We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part 2: My stay at MBR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Resort
Ranked #69 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I left a negative review in early August dued to the fact 4 days before my family and I were to arrive, I got a phone call from MBR saying we were bumped from the room we chose and booked 1 month in advance. Well we were told they upgrade us and for the most part, it was. We went from the 3rd floor in bldg A to ocean front on the 21st floor in the renaissance bldg. Pros: views, balcony in master bed, bedrooms were decent, condo was clean. Cons: condo had light switches in both bedroom but didn't turn on any light so we had to feel for lamp in dark, toilet in master bed sometimes was running, door in living rm going to balcony wouldn't stay closed and open on its own. Outside condo, pools and hot tub was great! Beach was great! ( If u show up late in morning, it will be crowded, common sense) Quarter deck was great bartenders were awesome! Nightly fireworks were nice but the noise kept on till 2am! Arcade sucked and pieces to the ice hockey table was missing so we couldn't play and we went to the one on the RV resort next door. Parking spots aren't difficult to find but if you leave the resort for activities and come back around check-in time, be prepared! Laundry on site was really convenient for our long stay. Elevators were fine and security was attentive when I reported the guest above us throwing stuff off balcony. Location was good and we stayed 8/12/13-8/24/13 in rm 2102 which was a 2 bedroom. If we do vacation in Myrtle Beach, there is a 50/50 chance we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Renaissance ocean front the higher the better 15 floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oteliaf0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilivewhereuvac, Director of Sales at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to come back and leave a second review; one that could actually be based on your stay as the previous one was prior to staying at Myrtle Beach Resort.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade, which was actually from a Park View in Five Seasons, which is 200 yards from the ocean, to an Oceanfront condo in the Renaissance Tower. This was a 3 level upgrade with no additional fee as the unit change was necessary due to the originally condo leaving our program. We do appreciate your understanding of this matter as it was completely out of our hands.
It sounds as if you enjoyed the view, which is completely unblocked from any floor 6th or higher n the Tower. The entertainment at The Quarterdeck is great and one of the best spots to take in a warm breezy afternoon.
We do hope that you will visit with us again in the future and will be happy to assist you with your condo selection. Simply call us directly when you are ready and be sure to remind us that you are a repeat guest so that we can keep track of your preferences and rental history.
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have stayed here many times over the past 22 years. I love the atmosphere and that it is in the quiet, not overcrowded area of Myrtle Beach. It is very family friendly. I have stayed there the past 3 years, and this is the first year in that time that there has been entertainment again at the Quarterdeck which was nice. BUT the 2nd night we were there the fire alarm went off at 4:00amin the B building , no security guard or resort employee was ever seen. No fire trucks, personnel, or explanation. I think that is very wrong. Also, there was a maintenance man who would take out the bags of trash from the large garbage cans and then spray the big can out with water and dump it in the drain where the showers are. Ewwwww. People walk either barefoot or in flip flops and that was very gross. He did it twice. Also, the room was lackluster. I say this because it was a nice room, but I think for the money paid, the rooms should be updated more. The ceiling in my shower was falling down and the dirt in the room was quite literally swept under the rugs. I love it there, but I really think some updates need to be done and employees should be held to higher standards if I am going to keep coming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilivewhereuvac, Director of Sales at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest,
First let me thank you for staying with us as well as for taking the time to leave a review. Guest feedback is our single most valuable resource and is truly appreciated.
We are grateful that you enjoy the lovely serenity that being in a self contained resort such as ours can offer, with our 33 acres of landscaped privacy that comprises Myrtle Beach Resort.
I do however apologize for the less than pleasant issues that you encountered and am terribly sorry that happened. I have relayed your feedback to the appropriate departments in an effort to assure they do not happen again. I would also love to speak with you directly to assist you in condo selection on your next stay so that you will have input into your accommodations, also in an effort to speak with the owner about necessary updates.
I can be reached at 800-845-0629 ext 123 and hope to hear from you soon.
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After checking into an absolutely disgusting hotel which calls themselves a resort & getting our money back we were lucky enough to find Myrtle Beach Resort and a beautiful room overlooking the ocean. The rooms were clean, accomodations comfortable and the resort everything we could ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilivewhereuvac, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so thankful for the time you took to let us as well as our future guests know about your great experience here at Myrtle Beach Resort. We are however, very sorry that you came to us after having a bad experience to begin with at another location. It is our most sincere hope that next trip you will call us directly and can enjoy your vacation from start to finish.
Most of all I would like to thank you, on behalf of the staff and management of Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations for taking the time to let the public know about us. We hope to have started a new tradition and gained a new friend as well as a guest. Hope to see you again very soon!
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We just stayed here in August in the B building oceanfront. The check-in was very quick and easy, security at the gate was pleasant. Driving into the property landscaping was very nice. The room we booked looked just like the pictures on the website. We were pleased with it and our view of the pond, pool and ocean. We all loved the pools and they were very clean. We checked out the gift shop and snack shop, wasn't much to offer. We never checked out the QuarterDeck but could hear the music from our balcony from the people who set up there at night. Only small complaint is noise at night from the beach where they had fireworks going off every night. The first night we were tired and the fireworks went on for hours. The next night was not as loud and we actually enjoyed watching them for awhile from the balcony. The indoor pool was great when it rained that week. Would recommend to families as a nice beach resort.

Room Tip: Look at the individual pictures of every room on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilivewhereuvac, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you Suzy S, for such an honest and candid review of our resort and your experience. We truly appreciate hearing form our guests, as this is our best way to learn and grow.
I am sorry to hear that you were kept up from the noise of the fireworks your first night.We do enforce a noise ordinance on the resort, but the beach itself is sometimes prone to passersby who are not as considerate. I am however, glad to hear that you enjoyed them the next night.
We are glad that you enjoyed the B Building pool during the rainy days, it is always a great amenity.
Our landscaping is unique to the area, where so much concrete is often prevalent and am glad to see that it is indeed appreciated.
We hope to hear from you again soon and to have your family as repeat guests for many years to come.
Sincerely,
Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations Staff and Management
Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our family was on a tight budget this year but really needed to get away for a few days. I've stayed at a few other resorts in the past and had mixed results - but our stay at this resort was just what we needed. We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony and were close enough to hear the ocean at night. We ended up having really good weather as well.

I have to say the one thing that stood out to me was the cleanliness of the property. With as many people as are there things get cluttered and dirty during the day - but overnight it all disappears. Even the stairwells got mopped every night we were there leaving them smelling fresh the next day!

The one thing we didn't enjoy - and this is no fault of the management - is that the bedrooms in Building B (we were in B414) have windows facing the inner hallway and no matter how thorough the owners are in putting up blinds and shades there is still a lot of light in the rooms at night, and for someone who likes a very dark room that did make it a little hard to sleep. Also, we are a late night family who happened to be right underneath a bunch of early risers. So it was unfortunate that at promptly 6 a.m. every morning we were awakened to a lot of noise above us. Again, no fault of the management, it's just the nature of condos/hotels.

Overall we were extremely pleased with the facility, the view, the room, and the price - and we will definitely be looking at this location again - probably the same room!

Room Tip: Make sure you look at the room photos as some have updated features (kitchens, TV's, etc.) and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micval33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilivewhereuvac, Director of Sales at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your rave review! We all work so very hard during the summer months and reviews such as yours really make it all seem worth it! I cannot begin to even express how much we appreciate feedback such as yours.
I am sorry that you had such opposites above you. I too am a night owl, especially when on vacation and love nothing more than to seep in. I can completely relate and hope that next time perhaps we can place you on a top floor to minimize the chances of that happening to your family.
Simply call us directly at 800-8456-0629 and we will be happy to help.
Sincerely,
Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This resort was built in the mid 80's if that will tell you anything. We stayed in the garden villa by the tennis courts; it was 0.3 miles from the beach so a lot of tugging & carrying unless you do what we did which was drive & park by the towers. The room was okay but had old electronics in it. Bed was fine to sleep on even the sleeper sofa. Which the shower head was newer because it was kinda hard to shower with the one in there. Rooms are sweep over quickly, found an old Hershey's bar under rug, crumb under sleep sofa and lots of dust around TV stand. Because careful of the Barney Fife's on the golf carts because they have the power of authority to give out tickets AND arrest you. Karaoke was great at Quarterdeck especially the husband & wife team. Beach was nice as well. people start taking their stuff out there about 8 to start setting up but there was still room around 11.

Room Tip: If at all possible, avoid 501 because it can be a parking lot for several hours. We went via 701 eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBPridgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilivewhereuvac, Director of Sales at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am uncertain as to who you booked your vacation through as I was unable to find your name (if it is Pridgen) in our system, so it is possible that you booked through and stayed in another company's condo. We are Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations and are the only Rental Company located onsite, as well as managing the majority of the condos here.
We are however, sorry to hear that your room was not completely to your satisfaction and would like to provide your family with a much better experience if you will please contact us at 800-845-0629 ext 123.
We are happy that you seemed to enjoy all of our other amenities such as the pools, entertainment, dining, and access to the beach.
Security does indeed have arrest as well as ticketing powers, and we are extremely thankful for them being here and doing such a thorough job. We want our guests to feel safe and secure when on vacation with their families. As long as the speed limits and traffic rules are obeyed, in addition to following the rules of the resort and rental agency (no house parties etc) security is only here to keep a safe and enjoyable atmosphere.
I would love to speak with you directly so that if by chance you did stay in one of our Managed Condos we can pass along your concerns to the appropriate owner to accomplish the needed upgrades. Feedback from guests truly is our greatest tool.
In closing, let me remind you that your business is extremely important to us and we would like to speak with you in an effort to provide you with a future stay that exceeds your expectations and drives home our intent to have you come as a guest and leave as part of our Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations Family.
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at MBR August 4-11, 2013 in RT 1817. Stay was great and stress free.Had a great time on QuarterDeck with old and new friends alike. Enjoyed all of the amenities that are part of the resort from the onsite water activites to the numerous onsite picnic areas. Hope to enjoy again next year.

T N

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilivewhereuvac, Director of Sales at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Repeat guests are the best form of advertisement that we have and I thank you for taking the time to let the readers know about your experience.
We are rather proud of our amenities and feel that with 6 pools, a lazy river, saunas and hot tubs galore, as well as great onsite food and beverage options and sports for all ages, that we have something for just about any age group or walk of life. It certainly sounds as if you enjoyed most, if not all of them, especially The Quarterdeck, our ocean front Bar and Grille.
We hope to have you stay with us next year as well and hopefully many more years to come.
On behalf of all of us here at Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations, we thank you!
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
10.9 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,947 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,031 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Resort

Address: 5905 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £59 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myrtle Beach South Carolina Vacation Rentals and Myrtle Beach Condo Sales The 33 acre gated oceanfront Myrtle Beach Resort offers privately owned vacation condo rentals with nearly 700 feet of white sandy beaches and crystal blue waters directly on the Atlantic Ocean. In addition to 24 hour gated security, we offer a lazy river water park featuring a 375 foot lazy river and wet deck, four outdoor pools (one beach front), two indoor pools, three health spas complete with steam rooms, saunas and jacuzzis, combined with four of the Grand Strand's finest lighted tennis courts, a basketball court, and Free wireless internet access to offer every guest a vacation to remember. Top this off with The Quarter Deck Oceanfront Bar and Grill and The Galley for pizza and ice cream and we have all you need without ever leaving the grounds! Myrtle Beach, SC has been selected the "Best Family Beach" by the Travel Channel. Amusement parks, water parks, restaurants, live entertainment, museums, nature preserves, and outlet shopping combine with over 100 golf courses to provide options sure to please every family member. You will find events and entertainment all year long at The Myrtle Beach Resort. In addition, during the summer months the resort has a Children's Activities Program to help keep the kids entertained without leaving the comfort of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Myrtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Mrytle Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing