We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have vacationed at Ocean Reef now for several summers and even in February twice. The water park under the hotel with the hot tubs and lazy river among other things make going to Ocean Reef great even in the winter.
The breakfast Buffett is always a favorite and will hold you until an early dinner.
The staff has always been friendly and helpful as well.
We will definitely return again. How many times have we been? I think I've lost count!! Thanks Ocean Reef. You'll be seeing us again!

Room Tip: We love the ocean front rooms. We spend time looking out over the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Caroline G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and more importantly, for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination. Our team truly appreciates the wonderful comments and 5-star rating, and look forward to seeing you again the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,540
    945
    305
    126
    94
See reviews for
1,496
683
64
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boardman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Check-in was terrible (waited more than two hours for our room). Ended up on the 12th floor, which gave us an excellent view. beds were very comfortable. room was outdated but clean. parking leaves something to be desired. Overall our stay was very nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor. View was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Robert W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! I am sorry to hear about check in, but I am glad it did not affect your experience with us. Feedback from valued customers like you is something we take seriously as we are continuously looking at ways to improve. The check in process will definitely be looked into so we can make sure everyone gets in as efficiently as possible!
The oceanfront views from higher floors are always fantastic!
Our team truly appreciates the wonderful comments and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Enjoyed our visit it was great we loved the pool and really liked the free movie rental it kept the kids busy at night so thanks for that. We had so much fun that we decided to stay an extra day and plan a return trip before school starts back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dewitt803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Dewitt803,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort for your Myrtle Beach summer vacation! Comments from valued guests like you is one of our most useful forms of feedback as we are always striving to improve our standard. Our team appreciates the 5-star rating and truly looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Reef last week for 5 days (Myself, wife and 14 month old). Our room was ready when we checked in around 2pm which was a plus.

ROOMS
We stayed in an Oceanfront room with two queen beds. When we walked in the room the cigarette smell was absolutely awful. There was black stuff all over the ceilings. You could definitely tell that the room had some wear and tear and hadn't been updated in some time. The beds were comfortable and the view was great. In my opinion, the price of the room is definitely based on the view, not the appearance. We called housekeeping that night about the smell and a guy came in and sprayed some air freshener and that was it. Smell was still there. Thank goodness for our housekeeper, Betty, the next morning. She agreed that the cigarette smell was awful and she gave our room a thorough cleaning. The carpet was shampooed and the ceiling was wiped down. The smoke smell was finally gone. Overall, the room wasn't the best we have stayed in, but we realized that going in based on the peak season and the lower price compared to other places.

RESORT
The resort has nice outdoor amenities for families. The pool was a nice size and there seemed to be plenty of room even at the busiest times. You did have to get down there early to get a chair at the pool or you had to wait until 3-4pm. The lazy river was typically a mad house. The majority of kids were not using tubes and were continually jumping in and out. I was hopeful that the staff would have been more present in the pool area that enforce some of the pool rules but they weren't. A lot of people smoking in the pool area as well and it was a "no smoking area." The kiddie areas were where we spent most of our time. It was a good amount of space and was never overly crowded. We were happy with the kiddie areas.

FOOD
We ate breakfast there one morning and it was your typical breakfast buffet. I don't eat omelets but they did have an omelet station. The staff were very polite at breakfast and made us feel very welcome. We had lunch twice from the pool bar and it was quick and good on both occasions.

BEACH
The beach area is public beach but it was very nice. There was plenty of room to spread out. It would be nice if the resort invested in umbrellas and chairs because it was rather expensive to rent from the lifeguard.

OVERALL
This was our first vacation with our 14 month old so we weren't sure what to expect. He did very well all week which was good. I would recommend Ocean Reef Resort to people with small children who aren't caught up in the flash and look of a resort. If you want to go to the beach and hang out by the pool and that is all you care about, this is your place. I don't think we will stay there again but that is mostly because we weren't big fans of Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gtownfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear gtownfamilyman,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and more importantly, for choosing to stay at the Ocean Reef Resort. Please know that your feedback is one of our greatest tools in measuring the experiences of our guests. Our staff takes great pride in serving our guests,and Betty is a shining example of that. She will be thrilled to hear she made a positive impact on your stay. While we certainly apologize that your stay was less than perfect, we would love the chance to prove that your experience was not the standard we strive to meet. If you ever make it back to Myrtle Beach, we look forward to changing your 3-star rating to a 5-star.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanfield, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Everyone was exceptionally nice! Clean rooms, great service, great location and just all around wonderful experience! Very HAPPY! We meet family from California and we came from North Carolina. It was nice to have the big rooms and we could visit with each other and not be too crowded. Couldn't have asked for a better place!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the rooms. Just depends on what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Lori F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and more importantly, for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your Myrtle Beach vacation destination. We truly appreciate the wonderful comments and 5-star rating, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay. The angled one bedroom was very spacious and provided us enough room for a family of 6. It was very nice having the washer and dryer in our room since we have 3 kids under 6! Our 9 and 5 year olds really enjoyed the waterslide and the 1 and 3 year olds enjoyed the kiddie pool. I could keep my eye on all children in once place! The elevators are not slow but there are not enough to handle the volume of people. Parking was a problem since the parking deck/lot is across the street which is a real hassle with small children. Overall we had a great time and it was a great comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustbjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mustbjen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Ocean Reef Resort. We're thrilled to hear the entire family enjoyed the spacious condo and all the water amenities. Your feedback concerning the parking is important to us and will certainly be looked at. Our team appreciates your comments, and look forward to having you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ball Ground, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Several good but mostly negative coments. I was with a group of people and they had a really nice check in person at the front desk. Her name was Alexis. My check-in person was not helpful nor friendly. I believe her name was Deanna. Check-in time was at 3:00. It was after 5:30 before my room was ready and was missing the comforter off the bed. Hotel online photos and information are misleading. Hotel is very outdated and outdoor water areas are small. Spoke to the Manager and he said he would take a look at my information and I never heard another word from him. Breakfast buffet is convenient and not bad price at $9.95. The food at the Oasis Bar and Grill was typical bar food but once again convenient to not have to leave for lunch. Elevators are extremely slow. I think they chould consider maintenance. When it was time to check out there were no luggage carts to be found. A helpful lady showed me to an area to see if there were any carts there (there weren't), but there were bikes, ping pong tables, shuffleboard, large chess game that I didn't even know existed. It would have been nice to know that when I was there for 5 days! Overall, I probably would not return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Lori M,

Thank you for your recent review for the Ocean Reef Resort. First of all, I'd like to point out how much we value your comments and feedback because it serves as a great way to evaluate our guests experience and areas that need improvement.

The food service on property is convenient and delicious, and we're glad that area of our resort met your needs. I will be glad to address the customer service you received at check-in, however, Deanna is one of our top agents and this will be my first complaint on her attitude in the many months she's been employed at this property.

In terms of our facilities, our property spans an entire city block, much of which is covered with indoor/outdoor pools, lazy rivers, children pools and an enormous water slide. The building itself is continuously being updated and renovated to stay on top of the competition. Just recently, the Banana Boat Bar & Lounge was completely redone with a brand new granite bar and poolside walk-up window that makes ordering quick and easy. Additionally, all of the condos on property also received fresh granite counters in the kitchens and bathrooms, as well as brand new cabinetry.

While we strive to create excellent experiences for our guests, we sincerely apologize if your stay was less than perfect. Judging from the hundreds of superb guest reviews on TripAdvisor, I will say that our property rating is a true reflection of our high quality service and facilities. We truly hope you give the Ocean Reef Resort another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
6.3 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#10 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing