We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently renovated”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #17 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean and the layout is fine. There are both indoor and outdoor pool areas her, along with direct access to the beach. The beach is fairly crowded with large hotels on both sides. Staff were friendly and there are plenty around to help when needed. Our room did not have a shower curtain but one was brought and installed promptly when we called the front desk. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It is a small buffet, but good breakfast food. There are plenty of other hotels to try in this area. We would stay again, but have other ideas for our next visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Jeff W,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the generous feedback, and our team looks forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,777 - 1,783 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just returned from a 4 day weekend at Ocean Reef. Overall, we had a great time. Many family friendly amenities. We felt there was something for everyone. GREAT pools (esp. for kids), free DVDs for guests, one block from Starbucks, spacious condos (we had the 3 bedroom). The kitchens and bathrooms seemed to have recent upgrades. The rest of the room was fine but not amazing. It felt clean (just not new).

Many nice amenities and a little away from the crowded areas but still very convenient to everything you need. I would recommend the Ocean Reef to others (esp. groups/families) looking for more than just a hotel room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear AMatey,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach family vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful comments and recommendation, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family have stayed here for the past 3 summers. We have not experienced all aspects of the facility, but the children love to come just stay at the hotel and swim, play, etc. There are so many things to do inside, we don't need to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Denise B,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful comments and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a perfect place to take children. There is a lot for them to do and Ocean Reef has everything you need so you really don't even have to leave. We love the atmosphere and the breakfast buffet. It is close to Broadway at the Beach and tons of restaurants and shops. We stayed the 3rd week of June and the beach was not crowded compared to other places we've stayed. This was our 2nd time staying in the ocean front efficiency room. We plan to go back in the fall for a mini vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear 123michelle,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful feedback, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the fall for your mini-vacation!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have stayed at the Ocean Reef several times dating back to 1999 when it was the Martinique. Prior to this stay in June 2014 the last stay was fall 2008. For reference the last 3 stays including this one were on floor 17
The place is dated, dirty and now an extreme disappointment as to it has went down hill. Hot water is non existant. The room had ants, the kids play with elevators so they stop at every floor and as an extra bonus pulled the fire alarm one morning and shut down the elevators for a full hour and a half. I did convey our issues to Stephen the Assist Manager the last day of our stay to basically deaf ears. So deaf he forgot our 5AM wake-up call for the start of our long drive home. All these great features for $1200.00 for 5 nights for 2 people.
Stravro's and now LuLu in the pool bar are great. The way they remodeled the bar is awful. They even have wild birds flying around in it with people eating. One landed on the bar.Yum
We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Richard S,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. First please let me apologize about the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. Our continuous upgrades and additions have had long time guests ( such as yourself from the Martinique era) coming to us letting us know their pleasure in the updates. I would also personally stand by the cleanliness of our facility as our Director of Housekeeping and his entire staff takes pride in keeping us ahead of the game. I am equally sorry to hear you did not enjoy the newly renovated Banana Boat Lounge. To be honest, this has become one of our most popular features and we are proud of the way it turned out. You are correct, Stavros and Lulu are truly excellent additions to our staff! We do express our apologies for any inconvenience and hope to see one day in the future.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nice clean resort. The staff was nice and friendly. Will be back again. The elevators need some work. It was hard to leave because of all the people coming and going. Parking was really bad, it took forever to find a parking spot. All in all had a wonderful and relaxed time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbjohnson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear rbjohnson1981,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful feedback and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We go to Myrtle Beach every year and Ocean Reef is always a great choice. The resort has so much to offer including volleyball, large lawn to play games with shade, a patio with ping pong, chess, checkers and shuffleboard, not to mention the pool area which is perfect for kids of all ages. The rooms are nice and the staff is always friendly. Wonderful vacation place!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Beth L,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination! We appreciate the wonderful feedback and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,941 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,064 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £52 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing