We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,821)
Filter reviews
3,821 results
Traveller rating
1,929
1,165
416
170
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,929
1,165
416
170
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe du portlazy riveracross the streetbedroom condobreakfast buffetpool areaoff seasonnorth towerfamily vacationgreat resorttrip to myrtle beacha great vacationwasher dryerbeach accessfull kitchenbeach frontwater park
Filter
Updating list...
2,382 - 2,387 of 3,821 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Ocean Reef (June 2014) for an extended weekend and the best I can say, is don't believe all the hype about the quality of this hotel!. The staff was rude and less than helpful at check-in and departure.

While the rooms were moderately clean, and did not have bugs, they are old, tiny and there's lots of rust seeping thru doorways and in the bathroom. The sliding glass door didn't "slide" at all and it made horrible noises when you tried to open it. Apparently we weren't the only room with this problem because every time the neighbors in the rooms on both sides of us opened theirs, you heard the worst "thud boom boom boom" you can imagine. It was like trying to pick up the door and move it rather than sliding it open with ease. Also, for this to be a smoke-free resort, can someone please explain to me why there are ashtrays on the balconies?

One thing to keep in mind is that if you're staying - pack light and don't expect a lot of storage space in the oceanfront rooms - there wasn't even a closet in the room we had. Instead, you could tell where the closet used to be but they had "upgraded" the closet to a half rack/half refrigerator!

As for the food, well it's very average! If you go to breakfast buffet, be sure to go early because the longer you wait, the harder the pancakes & eggs will be.

The elevator and parking situation is also a joke. Small parking deck located across busy street 1/2 block from hotel, and additional outdoor surface parking at various locations within the same block. So, if you have little ones, be prepared to grab their hands and safely guide them across 4 lanes of high traffic after parking. (And if you happen to have your car side-swiped in the deck overnight, don't expect any empathy from the hotel staff. We had to call the police ourselves, because they were too busy with check-out process to help. And of course there are no cameras to record anything in the deck.) The elevators are very slow, and when you're prepared to check-out, if it within an hour of everyone else checking out, be prepared to wait at least 20 minutes to a half hour just to get on an elevator!

I will say that the resort does have a nice pool area and multiple hot tubs for the adults to use. However, there is not a truly indoor pool. What they tout to be an indoor pool, is actually located underneath one of the buildings and is completely open to the outside on one side. It's very windy & cold under there at times. Also, be prepared to have rude children running around unsupervised because their parents are too busy drinking at the bar to watch them! As for the slide, well be warned it's only open from 11am until 7pm!

So, stay at your own risk and be prepared for an average experience at best!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGuide05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Travelguide05,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Ocean Reef Resort. Your comments are very important to us, as we are continuously trying to improve our overall guest experience. While it's understood that not every stay on property is perfect, our team certainly tries its best to provide the best possible vacation to each guest. With that being said, I'd like to personally apologize if you felt the staff was rude, or if your stay was less than desirable. These are areas that will be addressed and improved.

Our resort is not entirely smoke free. Each and every room and the pool-deck is absolutely smoke-free, but urns are provided on the balcony so that people may smoke in the privacy of their balcony, and have a place to ash. Also, there is a designated smoking area outside of the lounge area.

The Cafe Du Port breakfast is open from 7am-10:30am, and no matter what time you choose to dine in, there will be a variety of freshly prepared food on the buffet to choose from.

The guest parking is located directly across the 2-lane street, covering an entire 3 block radius, with crosswalks every half block. We offer uncovered parking, as well as a 3 level garage. Although we do not have camera's in this area, we do have 24 hour security staff that continuously patrols. In regards to your vehicle being side-swiped, one of the supervisors at the front desk did call the authorities for a report to be written for the incident.

The indoor pool is actually designed to be an uncovered area during the 70's, 80's and 90's, but as soon as the weather turns for the worse during the winter months, weatherproof panels are inserted to ensure an extra warm facility for swimmers.

I hope some of the questions you had about the facilities were answered, as your valued feedback will only make us a better resort.

We want you to know that your stay is not at all our standard, as proven by the thousands of fantastic reviews from happy guests on TripAdvisor. Please give the resort another chance, so that we may prove to you why everyone should believe the hype!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was my first time visiting Myrtle Beach. I did not know what to expect. Overall this is a great choice of a place to stay. Friendly staff and great access to the beach. Stayed on the 11th floor and it was quiet.

Room Tip: Corner suites were sunny.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyboop7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Bettyboop7777,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been coming to Ocean Reef for 4 years. Great value. Pool is awesome, great kids pool with waterslide. Caution, my 7 year old got a blackeye from the waterslide, it's really fast for kids that are small. Rooms are clean. Food is average. Location is great, far enough away from the Grand Strand but nice driving distance from BareFoot Landing & Broadway At the Beach. Beach is beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sarah Y,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great place to stay. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Breakfast at Cafe De Port is amazing. Nice clean rooms. Great access to beach. Pool was always over crowded but is understandable. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great time. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donalde450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Donalde450,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback and recommendation, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff very friendly, especially Selena at the front desk. Resort was a bit far from the attractions if that's what you are looking for to walk to. Rooms clean. Kids activities planned. Free movie rental unlimited.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MISTY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Mistylo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback and recommendation, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews