We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“BEWARE OF BUILDING A! NOT CLEAN AND MISADVERTISED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Resort
Ranked #67 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Reserved a room with 1 bedroom and 1 sofa bed. Sofa bed was not functional and had to sleep on floor 4 nights until the daily complaints was addressed. I was never able to speak to the manager and was told he would call me via phone to discuss adjusting the price for the room. No one ever called and full price of the room was charged. Be careful when you check in that you make sure you are getting what you pay for. We stayed in Building A, 1 bedroom ocean front.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmbolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Manag... M, Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

I am not sure which rental agency you rented through as we have almost always had a female manager, so I can not address your concerns about your rental back in 2010. Our policy, even in 2010, would have been to with replace the sofa bed mechanism; with the owner's approval of course or to move you to another room if it was not repairable or replaceable the same day. I can however, fill you in on how we work and what all has changed since your stay nearly 7 years ago...

The condos actually are privately owned. We are a management company renting out about 300 out of 996 condos. I am not sure who you rented through back in 2010 but I will address your concerns as it would be today.

The individual home owners update, maintain, and furnish the condos themselves based on their personal needs, taste, and budget. We do wish we had more ability to refuse rentals, but as long as they meet safety, we do not have the freedom to discriminate.

We do take your satisfaction seriously. Although we can not control everything, we do try very hard to stay on top of the condos we manage. Since your stay we have added a few new options to our owner sin effort to assist them with better maintenance and more up to date furnishings within the condos. It is up to the owners to hire us for these services, but it makes it much easier for them to do what needs to be done. We now offer a contractor to do any renovations right here onsite as well as partnership with local furniture galleries that we have negotiated affordable deals for our owners with. This allows them to update their condos without even leaving their home state! We have successfully gotten more 45% of our owners to do significant updates in their condos in the past 2 years since adding these services.

We do also have detailed descriptions and photos of the condos on our website, but we also keep our reservations staff well informed as to what is being done ion the condos. This allows them to share what updates have recently happened with you during booking.

The resort has also renovated the building interiors and updates are done the amenities annually.

We hope that with the light of this information you would consider trying us again sometime in the near future. Thank you again for your time and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2010

We stayed here the third week in September. We were located in Five Seasons. The building was okay, but carpet should be removed from the halls. Our walk to the beach was about ten minutes. We booked thru our vacation club, so our unit was fine. The property was well-kept and the staff was fine. We didn't experience the problems many other had because it's pretty much off season. We had a good experience, loved the location, access to the pools and beach was a plus. In the summer it would be a nightmare, September was a gem for us. Weather was great also.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaMae50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed at the oceanfront A building in Unit #304A. This is one of the Martins Rentals. Their units are rented by owner. The unit was very tastefully decorated. It was well furnished with all the necessities for comfort and the kitchen for preparing food. It was very clean. It had a great view of the ocean and overlooking the outside pool. The grounds of the resort were well kept and having 24 hour security was nice.

We recommend the Martin Rentals and if you are looking for a place in the Myrtle Resort, get one that the owners handle the reservations themselves!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

MYRTLE BEACH RESORT VACATIONS, (A.K.A. ALLEGIANT PROPERTY MANAGEMENT, LLC)
This business practices fraudulent behavior by misleading renter into believing the condo unit will be cleaned and ready for you upon arrival, and then hides behind their published disclaimer, “while we make every effort to be certain the unit you have rented is clean and in good condition upon arrival, we can not guarantee your satisfaction”, ref. Item 4. Condition of unit. (Read the terms & conditions on web site).
Saturday, July 24, 2010 begin 7 day vacation. Found condo Unit B344 in unlivable condition. According to the contract agreement ref. Terms and conditions, Item 3, cleaning & linen procedures, the condo unit was to be cleaned after previous occupants departure. All condos are to be made up with clean linen, towels, wash cloths, and kitchen towels. Instead found dirty bed sheets and linen had not been changed as well as bathroom towels. The business maintained this was not done due to cleaning staff having been delayed “due to the weekend traffic”, having 6 hours prior to our check in time.
Also found bathroom floor completely covered due to leakage from toilet leading into adjoining bedroom carpet. We suspect the water had been contaminated by sewage resulting with us having to use deodorizer to treat the foul smell that developed during our stay. Support staff was rude, unpleasant, arrogant, unapologetic as well as condescending to all members of our party, except for Mr. Brooks of the maintenance staff.
Asked for another condo unit. Manager stated none was available due to “weekend demands”. Manager offered a full refund. Unfortunately we had little option but to decline as we had driven 9 hours from home, being late in the day and exhausted we did not want to risk being without some sort of accommodations.
We had to waited 4 hours until condition of condo unit was improved.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frank2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We rented unit 912 in the Renaissance Tower from Smith Rentals the week of 8/14/2010. This was our first trip to Myrtle Beach and quite honestly we were a little nervous about staying at the Myrtle Beach Resort because of all the negative reviews. Smith Rentals has a special rate that if you stay 7 nights, you only have to pay for 5. Therefore, the rate for our unit was probably $300 or $400 less than others in the building. With this in mind, our expectations were not that high.

Upon arriving at the resort, the security guard was friendly and efficient. We saw security personnel going and coming alot during our stay. They do a good job of making their presence known around the resort. The resort felt safe and secure day and night.

The first thing we noticed was how well landscaped, clean and beautiful the grounds of the resort were. Crepe Myrtles, palm trees, and lots of lush vegetation were everywhere. There were always people working on the grounds. They do a great job. The parking lot for the Renaissance Tower is separated from the building by a small man made lake. Others have complained about the distance they had to walk from the parking lot to the building, but quite honestly, we loved walking across the bridge. There was so much nature in that small area. There was a pair of white swans that lived there along with ducks, turtles, fish and even a rabbit. We couldn't help but stop and watch them each time we went to the parking lot.

The Renaissance Tower, built in the 80's is beginning to show its age. The furniture and decor in the lobby are dated and faded and the wall paper was coming off the wall in a few places. However, the resort staff kept it very clean and despite its age, it was welcoming when you came in. We did not see trash in any of the hallways. There is alot of traffic here as this is where the 3 elevators are. The elevators were very crowded and busy the entire time we were there. We never had to wait more than a couple of minutes so it wasn't a big deal. There was also a laundry, game room, hot tub, sauna, convenience store and a deli on the first floor. We used the laundry several times and the washers and dryers functioned well.

We were so pleasantly surprised by our 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. We opened the door, expecting the worst and were welcomed by a fresh clean smell. The living room had a comfortable sofa and love seat along with wicker side tables and coffee table with matching wicker tv table, The dining room contained a glass and rattan table with six chairs. The kitchen was furnished nicely with quality pots and pans, bake ware, a blender, toaster and microwave. Although the refrigerator functioned, I think it will need to be replaced soon. The ice maker worked great though. Granted the dishes and flat ware were a mish mash and weren't very pretty, it served its purpose. For the rate we paid, we didn't care.

One of our biggest fears was that the air conditioning would not work. Again, it worked perfectly our entire stay. Because the master bedroom is a lockoff unit, it had its own separate air conditioning unit which we used as well.

One of the bedrooms had a queen size bed that was in good condition and very comfortable. The other bedroom had twin beds which were in good condition and our boys thought they were comfortable as well. Both bathrooms had new looking shower curtains, new light fixtures and were freshly painted. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

The rest of the unit had been freshly painted as well with nice accent colors. New light fixtures were in the dining room and kitchen. Granted, this was definitely a rental unit. There were no personal chochkies around collecting dust. We prefer it this way.

As others have stated, the view from the south facing side of the tower is Ocean Lakes Campground. At an angle you can see the ocean. We enjoyed both. We are not campers so we enjoyed watching all the activity below. Apparently the teenagers there like to cruise in their golf carts at night. Very cool. And always, there was the view of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

The unit had a long balcony with access from the master bedroom and the living room. The owners provided only two old broken plastic chairs. It would have been nice to have been able to sit out there and enjoy the view. (again great rate, we didn't really care.)

The resort has four nice outdoor pools and a couple of indoor pools as well as a childrens water park. All were clean and well maintained. Very family oriented.

The only negative thing we can say about our experience at this resort was that there were so many people smoking on the beach and around the pool - all of the pools! There is nothing more disgusting than wet cigarette butts on the ground around the pool not to mention the stench of a cancer stick blowing in the wind. The beach IS very crowded as others have stated, especially at high tide. This we would not have minded had there not been nasty cigarette smoke blowing in our faces all the time. We encountered several times a mother or father holding a baby or toddler with a cigarette dangling out of their mouths - so low class and pathetic.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, although I'm not sure we would return. We had the chance to explore Surfside Beach, which is non smoking, Litchfield Beach and Pawleys Island while we were there. The further south we drove from Myrtle Beach, the less commercialized it became and more natural looking it was. I would recommend staying here if you could get an exceptionally good rate like we did.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarylandMarkH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Well I will say that with staying here I was somewhat scared of what to expect with all the bad reviews. However with most places they will always have there good and bad points.

We arrived in early Saturday Morning and upon first look resort looked nice. Grounds are nice and clean. We had no check in since we booked directly from the owner so not having to wait for keys and passes made it nice. First impression on the buildings were ok however once you got inside you could tell they were indeed outdated. We stayed in Bld B which I will say is the nicer of the 3. Building A looks like a jail when walking through the halls. Most of the windows of rooms which can be seen while in halls have plastic bags over them instead of blinds or curtains. Can we say tacky? The tower seemed crammed and dirty. Food on floors probably since this is where we saw most of the kids. Building B has the indoor pool which may be why it seemed much nicer. It felt open and was always clean.

Our room was much better then we expected. Keep in mind that all rooms here will be different, however booking directly from the owner I think is key. Resort managed rooms seem to be the worse from what we heard from other vacationers while down there. Our room was nice and clean. No real complants except one of the beds was not very comfortable. Room was near back of the building, but we had a view of the ocean which was not expected.

Pools are nice, stayed mainly at the beach pool since its the biggest. Was never very overwelmed by the amount of people swimming there. Lazy river was nice but was super warm. Indoor pool looked decent but did not use on trip. Hot tub was very warm but kept staining my bathing suit so never got back in.

Now some of the bad:
-The beach is a joke, its extreamly small and with the tide's schedule it can become very crammed there. Its was so crammed that there were people standing directly in front of us that I could have bent over and hit my head on them. People so close that they had to toss football directly behind us to where we could feel sand hitting us from the person catching it. Because of this I stayed at the pool everyday.
-Pool Bar was never open as it said it would. And when it was open it was always out of something. Once day Coke, next day nachos.....
-Staff is pathetic. Beyond the workers at the entrance gates it seems like they hired all those which just got out of jail. Must be like a work/release program they have set up.
-Pools were never opened and closed at the time they said. This was very irritating. I like to get up and go out to the sun when they are suppose to be opened. And at night I like to go for a quick swim before heading in for the night. Pools were suppose to close at 11 however most nights this was never the case. At one point of time we made a complaint about this and they told us the pool manager was caught being drunk so the sent her home and closed all the pools. This was at like 8pm.
-Rules they have on swimming are crazy. One day there was a storm heading in and there was thunder. I completly understand that they cannot allow anyone to swim while there is lightning in the area but the amount of time they shut the pools down was insane. The strom started about 1 and ended at 2ish however they decided to keep the pool shut down the rest of the day. No lie! Even the indoor pool. Because building B has skylights the indoor pool cannot be used on bad weather days which to me defeats the purpose of having an indoor pool. Even know the sun was shining after the storm all the paying guest had to find something else to do for the rest of the day but swim which is unfair.
-Fitness center is from 1982 so dont expect anythign special. There were 2 treadmills in bld B and both were broke all week.

Oh and by the way Myrtle Beach has way way way to many beach stores. I think I counted like 26 within a 2 block radius. there were WINGS stores right next to WINGS stores. Why there would build them so close is beyond be but I think they could replace many of these with unique shops and resteraunts that would draw in more people.

In the end I will say that this will be my last trip back to this resort as well as to the area. Although it was nice to visit somewhere new the gulf area seems to be much more upkept and much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoganM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This review is almost too gross to actually type out, but here goes. We arrived early and paid extra money to check in early. We were travelling with our 18 month old twins. After eating dinner in the dining room the night before and NOT noticing, upon sitting around the table for breakfast I look down and there were maggots, yes maggots crawling out of the carpet. My husband begins to pick them up and kill them and I immediately call guest services, who did not seem to care about "my problem" after making several calls to guest services, Maintenance did show up to verify that yes indeed maggots were crawling out of the carpet. But of course since we had picked them up they wanted to see the dead ones in the trash and it wasn't enough that more were still crawling up through the carpet. Who would make something like that up? After screaming at management to move us to a new unit, they finally gave in. As if it was any question they shouldn't move us? They should have been offering us that and then some, like a refund. Management is poor, rude, slow to help and condescending, They even accused us of having something to do with the maggots. No, that's from unsanitary and unclean conditions and I will be reporting them to the SC Department of Health. After moving to a new unit, we tried to salvage the rest of our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlotteMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,266 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,622 reviews
7.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,189 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Resort

Address: 5905 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £57 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myrtle Beach South Carolina Vacation Rentals and Myrtle Beach Condo Sales The 33 acre gated oceanfront Myrtle Beach Resort offers privately owned vacation condo rentals with nearly 700 feet of white sandy beaches and crystal blue waters directly on the Atlantic Ocean. In addition to 24 hour gated security, we offer a lazy river water park featuring a 375 foot lazy river and wet deck, four outdoor pools (one beach front), two indoor pools, three health spas complete with steam rooms, saunas and jacuzzis, combined with four of the Grand Strand's finest lighted tennis courts, a basketball court, and Free wireless internet access to offer every guest a vacation to remember. Top this off with The Quarter Deck Oceanfront Bar and Grill and The Galley for pizza and ice cream and we have all you need without ever leaving the grounds! Myrtle Beach, SC has been selected the "Best Family Beach" by the Travel Channel. Amusement parks, water parks, restaurants, live entertainment, museums, nature preserves, and outlet shopping combine with over 100 golf courses to provide options sure to please every family member. You will find events and entertainment all year long at The Myrtle Beach Resort. In addition, during the summer months the resort has a Children's Activities Program to help keep the kids entertained without leaving the comfort of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Myrtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Mrytle Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing