We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #66 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were able to check in early this is a huge plus for me do to bad weather. We were provided a wonderful newly upgraded room with a wonderful view. Eventhough the weather was kind of chilly the indoor pools were nicely heated for the kids to enjoy!

Room Tip: Be patient and respectful to the help desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcleveland2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have spent our winters at Ocean Park for 7 years and have seen many improvements, all of which have made our stay better each year. Not only are they improving the facilities they have a staff that makes you feel at home. To us they are our second family and they treat us like family.
If you need anything they are there. From Mike D. to Michael, Matt, Tom, Stephanie, and all the staff they are great. Keep up the good work, We're coming back for another 4 Months of good times. Kathy & Ken

Room Tip: Trying to fine a room that is right for you is hard. I would advise you to talk to the staff, they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krmandkrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

It is very important to have a clean hotel room and I was very impressed with this place. It is clean and pet friendly. The staff was great. Any questions we had about food or attractions were promptly answered. For being off season this resort was very expensive. however, it was worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollywilliams1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My children and I loved our Easter break at myrtle beach this year. We enjoyed the sights and sound of the main strip and spent the day playing on the beach and in the indoor pool. We had a wonderful and felt very safe and comfortable in our room. The view was spectacular! Great memories were made!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlemshaking24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The hotel was very nice the beds was very confortable :) the best pillows I've ever slepted on .
The employees were very friendly & helpfull had lots of friendlyness & smiles even thou it was frezzzzing out & rained 3 of the 4 days spring was late it fooled us the week before with 60s then
the week @ the beach rainy & 40s BURRRR 1st time ever @ the beach with no tan & frost bit
even the sea was to rough to go out on any boats :( . Only down fall was the Hot tub was down 3 days out of the 4 would love to come back again soon when its warm and before the rates go up in the summer .

Room Tip: Oceanvfront was a plus and NON Smoking on the grounds also helped because other hotels say non sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillF555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. This was our first time to Myrtle Beach. We came with our two children and our small dog (this was our first vacation with our dog). Although our room could use an update, it was very clean. Great value for the price. The staff is very helpful and friendly. It's right on the beach, perfect for a relaxing vacation with the family. We would definitely come back :)

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

After booking this hotel online and reading all the great reviews and praises about friendliness of staff and hotel being dog friendly we were expecting nice and relaxing vacation. Web page suggested to check with hotel before booking to confirm about pets but I didn't feel that was necessary because reviewers talked about dedicated pet areas outside the hotel and went on and on about the hotel being dog friendly. Big mistake on my part! I should have called hotel directly before booking. They allow only dogs up to 20 pounds in weight. We have a black lab, and although we never had any problem checking in and staying at pet friendly hotels ever, and our dog never made any mess or created inconveniences of any sort for anyone, that obviously didn't mean we would be automatically allowed in a hotel that advertises itself as pet friendly.

So, I can't write the review about this hotel's amenities and cleanliness of rooms because we were not allowed to check in. However my family and I do have a pretty good picture of "friendliness" of it's staff and their so called "pet policy".
After driving for 17 hours we arrived at the hotel around 10 p.m. very tired and in desperate need of rest. There was a big photo of the dog on the wall at reception area which made me feel good about the hotel being pet friendly. I told receptionist that our dog will be staying with us and she asked what breed was our dog. Then she told us that we will not be allowed to check in and the best she can do is to call the company we booked through and let them know that hotel will not charge us anything and we would be refunded the full amount. She handed us (incomplete) list of pet friendly hotels in the area and pointed in direction of the phone in the lobby which we were allowed to use to arrange our alternate accommodation.

She was right about the fact that their 20 pound per dog policy was listed on the website.
She was right that we should have called in advance to check about the dog policy.
She offered some sort of bare minimum solution.

She was also anything but friendly, I would dare to say that she was condescending.
She made a smug comment about us booking through third party (it was a great deal I should add).
She offered bare minimum to resolve our situation and acted as we were just wasting her time by showing at her door.
She never called the company we booked through despite offering to do that. If I hadn't called them we would have been charged for a full stay at the hotel we were denied to check in.

Unfortunately, as we learned later, weight limit pet policy is quite common at Myrtle Beach hotels.
I urge anyone to read the small type in pet policies of PET FRIENDLY hotels before booking.
Please be aware of false advertising. Otherwise you may end up being forced to board your dog after you arrive to your vacation spot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
8  Thank Peja-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience with Ocean Park Resort. We regret that you were not able to enjoy a pleasant stay with us and that your experience with our staff was not what you expected. Please be assured that we will address any staff issues accordingly.

As for our pet policies, we do indeed enforce a rule of 20 pounds or less for dogs staying at our resort. We apologize that the policy was not clearly communicated to you. We make certain that we clearly state our policies in all proper booking locations.

Again, we regret that you were not able to enjoy the full experience of a stay at Ocean Park Resort. We do hope you’ll consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
The Reef Myrtle Beach
The Reef Myrtle Beach
#165 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
522 reviews
3.3 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#70 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Address: 1905 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £39 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oceanfront Myrtle Beach resort features standard rooms and suites able to accommodate the needs of any guest. Featuring furnished private balconies, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and guest laundry services, our accommodations feel like your second home. A great bonus is being able to bring your pet on vacation with you. We accept dogs, as long as they are less than 20lbs. Please call for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing