We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystic Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mystic Sea Resort
Ranked #124 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Have been staying with these people when they had the apache years ago and moved to the mystic sea when they purchased it. Every year we were told they were going to remodel and every year when we came back the updates were never done. Would not go back, it just got to run down and dirty for my family. We had a large group of friends that met there every year and because of the poor conditions we have all found other places to stay. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 97hdfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    42
    17
    21
    28
See reviews for
56
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This motel/resort has much work to be done on it. They could do alot more for the place if they just replaced a bunch of things. Like Drapes, bedspreads, rugs, etc.The furnishings are old. Dressers are from the 70's and much of the appointments are too. The outside is deceiving, it looks quite nice, and updated but not the inside rooms. First of all, the owners arent very friendly, the pool and hot tub never really looked clean, the returned on the pools didn't work very well. Inside the rooms were less than updated. We have stayed here before and every year I think that it will be updated and it isn't. My friend who stayed next door found bugs in her stove. Don't know what kind but don't need that!!! Our showers and tub leaked and was all over the floor, and black water came up in the drain, uuugh. So we will find another place to stay at. Not mb either, we decided that it is not what we want in a vacation, we like peace and quiet, not crowds and sirens, and may I add Helicopters going over ever five minutes, there is a business that has helicopter rides for $20 , and its located right near the Mystic seas motel, so if you want to lay on the beach or lawn area, its NOISY! We will go somewhere next year. We also paid 1,100 dollars for 2 weeks, that isnt alot of money, but you get what you pay for. Also the WIFI was terrible, I picked up the signal from a nearby hotel next door instead of where I was staying!

Room Tip: Higher floors tend to be more private, we stayed in an ocean front next to the pool, it was not priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheocean076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Greenfield, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

my family has stayed here many of times. you meet the best people from all over the united states and canada. this is a top of the line resort. from front desk to cleaning staff and security staff, very friendly always willing to help with anything.most people are return guest year after year then start bringing more family and more friends. always clean always friendly see you all in july if not sooner dan schuyler greenfield indiana

Room Tip: side room are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollyshuyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I shared a room with my parents for 5 nights at this hotel. It is a small hotel compared to the huge ones that surround it. We had a coupon from the visitor center of SC, which offered a discount. We paid only 70 dollars a night for the 3 of us. When we decided to stay an extra night after the 4 we already spent, we only had to pay 20 dollars for the extra night. This was because of some special price they had for 5 nights. They did not have to do this, very nice of them!

Front desk was friendly, there were benches in front of the rooms where you could sit and have a smoke. Plenty of chairs on the lawn facing the beach. The pool was a bit small (and cold), but the ocean was amazing. One downside is that they do not have many umbrella's, but I guess you can buy a cheap one yourself.

I would stay here again, it is very clean and affordable

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smattijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We've been staying at the Mystic Sea for several years and never consider staying anywhere else. It's clean and staff is helpful. It is not for those looking for 5 star quality. The only improvement I would like to see is the wireless internet..I did better connecting to a hotel a block down then I could with the hotel's own.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stratcat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We are a family of 6 (2 adults and 4 kids under 10). This was a spare of the moment trip for one night so we did not have hotel/motel reservations. I found out about Mystic Sea from the discount hotel booklet you can get at the SC Welcome Center. I called them and since they had a lot of vacancies they quoted me a price less than what they had advertised (and less than what was on the outside marquee) which was nice. For those with bad/terrible reviews, it is acceptable to ask the front desk person to see the room before you commit to staying (and paying). That is what I did and our room was fine. This is an older property but our room was clean and well kept. There are even benches outside the rooms. The cleaning crew even swapped out dirty towels twice for us in one day since the kids went to the beach several times and then came in to shower. They were helpful and assisted with a smile. The pool and jacuzzi were also clean. I saw the guy clean it twice in one day. This is a nice place to stay when on a budget.

Room Tip: We stayed in 210 and it was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whsjacketguard_05
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We decided to stay at the Mystic Sea because 15 years ago as kids we came here as a family and it seemed like a good value. We werent looking for chocolates on our pillows or room service so we thought as a family we would give the Mystic Sea another try. I would like to start off with the positives first. We stayed across the street in the Courtyard Condos. We had 2 condos on the lower level that both had a living room, full kitchen, and 2 bedrooms. There was one Queen bed and one room with 2 Double beds. We had a total of 8 people so this was actually a good size place. The location is great and within walking distance of restaurants and mini-golf. They also have a nearby convenience store and a couple places for ice cream. The beach access is pretty close. The pool and hottub are across the street also by the ocean front rooms. The staff was friendly, and housekeeping always had fresh towels for us in the mornings. Our main complaint was the cleanliness of this place. It was filthy. I'm not going to sugarcoat it. My feet were black after one evening of walking on the carpets and tile. The furniture was stained, old, and broken. The kitchen chair seat covers were ripped and chairs were wobbly. The appliances were very old but still worked okay. The bathroom was dingy and dirty. The blinds in both rooms were broken so people walking by could see in. All the faucets dripped. Anything you plugged into an outlet would instantly fall out which was very dangerous. The sheets were dirty. It would not take much to bring this place to a higher rating. My family and I will not be returning here next year. It's a shame because all the wrong things could be easily fixed. It needs some TLC. New carpet, new furniture, new blinds, and fix up the bathrooms. The Mystic Sea has such great potential, but it doesn't seem like the owners have noticed or want to spend the money to bring it back to what it once was.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krysten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#92 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#114 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
7.1 mi away
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
#90 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Resort
Bluewater Resort
#132 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Sea Resort

Property: Mystic Sea Resort
Address: 2105 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mystic Sea Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mystic Sea Resort is an award winning resort located on theoceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach. We are a small resort that offers a wide range of affordable room types, from 1 bed units to 2 bedroom condos. We won the Myrtle Beach chamber of commerce's image award for the quality and style of recent renovation that upgraded a smaller resort to a level not seen in the larger more impersonal resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mystic Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Sea Hotel Myrtle Beach
Mystic Sea Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing