We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Children”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Forest, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect for Children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a perfect place to take children. There is a lot for them to do and Ocean Reef has everything you need so you really don't even have to leave. We love the atmosphere and the breakfast buffet. It is close to Broadway at the Beach and tons of restaurants and shops. We stayed the 3rd week of June and the beach was not crowded compared to other places we've stayed. This was our 2nd time staying in the ocean front efficiency room. We plan to go back in the fall for a mini vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear 123michelle,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the fall for your mini-vacation!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    957
    309
    129
    95
See reviews for
1,525
687
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have stayed at the Ocean Reef several times dating back to 1999 when it was the Martinique. Prior to this stay in June 2014 the last stay was fall 2008. For reference the last 3 stays including this one were on floor 17
The place is dated, dirty and now an extreme disappointment as to it has went down hill. Hot water is non existant. The room had ants, the kids play with elevators so they stop at every floor and as an extra bonus pulled the fire alarm one morning and shut down the elevators for a full hour and a half. I did convey our issues to Stephen the Assist Manager the last day of our stay to basically deaf ears. So deaf he forgot our 5AM wake-up call for the start of our long drive home. All these great features for $1200.00 for 5 nights for 2 people.
Stravro's and now LuLu in the pool bar are great. The way they remodeled the bar is awful. They even have wild birds flying around in it with people eating. One landed on the bar.Yum
We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Richard S,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. First please let me apologize about the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. Our continuous upgrades and additions have had long time guests ( such as yourself from the Martinique era) coming to us letting us know their pleasure in the updates. I would also personally stand by the cleanliness of our facility as our Director of Housekeeping and his entire staff takes pride in keeping us ahead of the game. I am equally sorry to hear you did not enjoy the newly renovated Banana Boat Lounge. To be honest, this has become one of our most popular features and we are proud of the way it turned out. You are correct, Stavros and Lulu are truly excellent additions to our staff! We do express our apologies for any inconvenience and hope to see one day in the future.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nice clean resort. The staff was nice and friendly. Will be back again. The elevators need some work. It was hard to leave because of all the people coming and going. Parking was really bad, it took forever to find a parking spot. All in all had a wonderful and relaxed time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbjohnson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear rbjohnson1981,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful feedback and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We go to Myrtle Beach every year and Ocean Reef is always a great choice. The resort has so much to offer including volleyball, large lawn to play games with shade, a patio with ping pong, chess, checkers and shuffleboard, not to mention the pool area which is perfect for kids of all ages. The rooms are nice and the staff is always friendly. Wonderful vacation place!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Beth L,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful feedback and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We planned a last minute trip to the beach and found the ocean reef resort had great prices so we jumped on the deal! It was right on the beach and we had a view of the beach from our balcony. Best vacation ever!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britiany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Brittany L,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort for your last minute Myrtle Beach trip! We appreciate the wonderful feedback and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our families first trip to Myrtle Beach in over 25 years. Our first reservations was at their sister hotel and because of a miscommunication on their behalf they moved our reservations over to Ocean Reef. What we thought was an improvement on room turned out to be a room that didn't have the view that we booked and the room is in desperate need of some updating.

We stayed in room 717 which was a 3 brdm. Overall the room was clean and bug free, and you could tell steps had been taken to update some of the space. The kitchen had new cabinets, bathrooms had newer sinks however the living room furniture was awful. The space is very tight which made it very uncomfortable for 9 people to sit and enjoy a movie together. The couch was very worn and uncomfortable to sit on. The cushions were flat and truth be told we covered it with a blanket our whole trip because it was an eye sore. The lighting fixtures throughout were rusted and old. The bedrooms do not have queen beds they are doubles and the mattresses are hard to sleep on. They don't offer much support and you felt like you were being poked by the springs. Also the air vents had a black soot of some kind built up in the inside. Either it was mold or dirt build up. We discovered this because the secondary rooms get very cold and my husband had to cover the vent with a towel for us to sleep and not freeze and keep the rest of the condo comfortable. The washer and dryer served its purpose but was old. If you need wifi during your stay this is NOT the hotel for you. Let me repeat....IF wifi is a must this is NOT the hotel for you. Their wifi was AWFUL!!! Several guest we spoke with had this problem but yet the front desk seemed like it was news to them and told us to call the 800 number for technical support. The 800 number is a recording where you could leave a message and is useless. They do not have a big enough server to support the number of guests not unless you want to get online in the middle of the night.

Now the good. The outside grounds of this resort were beautiful and well maintained. The pool area is wonderful. Big pool, lazy river, and hot tubs were excellent. We watched them cleaning it and the area every morning. They always have something going on around the pool. Live music and the bar staff is great. Little pricey on the mixed drinks but to be expected. Make sure you have your ID ready because they will ID. I guess at 35 I can appreciate this. The kids club was great and the kids club staff was great with my daughter! Make sure you take advantage of this if you have little ones. There is a small cost with some of the crafts ranging from $2-$8 which they will charge to your room. I was more than happy to pay these because my daughter really enjoyed the activities and the staff. They do have a nice kiddie pool area with a slide however the slide was only open till 7pm. Also if you have a chance eat at their breakfast bar. The restaurant staff were wonderful and Walter is always happy to make you an omelet or made to order eggs.

Overall the Ocean Reef was good place to vacation and we enjoyed our stay. I hope they take our comments about the room and wifi and make some changes. If the price was right I would stay here again in hopes that they make some much needed changes to the room.

Room Tip: Be aware if booking an angled view your view of the ocean can be very limited with some of these roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beachbound320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Beachbound320,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Ocean Reef Resort. Your feedback in regards to the state of the room and Wi-Fi is important to us, as we are continuously looking for ways in which we can improve our guest experience. Our WiFi system has actually been recently upgraded to service the high demand for connectivity, as just about every room now connects several devices. The technical support team is here to service our guests needs, and I can personally vouch for their value. Walter and the restaurant staff are certainly great representatives of outstanding customer service, and they will be thrilled to hear the praise of their efforts. We hope to see you back so that our team can show you that we are willing to listen to every concern brought to our attention. See you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
241 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,594 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been to Myrtle Beach over 30 times in 27 years. I have stayed at a number of properties and I am VERY familiar with the area and hotels in general.

My family and I were traveling down the east coast and decided to take a brief trip through Myrtle Beach (in addition to a formal vacation planned later during the summer) and needed a place to stay for 3 nights. We were trying to find a place that met our preferences regarding our budget, location and amenities. The Ocean Reef came through.

Seeing that this stay came up on us unexpected, we were short on time and selection trying to find a hotel. I read other reviews on tripadvisor expecting this place to be okay, but it turned out better than I expected!

The pros:

-Great location in a safe and respectable part of town.
-Very nice pools with a great kiddie area!
-Excellent views.
-Respectable price for this time of year.

The cons:

-Overcrowded elevators. Long waits.
-Our room had shower/plumbing issues. More water came out of the faucet even with the shower head on. It also drained very slow. Awkward to take a shower in a tub full of water.
-Small, basic rooms unless you are willing to spend an obscene amount of money.
-Long walk to park.

For us, the cons of this hotel are common in Myrtle Beach hotels in general and the pro's outweighed them. When we come back to MB we will definitely consider staying at the Ocean Reef again.

I have included several pictures of both our room and public areas. If you have any questions I would be happy to answer them for you.

If you found this review helpful, please let me know by clicking the button below! I would greatly appreciate it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bluecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Bluecookies,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your spur of the moment Myrtle Beach visit! It makes for a proud staff to hear that we exceeded your expectations, especially with the facilities, views and location. I think we found your review JUST as helpful as other travelers will. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing