We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Don't Buy in to the HYPE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas
Ranked #151 of 210 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Messmore, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't Buy in to the HYPE!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed in Tower 1. Very Conveinent Parking, The Bellman came over and assisted us with our bags without delay. Our room was cleaned by Ms. Hope and was spotless. We did need a few towels the first day but we got them after a call to housekeeping in minutes and also a follow up call from the front desk assuring we were taken care of. The Brass Anchor Breakfast Buffet was great. All you needed to start your day plus made to order eggs. For each Adult, two kids eat free!
Very friendly staff. I understand each Condo is privately owned, but we couldn't find anything wrong with our stay. The free stuff you get is great! We have been coming down for about 5 years now with the kids and this is the most that we did as a family this trip. From the Adventure Camp, to the Adventure Cruise, to Water and Wheels park and the Water Park on the property, there is plenty for your money! The pools were clean and i never saw any trash lying around anywhere. We will definitely come back and will recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: Try to Request Tower 1, Seems a little newer and is closer walking distance to the Beach Access. Alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    128
    108
    108
    291
See reviews for
455
133
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Don't stay here, it's so bad. My husband and I were so upset with them, my 5yr and 10yrs were so upset with them. Room was dirty and smells bad. The place has water park at sands dunes pools, the water park was good. We went to go to see the dolphin at my last day at 8:00 am we got there at 7:45 am and they didn't have us register for this, and told us to come back at 2:15 pm, we were back at 1:45 pm and we were told the adventure has been cancelled, but no one have call me to let me know, it takes 30 min for one way from the hotel, we drove 2 hours for nothing and the kids we so sad, but the hotel didn't want to do anything about this.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

jackson
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I attended a business worskhop that had been booked by someone who had never been here nor had seen any reviews. The lobby was dirty upon arrival and things never got any better. The room had a flat screen TV on the wall with a portable in front of it. I dared not walk on the carpet barefooted for fear of some type of contamination. The other members of my group shared similiar experiences.
This facility is old and in need of much repair all over. The best thing that can be said about Ocean Dunes is that it is on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank stillwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 July 2012

they need to focus more on cleanliness, not because is an old hotel doesn't mean it can be clean. the staff need to better train on costumer service, they do the job but they don't go out of they way to make your stay the best. Also on the day of check out somebody from reception open the door room and ask us what time we're leaving and that was at 8:30 am. kind of rude.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The room was dirty at check in. The manager came to look at the room and agreed. He told us he didn't have any rooms available to move us . He called us and said he found another room to move us . The room was no better than the first one. The door looked like someone tried to break in at one time. All these room changes occurred on check in day. The manager finally moved us to an oceanfront which was much better. The next day we were out for the day and the room was never cleaned. We called the manager and he said room cleaning was not included with this room. We told him the oceanview room we booked had cleaning included. They did clean our roomr the rest of the week after we called. We have stayed here 3 times and this will be the last. I don't keep my house dirty and I do not appreciate staying somewhere else that is dirty. The manager was fine at first and then he started getting nasty. He said we could check out and go somewhere else. That was just rude considering we just drove over 10 hours and we our kids were tired. We booked a room and should have to look elsewhere. It's a shame because it used to be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is the thrid year in a row we've spent a week of our summer staying at the Ocean Dunes. It's not a bad place. Look if you want a 4 star hotel or luxry condo this place might not be for you. But if you don't mind that the facility has seen better days in the past, and you really are looking for a good deal and a friendly staff (not to mention an outstanding view with access to the beach) you should give them a chance. Let me adress a few things.
1) The staff are from other places for the most part- that said they are all hard working and very caring- the housekeeping staff was outstanding and treated my family very well -one day they chased me down to see if we needed extra towels because the day before we had gotten some.
2) The room comes with free breakfast and kids eat free- It was a hot breakfast (eggs, toast, grits, gravy, biscuits, fruit, muffins, bacon, sausage, etc.) We ate every day probably at leat $25 saved each day.
3) The place has it's own water park as well as multple pools, the park is on-site and great for younger kids, no need to even leave the place, the pools are pools? Again if you want an infinity edge pool or one with a mountatin and waterfall - go elsewhere. The water park not good enpugh - they give you a coupon for Wild Water and Wheels so your group goes there free. ($100 saved)
4) The kids club will keep your kids while you do other things, or they can go to a camp, or you can book a trip out viewing dolphins - Free $100+ more saved.
5) It's at the quiet end of Myrtle Beach - yet its within 10 minutes of just about everything.
The palmetto bugs are large!!! You can't get that at any fancy place....just a note for you fancy folks- shoe +bug= Dead Bug Just kill them and move on - your at the beach , in South Carolina in the Summer, there will be bugs.
I HAVE NEVER SEEN A BEADBUG AT THIS PLACE!

That's my two cents worth...

Room Tip: Check all the specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tacostud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunn, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived at our destination excited and happy to be at myrtle beach. We didn't think the hotel looked horrible. Having an ocean front room was the big hit for us. Our first opinion of the decor was okay... there were a few updates. As our stay progressed we really saw how the place was... a little outdated... A little "worn out" and alittle gross :( . We even encounter a few roaches or two! However the hotel did have some perks...a great rack of ribs and salmon steak at the resturant Mangos... of course they do "swindle you in" with the promise of %50 off of your meal with a coupon... looks ligit, however you get down there and "everyone" gets it! haha! NO regrets though... wonderful food!!!... another oddity was the people that worked here... most of them were foreign and you couldn't really communicate with them.. but they worked hard and were friendly. There was a convienience store and water park... kids seemed to love it... however plan on staying in at the hotel the whole night because finding parking becomes a little difficult. Overall... we enjoyed our trip at Myrtle beach.. great price... but next time, we may shoot for a 4 or 5 star!

Room Tip: I have no clue how you would be able to tell.. but really, really try to get an updated room! Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferJ843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#19 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
3,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#47 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
3,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#149 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
900 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#9 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
5,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas

Property: Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas
Address: 201 75th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4201
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Dunes Myrtle Beach Sc
Ocean Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing