We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Not as good as usual......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas
Ranked #152 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is the first time we have stayed in the Towers of Ocean Dunes where we were a bit disappointed in the room. The room had several issues with the upkeep and looked very much in need of an upgrade. The toilet ran until we jiggled the handle. The same toilet wouldn't flush unless you held the handle down. The dining room table wobbled. There was a big stain on the carpet. The balcony furniture was stained. There was no can opener. Little things like that were things we noticed and added up. However, we had a wonderful vacation. The staff was very, very friendly and helpful as usual and I love the area!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank untnmarknme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

We reserved a room for Labor Day weekend. We were really excited as the website boasts "newly renovated rooms" and it is pet friendly. The location is great - and that's about the only thing that is great. The building is old and musty smelling and our rooms didn't appear renovated whatsoever. The bathtub didn't drain correctly, leaving you standing in 2 feet of water while bathing. The toilet also didn't flush correctly. Our rooms were not cleaned the entire 3 nights we stayed due to the housekeeping never being there before 3pm and us being out of the room (they won't clean if you have dogs). There was also a hug pile of trash that sat outside of our room for about 2 days in the hallway. For the price of this hotel and the quality that they appear to have online, it is not up to par. We will not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The staff was very friendly and helped in deciding where to eat. We also found a stray white kitty on the property and took her home with us. We loved the view of the beach from our room and saw some dolphins. Grat trip!

Room Tip: We generaly like the room with double beds for more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpg218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The kids really enjoyed the waterpark and rooms were spacious. The breakfast buffet was nice bonus as well. Compared to other hotels, this one gave me the biggest bang for my buck. A great value for a family vacation!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Misty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We've stayed here for 6 years and the hotel has gone downhill a lot in the last year. We reserve an "A" class room every time but this past year our "A" room had musty odor and during rain storms the hallway window outside our room leaked horribly and the water pooled outside our door. When the duct in the ceiling above our son's bed started leaking and the ceiling was soaked and mushy we moved out of the hotel and went to the Horizon Hotel 2 blocks over for leas money. The horizon was built in 2008 and is beautiful. We are done with the ocean dunes. It needs a lot of updating that has never been done!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAmyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Live from the Dunes...signs posted about a smoke free envioment. I guess this does not include the balconies. It's not fun trying trying to enjoy your morning coffee while people around you are smoking. More to follow

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USAFRetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our kids enjoy the water park and other amenities Ocean Dunes offers. The location in the northern part of MB is great for getting to places. The addition of Wild Water and Wheels(30 minutes south), the getaway adventures boat trip (20 minutes to Little River/Crickett Cove Marina which is a cute fishing community) and free bike rentals added to the fun. Everything was clean in our tower and room. In the past we have had cleaning issues, whether it was the hallways, bathroom or kitchen or even the furnture on the balcony. I've never seen bugs at Ocean or Sand Dunes. This year's cleaning crew seemed to actually care. The staff was nice and pleasant everywhere on the property.

Unfortunately, the problems with broken or old items are something that the cleaning crew can't do anything about. Every year it is something to deal with in one of the Tower Bldgs. Sometimes the frig doesn't work or a lamp or 3x it was the tv remotes. Example, the towel bar in the bathroom falling off in the middle of the night and making a loud enough noise to wake the kids. Broken closet door that fell off, so that my husband had to lean it up against a wall out of the way of the kids, so it wouldn't fall on them.

We usually stay in Tower 1, but we were upgraded to Tower 2 room 4102. The carpet and living room had been updated in the last few years (better furnture and decorations), but the kitchen and bathroom (only bathroom change was a newer lght fixture) were the same way they have looked in our 4 years of staying at Ocean Dunes. Stuff in kitchens and bathrooms get old, rusty, stained and worn looking. The toilet- with a loose toilet seat -ran long after it was flushed. My husband said it woke him at night a few times. The toilet in the half bath is so low to the floor that a person could fall getting to it. It clogged once. It just needs to be replaced. One good thing is that the beds are comfortable, even the murphy. The sofa bed mattress is just okay.

The tv in the living room was a large flat screen, but the tv in the bedroom is old and small making it hard for viewing. One battery was missing from the remote for the small tv. The maintenance is always fast in getting up to the room to fix stuff, but who wants maintenance men in their room when you are supposed to be on vacation relaxing. We needed a lamp repaired. It was fixed, but like I said there is always some kind of a problem. The phone in the bedroom didn't work. We used the LR phone until the other was fixed, but is this kind of thing really necessary while on vacation?

Despite all this, our family had fun because MB is full of things to do and the on-site water park and the beach are great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veebee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#142 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
4.0 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#112 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#155 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas

Address: 201 75th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4201
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £54 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Dunes Myrtle Beach Sc
Ocean Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing