I called the front desk and complained, about all of the issues. They were respectful and said that they did not have a bed for us, but would call their sister property and see if they could get us one, and they would replace the blanket and have housekeeping clean the bathroom asap. Because I was mad, my husband was mad. Within 20 minutes we had the cleaning people back in the room and they re-cleaned the bathroom. That was great. My husband went to speak with management while my daughter and I went to the pool. Within an hour we had the bathroom cleaned, the entire room re-cleaned, the roll out bed was brought in, a new end table was brought in (to allow us a place to eat meals and for our computer), maintenance fixed the drawers, we had new bedding (3 extra blankets and sheets as well as new towels) and we were given $50 credit. The trip was SAVED! Now...the pools were amazing. The slide was a BLAST! The drinks were yummy and the staff were really professional, helpful and polite. The elevator sucked and seemed to have a mind of its own but whatever. I could have also done without the 1am firework shows the kids in the neighboring hotel were having, but I cannot fault a hotel for the behaviors of people not even staying there. We were sad to leave and plan to return soon. We even took time to look at some available condo's to purchase there so they must have done something right. This is a great place to take the little ones and to relax!

Room Tip: pay for oceanfront and a higher floor. Room 1612 is where we stayed. I can assure you, things work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Rachel P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent review. First, we certainly apologize for inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior accomadations and customer service and when a guest is not happy, we do our best to make sure that we resolve any and all issue that have happened.

We are excited to hear you loved it enough to consider purchasing a unit with us! Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
230 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Last minute trip to Myrtle Beach and the Ocean Reef amazingly had a 2 night opening right after the July 4th week. The room I wanted, 1414, wasn't available so my husband and I were put in another room on the 14th floor. A tad disappointed in not having the upgraded amenities of the room like in 1414, but was nice, clean and comfortable. View was excellent from the 14th floor.

Staff was plentiful, check in a breeze (arrived in the evening), and food great. While we don't have small children- it was cute to see all the activities going on with the kids in the kids club.

Room Tip: Gotta have ocean front with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoneReally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Nonereally,

We are glad you were able to spend a few nights with us! We apologize we were not able to accomadate your request for a specific room number, but glad we were able to provide a higher floor with an amazing view! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Crstal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
6.3 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing