We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Bored staff, lazy housekeeping, dirty room, Quarter Deck grill served alcohol to my 13 year old son”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Resort
Ranked #67 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Midway, KY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bored staff, lazy housekeeping, dirty room, Quarter Deck grill served alcohol to my 13 year old son”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I took my 13 year old son for a quick Myrtle Beach get away. We checked in on a low traffic Thursday and out on Saturday. The check in staff got the job done but were not welcoming at all and volunteered no information about the resort although we told them we'd never stayed there before. I don't think they even smiled. The guards at the gate were the same. We always bring our own fold up cart to bring in our stuff but if we'd needed one from the building, we'd have been out of luck because there were none to be seen. The walk from parking was no big deal. We had an ocean front efficiency with a keypad lock which was handy. The hallways smelled of bacon, garlic and cigarettes throughout our stay...day and night. An out of date wicker swag lamp greeted us upon entry. The furnishings were cheery and nice in another lifetime...but now they are used up and dated. There were numerous nail holes in the walls with no artwork hanging on them. The two pictures on the walls were dirty. The bunk beds (which we weren't planning to use) had very thin pads, were very narrow and were wrapped in very worn blankets that I wouldn't use. There was no ladder or step up to the top bunk. The kitchen (we didn't use) was dated but looked like it would be functional. The refrigerator was newer and had a small icemaker that was slow to produce on day one but was better on day two. The queen bed with oceanfront picture window was kinda neat...but the peson sleeping on the inside had to climb over the person sleeping on the outside. The worn out bedding was for a twin size bed rather than a queen and there was no bottom sheet over the mattress pad. The bathroom was itty bitty but functional for our limited needs. There were plenty of towels, etc. that were bright white and soft. When we looked close, all the floors were dirty....sand and grunge in the corners everywhere, the carpet was matted and gross. We found the TV remote under the couch. The small balcony was fine for two of us but not functional for more people. Our room was directly above the Quarter Deck grill and bar which had live entertrainment throughout the day and a party atmosphere at night...we enjoyed listening to the music and watching from above and were pleased that the party ended promptly at closing time. I had a HUGE problem at the Quarter Deck when we went there for lunch. I ordered a virgin daquiri for my son and he was served a real daquiri which he took about 3 drinks from. About the time I figured out the mistake the waitress came over and told me it was the wrong drink and whisked it away...without, apology or any appropriate reaction to having served alcohol to a clear minor....then charged me for the drink. Check out was quick because all we did was tell our room number to the clerk...the first person to smile for us...maybe because they like it better when people leave.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akmaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    188
    110
    69
    124
See reviews for
465
93
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Just returned home from a week at the Myrtle Beach Resort. Definately would give this place five stars. Extremely clean and very well maintained. It is situated about 2 miles from downtown Myrtle Beach so you are close enough to all of Myrtle Beach's attractions, but far enough away that you don't feel overwhelmed by the crowds. So many perks to the resort. Tons of pools, live music every night. Very child friendly. I cannot say enough good things about it and their staff is great!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbums085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We have been staying at Myrtle Beach Resort for years. Some of the condos need some repair and updating, and others are top notch. We have found the best values by renting directly from condo owners rather than through a rental agency. For the past several years, we have used www.vrbo.com, which stands for vacation rentals by owner.
Myrtle Beach Resort is a gated community with 3 oceanfront condo buildings. The grounds are beautifully maintained, flowers and palm trees. There are 6 or 7 pools, one on the oceanfront, a indoor one, and one that allows you to swim from indoors to outdoors. There is also a lazy river area that has a kids pool with buckets of spilling water and sprinklers. Our kids are too old for the kids area, but we all enjoy floating around the lazy river on the tubes they provide. There are also tennis courts, a basketball court, and playground. There's also a small convenience store, a tiki bar on the oceanfront, and snack bars by a couple of the pools. Very convenient.
The 2-bedroom condo we rented was 514B, which was wonderful! It was recently remodeled, according to the owner, and tastefully decorated in beachy colors. Each room had a flat screen TV. There were adequate dishes and cooking utensils in the kitchen -- not a given with some of the condos we've rented. The beds were comfortable. There was tall furniture on the balcony so you could look out over the ocean while you ate breakast or enjoyed an afternoon drink.
If you're thinking about renting at Myrtle Beach Resort, ask for pictures. Some of the condos are great, others need some work. We plan to rent 514B again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank notravelsurprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We just stayed a week at this resort thru the TAN network (stayed in 529 - bldg B). It was clean, decent, a tad bit dated, but no issues at all.

Check in was easy, although instead of renting beach chair & umbrella - just bring your own and save $$.

Broadway at the Beach is a nice play to eat, shop, and do the Aquarium.

We also did a Dolphin Watch boat ride, thru Capt Dicks. It was nice, but not what the ad showed in the book we had. It was a raft boat (like a coast guard boat). It all went fine, but not what I thought I booked (I thought I booked a dinner cruise type boat with restrooms).

We will return to this resort again in the future - although I may try to get a more updated unit next time (even though this unit worked out fine). Thanks,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinHartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This was a winter rental from Nov - Mar that I thought would be a wonderful peaceful time. I especially booked this hotel because of the internet service. I am disabled and stay inside most of the time.

On November 15th the internet service was canceled with NO NOTICE to the guests. When I called to inquire about what was wrong with it, they told me they were upgrading the system and it wouldn't be back on that week. Well, it didn't get back on until the end of January. That's right 2 1/5 months without internet service. Then sporadic service for the next month. I complained that it was unfair of them to collect the entire rent without providing the services they advertised and management told me that it was like one of the amenity's breaking down and there was nothing they could do about it. If I deducted any money from my rent they would evict me and I would lose the $900 security deposit they took from me.

I was in an oceanfront unit in the towers. The first time I went to throw my garbage out (in the garbage chutes at the end of the hall) the stench was so unbearable that I almost threw my guts up. I went to the office and asked if there was another option and they told me that I could throw my garbage in any pail on the property or the dumpsters. From that day on I used the garbage pails in the large parking lot. After 4 3/4 months on the last week of my stay I got a notice from security that I was no longer allowed to throw my garbage in the pails - even though it says I could right in the "rules and regulations" I was given at check in.

As I mentioned, I am disabled. Well, this is not the place to rent if you have a handicapped sticker and need a close parking spot. They have very little handicapped spots and none of them are within close proximity of the front door. Don't even think about parking in the 20 minute spots that are right up to the door, or security will be calling you up to move your car. And if you have a guest come to visit, make sure they leave by midnight or they will have to go back to the security gate to get a new parking pass for the next day. These asinine rules only made my stay less enjoyable than it already was.

Now back to my security deposit. Even though my rent was only $600 a month (another reason I chose this place) they asked for $900 in security. Apparently, this is a scam to keep and use guests money for their own use. Even though they had my unit rented out the same day that I left, they would not return my deposit until 30 days after I left. On the 30th day they called me to ask if I wanted to come and pick it up. Are you kidding, I'm in NY! Another way to keep my money even longer. I had to call the Magistrates office to get my money back. After I cleaned the unit better than what it was like when I rented it, they had the nerve to take out money to clean it.

Other annoying things about my stay: Security did nothing about the loud kids on the beach at 2 a.m. even though they have an 11:00 curfew for children. The deck by the outdoor bar was in repair the entire time I was living there and could not be used, not to mention the hammering at 8 a.m. every morning. The laundry was a joke with broken down machines and the dryers that took $1.75 for 40 minutes and didn't dry completely in that time, so you are forced to put in another $1.75 for a few more minutes. Flooding parking lots with every rain storm. A half mile walk from the parking lot to the oceanfront units. Elevator that never worked, repair men everywhere. and filthy rooms that they say are "clean" and "updated".
Do not rent from these thieves. The place is outdated, old and decrepit. They treat their guests horribly. Management leaves a lot to be desired. I've never had such a terrible experience in a winter rental in my life. I will never deal with these people again. They should be condemned for the filth and put out of business for their untruthful advertising and criminal business practices.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We have not had a good experience with TAN for the most part but this time was different. The Myrtle Beach Resort was wonderful. The location worked well for us. Not too close to town but right on the beach with plenty to do. Bring your own equipment for the basketball court and putting green. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit on the second floor of the condo section farthest from the beach. The laundry facilities outside of the unit were clean. The unit itself was clean and comfortable with all kitchen amenities. The grounds were well kept and all pools (there are many of them) were wonderful. The best was the pool with the lazy river. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioMeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I took my 3 children to Myrtle Beach and stayed at the Myrtle Beach Resort. I arrived at 1:00pm after paying an extra $50. for a early check-in of noon. Upon entering our room there was a foul odour of garbage, dirty diapers. The room was dirty, the shower leaking and obviously I thought the room was not ready so I called the front desk only to be told the room had been cleaned. I told them there were 3 bags of garbage, one on the couch and the others in the bedroom the were obviously forgotten by housekeeping, there was also no toilet paper. The front desk manager assured us the room had been cleaned and told me she would send housekeeping right up. Well no one ever showed up. We had to take all the garbage bags to the bins, which were left in the halls uncovered and foul smelling. We had to clean the room completly before bringing our bags in. The shower head barely let any water out only a trickle, maintenance came to fix the cable but they left as they said "it was too big of a job". Then later on we tried the internet and had to go physically down to get the login information, something that should have been shared with us upon arrival. Two days later I went to see the manager which I was denied after speaking to the front desk manager. After seeing that I was not leaving she took me into the back offices where the manager was and opened a separate office for us to see her in. The back offices were just as bad as the rooms, dirty with junk laying all over the place. The manager was ignorant and told us to leave if we didn't like it, but of course refused to give me a refund otherwise I would have left in a second. Nothing was open. They advertised daily towel changes and a lazy river with a heated pool (the picture of the pool was outside. Well the lazy river was closed she told me as it was not vacation time. The heated pool was an oversized bathtub about a 5min walk away, which wasn't open all of the time. I could go on and on, but just beware as this resort which is all parking lot and condos falsely shows the resort as being child friendly. There was nothing for the kids to do. The pool was 60 and cold and dirty. Make sure you check reviews and talk to people before booking from something you see on-line, I will never make this mistake again. Then they wanted me to clean the room upon departure, I told them I left the room as I found it, but really it was much better. These rooms should be condemned.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank canadiangal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,956 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,203 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,469 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
7.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Resort

Property: Myrtle Beach Resort
Address: 5905 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myrtle Beach South Carolina Vacation Rentals and Myrtle Beach Condo Sales The 33 acre gated oceanfront Myrtle Beach Resort offers privately owned vacation condo rentals with nearly 700 feet of white sandy beaches and crystal blue waters directly on the Atlantic Ocean. In addition to 24 hour gated security, we offer a lazy river water park featuring a 375 foot lazy river and wet deck, four outdoor pools (one beach front), two indoor pools, three health spas complete with steam rooms, saunas and jacuzzis, combined with four of the Grand Strand's finest lighted tennis courts, a basketball court, and Free wireless internet access to offer every guest a vacation to remember. Top this off with The Quarter Deck Oceanfront Bar and Grill and The Galley for pizza and ice cream and we have all you need without ever leaving the grounds! Myrtle Beach, SC has been selected the "Best Family Beach" by the Travel Channel. Amusement parks, water parks, restaurants, live entertainment, museums, nature preserves, and outlet shopping combine with over 100 golf courses to provide options sure to please every family member. You will find events and entertainment all year long at The Myrtle Beach Resort. In addition, during the summer months the resort has a Children's Activities Program to help keep the kids entertained without leaving the comfort of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Myrtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Mrytle Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing