We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place right on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #60 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice place right on the beach!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here. It was rainy about half the time but we were able to enjoy the beach a couple of times (only up to our knees one day due to high surf) and the pool too. We had a 14th floor one bed efficiency. It was renovated and very clean. Our view was beautiful. We didn't have any elevator trouble. We ate the breakfast buffet one day for $10 each and it was fine. The lobby shares a bathroom with the pool area so the bathroom floor is wet-yuck. The other downsides were that the lazy river is very small and overrun with teenagers. Also one hot tub was just lukewarm, and since it was raining that day the other two hot tubs were full. If you want a great view in a clean room this is a good place to choose!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDWforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    745
    260
    112
    146
See reviews for
619
648
48
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a very poorly maintained facility with mostly indifferent staff. Our room, bathroom and balcony were tiny and smoky. There are "smoke-free resort" signs everywhere, yet our room smelled like smoke and each time we went onto the balcony, we could smell (but not see) smoke from other rooms/balconies. Entire hotel smelled moldy and musty, paint on walls was spotty, mold around vents on walls in restaurant. Various reported but not fixed plumbing problems - wobbly toilet, loose shower faucet handle and tub drain that didn't work. A/C thermostat not connected to A/C and A/C ran randomly. Ice bucket contained a wadded-up, clear plastic "something" that we don't want to even try to identify and then it took 20 minutes and a trip to the front desk to get a clean replacement. Indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs along with restaurant were nice. Front desk staff were mostly indifferent at best to our reports of problems. Parking garage is extremely tight - small parking spaces, narrow lanes, poorly lit at night and few signs to show exit/entrance and one way areas. We checked out a day early because we were so uncomfortable in the Patricia Grand, and there was nothing grand about the place. Will never return to this hotel and urge others not to waste their money there.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lh1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, General Manager at The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your opinion is extremely important to us. Please be assured that any issues you mention have been addressed accordingly. We do hope you'll visit with us again soon, allowing us to provide you with an even better experience, on which we pride ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have to say (as the title says) i was very pleasantly surprised. I just returned from spending 2 nights with my best friend from South Dakota at this resort. I read many reviews of this property and others in Myrtle Beach, and just couldn't find a place to stay that I felt good about. I decided to take a gamble and try to the Patricia Grand. Well, it exceeded my expectations. From the moment we drove up, everyone was so overly friendly and courteous. I have nothing but good things to say.

Check in is supposed to be 4:00, but we arrived at 1:00 PM and our room was ready for us. That was a great start. The staff at the front desk was also very friendly and welcoming to us. Then, we decided to do the valet parking ( I have a cadillac Escalade and after reading all the reviews about the small parking garage, I decided this would work best for me). The valet is only $8 for the entire day and you can get your vehicle out and bring it back to valet as many times as you want per day. The valet drivers (bellmen) were so very nice. They also help you bring your luggage in on a cart if you request. They took great care of us.

When i made my reservation i requested a high level room (for a good view) and newly remodeled. Well, i got both. We were so happy. Our room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable.

The beach in front of the hotel is very nice. They had a very nice outdoor pool, but we did not use it at all. We were there for the beach. Also, had a couple of hot tubs and a bar by the pools, which we did not goto either. The location is great. Only about 1.5 miles from broadway on the beach, about a $6 or $7 cab ride if you choose like we did.

In summary, I can not say enough good things about this hotel. Next time i goto Myrtle beach, I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Request newly remodeled and upper level is good for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Room was nice, enjoyed the double balconies in the room we had. Pool was nice and big enough for several people. fitness center was also was equipped. The parking garage was a little tight. Hotel was geared mostly for families. Maid service was excellent and staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the Starbucks located in the Lobby. Location was perfect and the beach was nice. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a great place to stay. The hotel is located on the beach and walking distance to Broadway on the Beach. Indoor and outdoor pools were a plus. The indoor pool was heated so late swims were enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollowdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel staff were very friendly. Our check in time for the room wasn't until 4, but we arrived early. The staff were nice & let us change into our swimsuits & enjoy the pools, and whatever else we wanted while we waited for our room to be ready. They ended up getting our room ready a hour earlier for us. The rooms were nice, very pretty view of the ocean. Overall, it was a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great place to stay, needed quiet time for my husband and myself and this was the perfect place to go and hangout. It was quiet and fun for all ages..even us senior citizens. Not only do my husband and I come each year a couple of time, but my Red Hat Ladies come in the fall for a few days of shopping and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,109 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,003 reviews
3.5 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#46 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,474 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts

Property: The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Address: 2710 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the family fun begin at our classic Myrtle Beach resort. Enjoy inviting accommodations, endless activities for kids, playing in our oversized indoor and outdoor pools then dining at Grand Central Station. This expansive resort offers standard rooms and one bedroom suites as well as monthly and weekly rentals. Ideal for family vacations, romantic getaways and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patricia Grand Resort Hotel, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Grand Patricia Resort
Patricia Grand Myrtle Beach
Patricia Grand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Patricia Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing