We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Based on past reviews, surprised it wasn't better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #73 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I want to say that I read TripAdvisor reviews for all things Myrtle Beach and I rely on the reviews to determine where I am going to stay and what I am going to do when we go to Myrtle Beach. Saying that, I was extremely disappointed with our stay at the Ocean Park Resort this past week. The disappointment began with check-in. I was quoted a specific amount for my stay (I had the name of the person I spoke with, the date and time I spoke with her), but the amount they were charging me was more at check-in. The gentleman wasn't able to tell me why there was a difference, he simply kept showing me their readout. After going round and round about it, we ended up paying the amount they were charging just so we could check in. It was obvious he was not going to back down.

When we arrived in our room we were terribly disappointed with the cleanliness. The baseboards were covered with filth. There were shelves in the 'living room' that had a picture and flowers that were covered in dust. The recliner and sofa in the room were perfectly clean. The shower areas were clean.

On the first day we were there, someone threw up in the small pool. This pool was then closed for the entire week. The large, main pool was cleaned on Tuesday. JUST TUESDAY. Yesterday I let the pool attendant know that there was tree leaves, sand, bugs and suntan lotion floating in the pool. She came out to clean it, but the accumulation of floating stuff in the pool came back almost immediately. I wonder if something is wrong with the filtration system. The hot tub was great.

The hotel has signage that it is a 'smoke free facility.' People were smoking on their balconies right above the pool. Out in the open. There is no sign of any hotel personnel patrolling the grounds to see this.

The 'doggie duty' area is much smaller than I was led to believe. While I think the hotel personnel try to keep this area clean, people are people and not everyone picks up their dog's poop. Yuck. We ended up walking our little one across the street.

The hotel offers free waterpark tickets -- this was fabulous. However when we went to use the discount at the putt putt park, we were told that they no longer have a relationship with Ocean Park. They did give us the discount in the end.

The kitchen was well stocked and everything was in working condition.

We will not stay at the Ocean Park Resort again, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The room was great, clean and roomy. It was also very quiet. You'd never know there were dogs staying in the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was fabulous and had great beach access. We'll definitely stay when we go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsmajor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The biggest reason we chose this hotel is that they are dog friendly. The second reason is that I could take advantage of 60day advance reservation discount. (20% off)The facility is a bit aged but it's well maintained. The beach front location was very nice. Very good for families.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatsuya373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

What can i say the service was great even checking in at 1a.m. in the morning service was wonderful and help also very inviting excellent location and view of ocean pools and spas open early and stay open late it's easy access to and from the beach was great I could go on and on about this resort I'll end and say it's one of the best places to stay thanks for make my family vacation a great stay and free admission to the water park down the road was awesome to

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralphel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Rooms were excellent. Staff was friendly and helpful. The girl at the front desk on day shift was AMAZING!!! Only bad thing was limited parking but that happens anywhere in Myrtle Beach. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We enjoyed staying here very much. Our hairdryer blew the first day and was repaired in less than 20 minutes! Had to ask for clean towels because our server always came so early, but otherwise very nice, quiet, and well kept. Clean room and amazing view, and the underground parking kept our car cool. The free water park was a great bargain,too, and our part of the beach was not as crowded as others. Be sure to check out The Market Common for nice dining and Broadway at the Beach. Staff could use a little help with recommending places for us 'newbies' to eat and visit. LOVED THIS NON-SMOKING FACILITY.

Room Tip: Don't get below level 3 or you won't have a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljs1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean. View from room 806 was amazing. Front desk staff needs to work on customer service skills. With this location you definitely need a car. It's a dog friendly hotel, but you would never know it because everything was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momdaugther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
3.3 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#67 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#108 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,472 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
2.8 mi away
Camelot by the Sea, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Address: 1905 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £40 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oceanfront Myrtle Beach resort features standard rooms and suites able to accommodate the needs of any guest. Featuring furnished private balconies, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and guest laundry services, our accommodations feel like your second home. A great bonus is being able to bring your pet on vacation with you. We accept dogs, as long as they are less than 20lbs. Please call for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing