We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #17 of 210 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Midway, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was my first time visiting Myrtle Beach. I did not know what to expect. Overall this is a great choice of a place to stay. Friendly staff and great access to the beach. Stayed on the 11th floor and it was quiet.

Room Tip: Corner suites were sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboop7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Bettyboop7777,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    987
    322
    134
    100
See reviews for
1,597
704
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been coming to Ocean Reef for 4 years. Great value. Pool is awesome, great kids pool with waterslide. Caution, my 7 year old got a blackeye from the waterslide, it's really fast for kids that are small. Rooms are clean. Food is average. Location is great, far enough away from the Grand Strand but nice driving distance from BareFoot Landing & Broadway At the Beach. Beach is beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sarah Y,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great place to stay. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Breakfast at Cafe De Port is amazing. Nice clean rooms. Great access to beach. Pool was always over crowded but is understandable. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great time. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donalde450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Donalde450,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback and recommendation, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff very friendly, especially Selena at the front desk. Resort was a bit far from the attractions if that's what you are looking for to walk to. Rooms clean. Kids activities planned. Free movie rental unlimited.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mistylo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback and recommendation, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightdale
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay here it is June so it was very busy so the elevators took a while but I guess that is to be expected in June. The lady at the outside bar was not very pleasant maybe she was having a bad day. We felt very safe here which I liked because it was only myself with my three kids. The beds very very clean and comfortable. I would come back agin just maybe not the same time of year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurley1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Hurley1979,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is clean, moderately located to everything, and lots to do just for children. They added a slide which the adults can even enjoy. If you want to save money by spending time all day at a pool, lazy river, or a small water park then start here. The staff is very inviting and helpful. They even have a great buffet breakfast, a bar for party time, lol, and a small arcade. This place has it all. We've stayed here for four years in a row until this year which was a huge mistake.( See my review on palace resort.) I may never stray again.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, all of the rooms are nice. Oceanfronts are my preference though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonh671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Jon H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Ocean Reef Resort. Our team loves to hear about guests who return each year, and what it is that draws them back. We are pleased to hear that we have won you over with the addition of the water slide to our existing water amenities. We can't to see you and yours back soon!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked through Oritz and got a great deal on the deluxe oceanfront. The room was clean and the staff were friendly. We stayed in rm 803 and were very happy with our room. If you buy drinks from the bar, I do recommend that you buy ones that come in a bottle or can as the mixed drinks seemed watered down. That could be from the temperatures outside melting the ice, but regardless, they were very weak drinks and not worth the price in my opinion. If you are going to use the pool, I recommend getting down there about 9am as the lounge chairs fill up quickly. My 4 year old loved all the pools there. We loved the view from our room. This was far enough away from the nightlife that we felt safe to walk around at night if need be, but not quite as far away as North Myrtle. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a view, I recommend at least the 4th floor and up as there are palm trees that could blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustLisa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear JustLisa76,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ocean Reef Resort. We appreciate your comments about the strength of the mixed drinks. Our team will address it, just as we do for any issue or concern a guest brings to our attention. Despite that, its wonderful to hear your family felt safe and comfortable on property and the surrounding area. We truly look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,868 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
3,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#47 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#31 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing