We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave! Excellent vacation!”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #19 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Did not want to leave! Excellent vacation!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our first trip to Myrtle Beach in over ten years! We arrived 2 hours after check in. The staff was courteous and quick getting me checked in and off to our room. We requested an oceanfront room on a high floor. 14th floor and it was fantastic! They know how to execute the wow! factor. The very first thing I saw after opening the door was the incredible view of the ocean! Lobby, halls and room were very clean. No funky smells or weird things on the ground. My only complaint about the room would be the lack of good, hot water and a light in the shower. But I realize being on the 14th floor it probably has to travel quite far to reach us but they could work on the bathroom lighting a bit. Trivial issues really. We had a single king bed with a couch, table, microwave and refrigerator.
They could use a few more parking spots close to the hotel. We were lucky to find a spot every time we came back... but we saw others circling and searching!
A nice assortment of pools. Clean with comfortable water temperatures. Can't wait to take my young son next year. He will love the kiddie pools! Easy access to the beach. I recommend packing diluted white vinegar in your beach bag... the jellyfish can be a nuisance.
Very nice location on the north end of south Myrtle, in a row of hotels nestled by residential areas. The night walks on the beach under the full moon were beautiful!! Nice restaurants close by and traffic was light compared to the south end of the beach. A nice perk!
We didn't use the spa, fitness room or game rooms. But they are there and looked adequate.
We are average people and this was a nice hotel. Nothing crazy fancy but nice. Had it been any fancier we may have felt out of place. And if you happen to still have the horrid habit of smoking, they still allow on the balcony. And in designated areas outside. A big yay factor. We try to be courteous to those that do not smoke and appreciate a place that still accommodates us. Was no problem to only smoke on balcony-so beautiful and comfortable out there.
My only real complaint- if you go walking on the beach late at night there is NO where to rinse your feet and legs off before coming back inside. They cut the water off or something.
Thanks for a fantastic trip to Myrtle, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Hotel has 17 floors so definitely recommend a high floor for the breath taking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Laura P,

Thank you for such a great review! We are glad we could make your return trip to the beach a great one. We appreciate your recommendations and comments and hope you will not wait another 10 years to come back and visit!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,570
    959
    311
    130
    95
See reviews for
1,530
690
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Fabulous location. Wonderful pools - special pools, slides, and play area for kids, too, and unbelievably beautiful ocean-front views. The breakfast buffet has everything on it that you would want - and coffee is included.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinaMKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Dinamerryl,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We agree that the views from our resort are spectacular and the breakfast buffet at our ocean front Café du Port is the best way to start anyone's day! Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next vacation.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We rented a 4 bedroom condo expecting the room to be clean and there be enough basic toiletries and such for 12 people as it states it sleeps 12 people. However, we were very surprised. We spent 3700 for the week to sleep in a disgusting condo that wasn't usable. The staff were useless and couldn't care less.
•Silverware - only had setting for 3 in a room that slept 12
•Rooms were dirty
•Carpets were disgusting
•Towels for 4 in a room that slept 12. Had to call housekeeping daily to get enough towels for the 7 people there. Again. The room was supposed to sleep 12.
•Hot water- had none. Called maintenance daily and was told to get hot water to take a SHOWER or wash dishes we had to turn on every faucet for at least 5 minutes for the hot water to come up. They wouldn't do anything to fix it
•Wifi - didn't work. Had no reception on my phone
•Stove- burners were bent up so was not able to use the range.
•Cookware - old and disgusting. The Teflon was worn off. Afraid to use it
•Payment up front - wondered why we had to pay upfront but now I know. It is because they know you would check out otherwise. This way they had us SCREWED because I forked out over 3700 for the room for the week and had no other place to go.
•Refrigerator door would not shut unless we physically forced it too. Making the food warm

Room Tip: My tip would be to NEVER book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank shannong606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Shannon G,

On behalf of Ocean Reef Resort, we wanted to thank you for your comments and I understand you have been in communication with our General Manager, Jennifer Stahler, and your issues have been addressed. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and your family, and we hope to see you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Crytsal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just got back from an 8 night stay in a 4 br oceanfront condo. Traveled with friends and family. Room was great. 11th floor, room 1126. Clean, very spacious. This was our third visit to this hotel and when I checked in Crystal remembered me from last year. I thought that was cool considering how many people travel there. I arrived around 2:45 (on a Friday) and there was no line at all at check in. My room was ready too. After a long drive, I was very thankful. Parking wasn't bad across the street. Never had a problem finding a spot. Pool bar was nice, Revamped since last year. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone with children. Lots to do for any age. I really like the central location of the resort. It is close to everything. Cannot wait to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Gary C,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay! We love seeing return guests and the ability to catch up with them from their last visit is always a treat for us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your trip with us and look forward to seeing you on your next.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The view from the oceanfront room was very nice, unfortunately thats the only good thing about this hotel. This hotel is very outdated and in desperate need of a good housekeeping service that will dust every where and clean the balcony. They also need to wash the doors, walls, carpets, put better lighting in the bathrooms. The room appeared clean but was not clean. We wore our slippers during our entire stay. I only put our clothes in the drawers after i cleaned the drawers with a damp towel and lined them with clean towels. The beds are hard and the pillows are flat. The elevators are limited and slow. Parking across the street and hard to find a space at night. The supposedly free wi-fi does not work. The location of the property was a good, but we will not be returning. I was expecting better for $678 for three nights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleCatNYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear ElleCatNYP,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us. I do apologize if you did not find your accomadations up to standard. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a memorable experience and we regret you did not find this to be true. Please note that if you are ever not satisfied with any part of your accomadations, we would recommend letting a manager know. While we do believe were have one of the best housekeeping staffs on the beach, if there is ever a time a guest is not happy with their service, we have a Director of Housekeeping who sets the standard for his staff and we would have addressed any issue immediately so you and your family would have been satisfied.

Again, we do appreciate your letting us know about your stay and we do hope you would return with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel has a nice location on the beach. The room and bathroom wasnt that clean. Found beer cans underneath the bed and the tub was clog up. Had to speak to front desk to have them clean it up. For having 12 floors this hotel only has 2 elevators so if you trying to go up or down during the middle of the day expect to wait up to 15min plus getting in with a whole lot if people. Only nice thing about this hotel was the oce front view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardo2005h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Ricardo2005h,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered when checking into your room. Please know the appropriate departments are notified as soon as we have any issues reported by our guests, and we work fast to resolve any issues encountered. I am glad the front desk was able to address your issues promptly. Also, we do have more than 2 elevators. There are a total of 5 elevators located throughout our building, and while at check in the front desk agent will direct you to the elevator closest to your room, the elevator locations are highlighted on the map of the property we give to our guests at check in with the welcome packet.

Thank you again for your review.

Sicnerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logansport, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

After staying at the Reef for 5 years now we are still happy with the services & staff! Yes, check-in takes a little time, but 450 people were arriving on the weekend of the 4th of July so that's to be expected. Guest were being very rude to the front desk staff, but they kept calm & made my checking-in process very smooth! We as a family look forward to our visit every year! The kiddie land & crafts they offer are fantastic as our family is growing. The room is perfect with a perfect view! It's close to all the action (Broadway at the Beach, The Boardwalk, Restaurants, Shopping, Opry)! Never disappointed & looking forward to next July! Thanks Ocean Reef for helping us make wonderful family memories!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Katya S,

Thank you for such a great review and more importantly thank you for choosing our resort as your family's vacation getaway! We are happy to know that our facility and staff keep you coming back and we look forward to year number 6! We also appreciate your understanding at check in. You are correct, when 200 people arrive at the same time to check in, then there will be a line. The front desk staff works hard and fast to get everyone accomadated , and the staff does an amazing job.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#10 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing