We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Logansport, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

After staying at the Reef for 5 years now we are still happy with the services & staff! Yes, check-in takes a little time, but 450 people were arriving on the weekend of the 4th of July so that's to be expected. Guest were being very rude to the front desk staff, but they kept calm & made my checking-in process very smooth! We as a family look forward to our visit every year! The kiddie land & crafts they offer are fantastic as our family is growing. The room is perfect with a perfect view! It's close to all the action (Broadway at the Beach, The Boardwalk, Restaurants, Shopping, Opry)! Never disappointed & looking forward to next July! Thanks Ocean Reef for helping us make wonderful family memories!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Katya S,

Thank you for such a great review and more importantly thank you for choosing our resort as your family's vacation getaway! We are happy to know that our facility and staff keep you coming back and we look forward to year number 6! We also appreciate your understanding at check in. You are correct, when 200 people arrive at the same time to check in, then there will be a line. The front desk staff works hard and fast to get everyone accomadated , and the staff does an amazing job.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,540
    945
    305
    126
    94
See reviews for
1,496
683
64
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

They had ample parking across the street. Checked in on the Sunday after the 4th around 5pm and it took 30-40 minutes of standing in line. I know it's a busy time but seems like that process could be made more efficient. The elevators are pretty fast so it doesn't take that long to get to the high floors (which have a great view if you have OF). They only have 4 elevators so there is often a wait to get on one though. The breakfast is your typical greasy bacon buffet and the lunch menu is burgers, chicken strips, etc. but will do if you don't want to leave to eat. The staff was friendly. The OF rooms were nice and sufficiently updated. Very few hotel rooms in a busy destination like MB will be perfect and spotless so to expect that is unrealistic, but after the wife wiped the room down including a small spot on the wall it was good to go. They use a pillow top mattress cover on the beds that is too soft for me but I like my beds hard as I am pretty heavy. All the other guests were very friendly. The kids pool and lazy river are awesome! My one year old was not impressed but I will bring back here in a few years when she will be. There's a Starbucks right next door along with a fairly upscale restaurant named Martins. Try the Lobster Thermadore, it is delicious if you like lobster. Overall I was very happy with the Reef and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a ocean front room as high as you can on an odd number floor. The odd number floors have the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PWilly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear PWilly7,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! We appreciate your patience with check in. We work hard to get our guests checked in as quickly and efficiently as possible, but there normally is a delay at 3pm when we have approxamately 200 people checking in. Please note we are always looking for ways to expedite the process. We are glad you were able to enjoy our water amenities! When your daughter is older, make sure she tried our new waterslide located in the kiddie park area! Definately a new favrite for the younger crown ( and some of the older too!)

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing your family on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Check in was 3:00, but we didn't get our room until 5:00, which meant waiting around trying to keep a 3-year old entertained. Could not use the pool since we did not have wrist bands. Our condo was in major need of up-dating. The furniture was shabby. Except at check-in, the staff was good and housekeeping/maintenance did a great job maintaining our unit and keeping the grounds clean, which is impressive considering how crowded it was. Lots of water activities for all ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Suzanne M,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. Arriving on a Saturday and Sunday are always our busiest days and we understand the frustration of our guests having to wait in line. While we are always looking at ways to expedite the check in process, we do ask our guests to understand that typically there are 200 people trying to check in at the same time, as is the case in most resorts up and down the beach and our front desk staff does their best to get everyone checked in as quick and efficiently as possible. Again, we do apologize for the wait, but please note we are continuously working on this process. Thank you again, and we hope you and your family were able to enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The views from the oceanfront room were very nice, unfortunately thats where the praise ends.
The room appeared clean but didn't feel clean. I felt the need to wear shoes when walking on the carpet. The beds are very hard and the pillows are flat, bring your own pillows! So glad we did. Check - in was ok as we got there late in the evening, but the next day the lobby was lined up with people waiting to check in and waiting for their rooms to be ready. The elevators are slow and with this many guests they need more. Public restrooms were small and hard to find, the closest to the pool area is just outside the resturant. Someone coming down for a meal does not want to use a restroom wet everywhere from swimmers and sunbathers.
However the biggest complaint is the noise! Slamming doors, noisy water pipes and the fireworks @ 2AM well past hotel "quiet hours". This place must have little to no sound proofing. Parking is across the street and extremely hard to find a spot.
The location of the property was a good fit for us but we will not be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 339TinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear 33tinab,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Our main goal is make sure all of our guests are satisfied while with us and I am sorry if you did not feel this way the case. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your stay, as there are a few things I would like clarification on so I am able to address them with the appropriate departments. I understand you felt your room was dirty, but I am unsure if it was because of the condition of your room or you just felt this was the case? Had anything not been to your standard, we would have been more than happy to address the situation immediately. Also, we are glad check in went smoothly for you, but you are correct, we do have a busy check in and we do our best to get everyone checked in, but again, we are glad you were able to bypass this. As for the fireworks, unfortunately we have no control over people setting off fireworks on the beach. We do call the beach patrol, as we want our guests to be able to enjoy themselves, but unless it is being done on our property, we simply do our best to contact the proper authorities. Again, I would love the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your stay.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a blast, and as always the stay was great, clean room,pool area ,all of it was great . will be back for another week in september. The people at front dest was very nice and helpful, and the location on north end works great for us,between Barefoot landing and Broadway at the beach, and steak house within walking distance,good steaks and seafood. Thanks Mark and Kathy

Room Tip: Ocean Front, above 3rd floor, due to palm trees, in view below that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markdli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Markdli,

We ar thrilled you and your family had such a great time! And we agree, our location does provide a great in between to all of the cities attractions. We look forward to seeing you abnd your family in September!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We usually stay at the Beach Cove in NMB but I did some research and figured we would try something different. Great move!! Great location between Barefoot Landing and Broadway at the Beach. We stayed in room 715, a 2 queen parlor room for 5 nights from 7/7 to 7/12. It was very nice, looked newly renovated with comfortable beds. Pre-checked in early and when we returned at about 1:30pm, a floater from the front desk took care of getting our room keys for us to avoid a long line, that seemed to move along fairly well. There always seemed to be enough front desk people to handle the volume of people. Pool area is Fantastic. Multiple elevator areas and no problems waiting long to get one. Breakfast buffet includes a chef to make any omelets/eggs anyway you want them. Servers in the restaurant are experienced and are some of the best in the business; I would know, we eat out nearly every night of the week. Great customer service all the way around!!! Overall, one of the best stays ever in Myrtle Beach. Thank You, The Romano Family

Room Tip: 2 Queen Parlor corner suites are best here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Jim R,

We are thrilled that you and your family had such a great time! Our recently renovated Parlor rooms are definately a favorite amoung our guests and we are glad you had an opportunity to enjoy them! We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip to the beach!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

very rude staff Crystal worst of all everyone had to wait until 3 to check in and made a complete back log also told check in is anytime after 3 meaning when ever they want to give you your room they also double charge you with a resort fee and tax. Beds were so hard I think the floor might have been better if carpets were clean I would run and run fast from this place the lazy river was brown water no staff to control all the little kids that were on there own. to much with the time share sales. Beach was nice view was good but to far from myrtle beach fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Kelly c,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. To clarify a few items in your review, check in starts at 3pm. We do offer a "pre-check" for guests that arrive earlier than the start of check in so they are able to use all of our wonderful amenities and have a place to relax until the check in process starts at 3pm. Of course if your room is available before 3pm, we are happy to give you a call to get you into your room earlier, but this is not always possible. In regards to your pillows, a call down to the front desk would have had fresh pillows delivered to your door that met your satisfaction, as well as if there were any housekeeping issues, we would have corrected them immediately. Our pools are filled daily with families spending the day relaxing, so that is why we do have our pool staff available during pool hours and constantly walking the pool decks to help keep the pool decks safe and clean. I will say that as a manager we walk the pool decks constantly as well, and while I am not sure when you were at our lazy river, I can assure you it has not been brown all season. We have a certified CPO on site and our pools are some of the cleanest and well maintained on the beach. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
6.3 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#10 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing