We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,002)
Filter reviews
4,002 results
Traveller rating
1,997
1,212
450
189
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,997
1,212
450
189
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe du port lazy river across the street bedroom condo breakfast buffet pool area off season north tower family vacation trip to myrtle beach great resort a great vacation washer dryer beach access full kitchen beach front water park
Filter
Updating list...
2,549 - 2,554 of 4,002 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just returned from a 4 day weekend at Ocean Reef. Overall, we had a great time. Many family friendly amenities. We felt there was something for everyone. GREAT pools (esp. for kids), free DVDs for guests, one block from Starbucks, spacious condos (we had the 3 bedroom). The kitchens and bathrooms seemed to have recent upgrades. The rest of the room was fine but not amazing. It felt clean (just not new).

Many nice amenities and a little away from the crowded areas but still very convenient to everything you need. I would recommend the Ocean Reef to others (esp. groups/families) looking for more than just a hotel room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear AMatey,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach family vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful comments and recommendation, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family have stayed here for the past 3 summers. We have not experienced all aspects of the facility, but the children love to come just stay at the hotel and swim, play, etc. There are so many things to do inside, we don't need to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Denise B,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful comments and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a perfect place to take children. There is a lot for them to do and Ocean Reef has everything you need so you really don't even have to leave. We love the atmosphere and the breakfast buffet. It is close to Broadway at the Beach and tons of restaurants and shops. We stayed the 3rd week of June and the beach was not crowded compared to other places we've stayed. This was our 2nd time staying in the ocean front efficiency room. We plan to go back in the fall for a mini vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear 123michelle,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the fall for your mini-vacation!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have stayed at the Ocean Reef several times dating back to 1999 when it was the Martinique. Prior to this stay in June 2014 the last stay was fall 2008. For reference the last 3 stays including this one were on floor 17
The place is dated, dirty and now an extreme disappointment as to it has went down hill. Hot water is non existant. The room had ants, the kids play with elevators so they stop at every floor and as an extra bonus pulled the fire alarm one morning and shut down the elevators for a full hour and a half. I did convey our issues to Stephen the Assist Manager the last day of our stay to basically deaf ears. So deaf he forgot our 5AM wake-up call for the start of our long drive home. All these great features for $1200.00 for 5 nights for 2 people.
Stravro's and now LuLu in the pool bar are great. The way they remodeled the bar is awful. They even have wild birds flying around in it with people eating. One landed on the bar.Yum
We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Richard S,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. First please let me apologize about the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. Our continuous upgrades and additions have had long time guests ( such as yourself from the Martinique era) coming to us letting us know their pleasure in the updates. I would also personally stand by the cleanliness of our facility as our Director of Housekeeping and his entire staff takes pride in keeping us ahead of the game. I am equally sorry to hear you did not enjoy the newly renovated Banana Boat Lounge. To be honest, this has become one of our most popular features and we are proud of the way it turned out. You are correct, Stavros and Lulu are truly excellent additions to our staff! We do express our apologies for any inconvenience and hope to see one day in the future.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nice clean resort. The staff was nice and friendly. Will be back again. The elevators need some work. It was hard to leave because of all the people coming and going. Parking was really bad, it took forever to find a parking spot. All in all had a wonderful and relaxed time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbjohnson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear rbjohnson1981,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful feedback and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews