We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING STAY”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #19 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Currituck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING STAY”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Two-bedroom suite, 4-day golf trip with 35 or so folks. No breakfast coupons (supposed to be included), not much help from front desk, and we had to chase coupons down for two days before resolved. Bad ceiling leak in bathroom second afternoon - first call to front desk resulted in a quick visit and a 'no big deal' response from staff. Later that night while asleep, we were awakened and ousted from room, and then were moved to a 1/2 sized room. THAT room had a bad shower/bath faucet leak (I'm talking loud, running water). Called front desk again the next morning and were told it would be fixed while we were out that day. Maintenance disassembled the valves, then left everything unassembled and lying on bathroom floor (no shower after a long hot day of golf). We called AGAIN and somebody put the thing back together, but did not fix it (no parts, he said). Upon checkout, I tried to get the Gen Mgr but could not. Wrote email to Gen manager and her boss. She responded politely that she would investigate, but her boss never bothered at all. That's the last we've heard from the mgr and never heard from the MyrtleBeachHotels guy.
Ocean Reef is a decent place for an aging resort - basically clean, great ocean views, and hourly staff is outstanding - but maintenance and gen processes leave a lot to be desired, and mgt may or may not be responsive (they weren't for us). A little disappointing to us given the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walksomemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Walksomemore,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Ocean Reef Resort. Our staff takes exceptional pride in their work and customer-service and we'd like to apologize that we weren't able to make your stay a satisfactory one. We appreciate comments from valued guests like you because it continuously helps our team improve. If you would like to speak further about your recent stay please don't hesitate to correspond to any member of our management team - we are here to help. We hope to see you again at the Ocean Reef Resort!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    959
    311
    130
    95
See reviews for
1,529
690
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shohola, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The ladies at the front desk that I have dealt with were very nice and pleasant. There names were Selena and Crystal. They made my father and I laugh. They were very nice and respectful, and they helped with everything we needed. Never had any problems with them at all. The house keeper lady was great as well. Her name was Rhonda. The only problem we had was with the main office, one of the ladies were very nasty I didn't know her name. Overall my stay was pretty great. Thanks to the girls at the front desk. The person who was the main cleaner which was not Rhonda, did not leave anything we needed, left everything for Rhonda to do. Rhonda took over and kept and very nice and clean. They should have more people like her that look out for the vacationers.

Room Tip: The floor was 11 and it was ok, but had an odor. I like oceanfront they are nice. It is always good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Katherine K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an excellent review of your stay at the Ocean Reef Resort! We truly appreciate the recognition of the staff members you've been in contact with - we are always striving to provide the utmost attention and service to each and every guest. It is thrilling to hear that these employees made your stay a memorable one. We can't wait to see you back at the resort soon!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights didn't want to leave rooms were beautiful view was outstanding the staff was wonderful Selena at reception and Maggie our dining room waitress and Lulu at the banana boat bar were great. We will definitely be back what a great place and perfect location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Mary M,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your road trip destination! Our staff works exceptionally hard to ensure each and every guest receives the highest level of customer service. Your praise will certainly be passed to each department! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The stay was wonderful. Great rooms, service, amenities and the bar has the best white Russians ever (ask for the vanilla ice cream mix) !! The rooms were very comfortable and the service was better than ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howie203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Howie203,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your wonderful stay at the Ocean Reef Resort! Our staff takes exceptional pride in knowing we've made our guests vacation experience comfortable and one to remember. Let us know when you're booking again so we make sure to have plenty of the vanilla ice cream mix for your White Russian!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the ocean Reef Resort and it has never disappointed. So much to do there from 2 pools (indoor and outdoor heated), hot tubs, a lazy river, a gym, and right on the beach. The breakfast buffet doesn't disappoint either...So many other attractions at myrtle beach as well. Selena was a great help at the service desk. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zman6687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Zmann6687,

Thank you very much for taking the time share your wonderful experience at the Ocean Reef Resort. We're thrilled you were able to take advantage of all the resort has to offer and that we could make your stay a memorable one. Our staff takes great pride in our customer-service, and Selena will surely be notified of the difference she made in your stay! We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va
Level Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were on a 4 day golf outing and have stayed here 4 times. It was a very pleasant surprise to see that the rooms have been recently updated. Very nicely done. The outside grounds were also neat and clean. The breakfast bar as always was great. Watching the sunrise every morning made the day, throw in a little golf and some good friends and you can have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear BooksVa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort! The latest improvements to the oceanfront rooms have garnished lots of positive feedback, and we're thrilled they appealed to your tastes. It sounds like you perfected the morning routine at the resort with a sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean and a tasty breakfast at the Cafe Du Port. We'll make sure to have a pot of coffee waiting for your return!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n. ton., ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

we had a 2 bedroom condo room on the 7th floor, The room was clean and spacious. The only bad thing was the balcony's were very small. Pools were nice, overall well pleased. We used the hottub and it was hot!! Frontdesk people very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Nanjon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort! We appreciate your feedback in regards to the style of balcony the 2 bedroom condo's have. In addition to that specific room type, we offer beautiful 1,3 and 4 bedroom condos, each showing off a different aspect of the Atlantic Ocean! Ask about the differences next time you speak with a qualified vacation planner. Our staff looks forward to providing the same high level of customer service you expect!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#10 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing