We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #17 of 210 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just got back from an 8 night stay in a 4 br oceanfront condo. Traveled with friends and family. Room was great. 11th floor, room 1126. Clean, very spacious. This was our third visit to this hotel and when I checked in Crystal remembered me from last year. I thought that was cool considering how many people travel there. I arrived around 2:45 (on a Friday) and there was no line at all at check in. My room was ready too. After a long drive, I was very thankful. Parking wasn't bad across the street. Never had a problem finding a spot. Pool bar was nice, Revamped since last year. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone with children. Lots to do for any age. I really like the central location of the resort. It is close to everything. Cannot wait to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Gary C,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay! We love seeing return guests and the ability to catch up with them from their last visit is always a treat for us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your trip with us and look forward to seeing you on your next.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    987
    322
    134
    100
See reviews for
1,597
704
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The view from the oceanfront room was very nice, unfortunately thats the only good thing about this hotel. This hotel is very outdated and in desperate need of a good housekeeping service that will dust every where and clean the balcony. They also need to wash the doors, walls, carpets, put better lighting in the bathrooms. The room appeared clean but was not clean. We wore our slippers during our entire stay. I only put our clothes in the drawers after i cleaned the drawers with a damp towel and lined them with clean towels. The beds are hard and the pillows are flat. The elevators are limited and slow. Parking across the street and hard to find a space at night. The supposedly free wi-fi does not work. The location of the property was a good, but we will not be returning. I was expecting better for $678 for three nights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleCatNYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear ElleCatNYP,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us. I do apologize if you did not find your accomadations up to standard. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a memorable experience and we regret you did not find this to be true. Please note that if you are ever not satisfied with any part of your accomadations, we would recommend letting a manager know. While we do believe were have one of the best housekeeping staffs on the beach, if there is ever a time a guest is not happy with their service, we have a Director of Housekeeping who sets the standard for his staff and we would have addressed any issue immediately so you and your family would have been satisfied.

Again, we do appreciate your letting us know about your stay and we do hope you would return with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel has a nice location on the beach. The room and bathroom wasnt that clean. Found beer cans underneath the bed and the tub was clog up. Had to speak to front desk to have them clean it up. For having 12 floors this hotel only has 2 elevators so if you trying to go up or down during the middle of the day expect to wait up to 15min plus getting in with a whole lot if people. Only nice thing about this hotel was the oce front view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardo2005h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Ricardo2005h,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered when checking into your room. Please know the appropriate departments are notified as soon as we have any issues reported by our guests, and we work fast to resolve any issues encountered. I am glad the front desk was able to address your issues promptly. Also, we do have more than 2 elevators. There are a total of 5 elevators located throughout our building, and while at check in the front desk agent will direct you to the elevator closest to your room, the elevator locations are highlighted on the map of the property we give to our guests at check in with the welcome packet.

Thank you again for your review.

Sicnerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logansport, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

After staying at the Reef for 5 years now we are still happy with the services & staff! Yes, check-in takes a little time, but 450 people were arriving on the weekend of the 4th of July so that's to be expected. Guest were being very rude to the front desk staff, but they kept calm & made my checking-in process very smooth! We as a family look forward to our visit every year! The kiddie land & crafts they offer are fantastic as our family is growing. The room is perfect with a perfect view! It's close to all the action (Broadway at the Beach, The Boardwalk, Restaurants, Shopping, Opry)! Never disappointed & looking forward to next July! Thanks Ocean Reef for helping us make wonderful family memories!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Katya S,

Thank you for such a great review and more importantly thank you for choosing our resort as your family's vacation getaway! We are happy to know that our facility and staff keep you coming back and we look forward to year number 6! We also appreciate your understanding at check in. You are correct, when 200 people arrive at the same time to check in, then there will be a line. The front desk staff works hard and fast to get everyone accomadated , and the staff does an amazing job.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

They had ample parking across the street. Checked in on the Sunday after the 4th around 5pm and it took 30-40 minutes of standing in line. I know it's a busy time but seems like that process could be made more efficient. The elevators are pretty fast so it doesn't take that long to get to the high floors (which have a great view if you have OF). They only have 4 elevators so there is often a wait to get on one though. The breakfast is your typical greasy bacon buffet and the lunch menu is burgers, chicken strips, etc. but will do if you don't want to leave to eat. The staff was friendly. The OF rooms were nice and sufficiently updated. Very few hotel rooms in a busy destination like MB will be perfect and spotless so to expect that is unrealistic, but after the wife wiped the room down including a small spot on the wall it was good to go. They use a pillow top mattress cover on the beds that is too soft for me but I like my beds hard as I am pretty heavy. All the other guests were very friendly. The kids pool and lazy river are awesome! My one year old was not impressed but I will bring back here in a few years when she will be. There's a Starbucks right next door along with a fairly upscale restaurant named Martins. Try the Lobster Thermadore, it is delicious if you like lobster. Overall I was very happy with the Reef and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a ocean front room as high as you can on an odd number floor. The odd number floors have the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWilly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear PWilly7,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! We appreciate your patience with check in. We work hard to get our guests checked in as quickly and efficiently as possible, but there normally is a delay at 3pm when we have approxamately 200 people checking in. Please note we are always looking for ways to expedite the process. We are glad you were able to enjoy our water amenities! When your daughter is older, make sure she tried our new waterslide located in the kiddie park area! Definately a new favrite for the younger crown ( and some of the older too!)

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing your family on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Check in was 3:00, but we didn't get our room until 5:00, which meant waiting around trying to keep a 3-year old entertained. Could not use the pool since we did not have wrist bands. Our condo was in major need of up-dating. The furniture was shabby. Except at check-in, the staff was good and housekeeping/maintenance did a great job maintaining our unit and keeping the grounds clean, which is impressive considering how crowded it was. Lots of water activities for all ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Suzanne M,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. Arriving on a Saturday and Sunday are always our busiest days and we understand the frustration of our guests having to wait in line. While we are always looking at ways to expedite the check in process, we do ask our guests to understand that typically there are 200 people trying to check in at the same time, as is the case in most resorts up and down the beach and our front desk staff does their best to get everyone checked in as quick and efficiently as possible. Again, we do apologize for the wait, but please note we are continuously working on this process. Thank you again, and we hope you and your family were able to enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The views from the oceanfront room were very nice, unfortunately thats where the praise ends.
The room appeared clean but didn't feel clean. I felt the need to wear shoes when walking on the carpet. The beds are very hard and the pillows are flat, bring your own pillows! So glad we did. Check - in was ok as we got there late in the evening, but the next day the lobby was lined up with people waiting to check in and waiting for their rooms to be ready. The elevators are slow and with this many guests they need more. Public restrooms were small and hard to find, the closest to the pool area is just outside the resturant. Someone coming down for a meal does not want to use a restroom wet everywhere from swimmers and sunbathers.
However the biggest complaint is the noise! Slamming doors, noisy water pipes and the fireworks @ 2AM well past hotel "quiet hours". This place must have little to no sound proofing. Parking is across the street and extremely hard to find a spot.
The location of the property was a good fit for us but we will not be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 339TinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear 33tinab,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Our main goal is make sure all of our guests are satisfied while with us and I am sorry if you did not feel this way the case. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your stay, as there are a few things I would like clarification on so I am able to address them with the appropriate departments. I understand you felt your room was dirty, but I am unsure if it was because of the condition of your room or you just felt this was the case? Had anything not been to your standard, we would have been more than happy to address the situation immediately. Also, we are glad check in went smoothly for you, but you are correct, we do have a busy check in and we do our best to get everyone checked in, but again, we are glad you were able to bypass this. As for the fireworks, unfortunately we have no control over people setting off fireworks on the beach. We do call the beach patrol, as we want our guests to be able to enjoy themselves, but unless it is being done on our property, we simply do our best to contact the proper authorities. Again, I would love the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your stay.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,868 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
3,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#47 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#31 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing