We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #19 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were there with our daughter, son-in-law and 3 year old grandson. We had a fabulous time. The kids' pool area was a super hit! The beach area is to die for. Restaurants close by. Tanger outlet shopping a huge savings. Great golf.

Room Tip: We've always stayed in a 2 bedroom in the north tower. 2 ocean view balconies, 1 king bed, 2 que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madame203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Madame203,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    969
    313
    132
    95
See reviews for
1,550
696
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Ocean Reef (June 2014) for an extended weekend and the best I can say, is don't believe all the hype about the quality of this hotel!. The staff was rude and less than helpful at check-in and departure.

While the rooms were moderately clean, and did not have bugs, they are old, tiny and there's lots of rust seeping thru doorways and in the bathroom. The sliding glass door didn't "slide" at all and it made horrible noises when you tried to open it. Apparently we weren't the only room with this problem because every time the neighbors in the rooms on both sides of us opened theirs, you heard the worst "thud boom boom boom" you can imagine. It was like trying to pick up the door and move it rather than sliding it open with ease. Also, for this to be a smoke-free resort, can someone please explain to me why there are ashtrays on the balconies?

One thing to keep in mind is that if you're staying - pack light and don't expect a lot of storage space in the oceanfront rooms - there wasn't even a closet in the room we had. Instead, you could tell where the closet used to be but they had "upgraded" the closet to a half rack/half refrigerator!

As for the food, well it's very average! If you go to breakfast buffet, be sure to go early because the longer you wait, the harder the pancakes & eggs will be.

The elevator and parking situation is also a joke. Small parking deck located across busy street 1/2 block from hotel, and additional outdoor surface parking at various locations within the same block. So, if you have little ones, be prepared to grab their hands and safely guide them across 4 lanes of high traffic after parking. (And if you happen to have your car side-swiped in the deck overnight, don't expect any empathy from the hotel staff. We had to call the police ourselves, because they were too busy with check-out process to help. And of course there are no cameras to record anything in the deck.) The elevators are very slow, and when you're prepared to check-out, if it within an hour of everyone else checking out, be prepared to wait at least 20 minutes to a half hour just to get on an elevator!

I will say that the resort does have a nice pool area and multiple hot tubs for the adults to use. However, there is not a truly indoor pool. What they tout to be an indoor pool, is actually located underneath one of the buildings and is completely open to the outside on one side. It's very windy & cold under there at times. Also, be prepared to have rude children running around unsupervised because their parents are too busy drinking at the bar to watch them! As for the slide, well be warned it's only open from 11am until 7pm!

So, stay at your own risk and be prepared for an average experience at best!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGuide05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Travelguide05,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Ocean Reef Resort. Your comments are very important to us, as we are continuously trying to improve our overall guest experience. While it's understood that not every stay on property is perfect, our team certainly tries its best to provide the best possible vacation to each guest. With that being said, I'd like to personally apologize if you felt the staff was rude, or if your stay was less than desirable. These are areas that will be addressed and improved.

Our resort is not entirely smoke free. Each and every room and the pool-deck is absolutely smoke-free, but urns are provided on the balcony so that people may smoke in the privacy of their balcony, and have a place to ash. Also, there is a designated smoking area outside of the lounge area.

The Cafe Du Port breakfast is open from 7am-10:30am, and no matter what time you choose to dine in, there will be a variety of freshly prepared food on the buffet to choose from.

The guest parking is located directly across the 2-lane street, covering an entire 3 block radius, with crosswalks every half block. We offer uncovered parking, as well as a 3 level garage. Although we do not have camera's in this area, we do have 24 hour security staff that continuously patrols. In regards to your vehicle being side-swiped, one of the supervisors at the front desk did call the authorities for a report to be written for the incident.

The indoor pool is actually designed to be an uncovered area during the 70's, 80's and 90's, but as soon as the weather turns for the worse during the winter months, weatherproof panels are inserted to ensure an extra warm facility for swimmers.

I hope some of the questions you had about the facilities were answered, as your valued feedback will only make us a better resort.

We want you to know that your stay is not at all our standard, as proven by the thousands of fantastic reviews from happy guests on TripAdvisor. Please give the resort another chance, so that we may prove to you why everyone should believe the hype!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midway, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was my first time visiting Myrtle Beach. I did not know what to expect. Overall this is a great choice of a place to stay. Friendly staff and great access to the beach. Stayed on the 11th floor and it was quiet.

Room Tip: Corner suites were sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboop7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Bettyboop7777,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been coming to Ocean Reef for 4 years. Great value. Pool is awesome, great kids pool with waterslide. Caution, my 7 year old got a blackeye from the waterslide, it's really fast for kids that are small. Rooms are clean. Food is average. Location is great, far enough away from the Grand Strand but nice driving distance from BareFoot Landing & Broadway At the Beach. Beach is beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sarah Y,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great place to stay. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Breakfast at Cafe De Port is amazing. Nice clean rooms. Great access to beach. Pool was always over crowded but is understandable. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great time. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donalde450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Donalde450,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback and recommendation, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff very friendly, especially Selena at the front desk. Resort was a bit far from the attractions if that's what you are looking for to walk to. Rooms clean. Kids activities planned. Free movie rental unlimited.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mistylo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback and recommendation, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightdale
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay here it is June so it was very busy so the elevators took a while but I guess that is to be expected in June. The lady at the outside bar was not very pleasant maybe she was having a bad day. We felt very safe here which I liked because it was only myself with my three kids. The beds very very clean and comfortable. I would come back agin just maybe not the same time of year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurley1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Hurley1979,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and more importantly, for staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. We truly appreciate the great feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,416 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,795 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing