We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Fun place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #130 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Morganton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We enjoy The Sands Ocean very much. Really nice staff there. The breafast buffett is always good and fresh . The music on the decks and the night time entertainment in the bar at night just wish they would cut out the smoking in the bar or put bteer smke filters in . Always fun going on there . Cant wait to go back in May

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancininthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    215
    137
    164
    187
See reviews for
386
212
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I wouldn't even give it a one, but had to in order too give the review...I booked this place on a whim. It was convenient because our friends have a condo nearby. It was old, smelly, rowdy, and dirty as soon as we walked into lobby, if that's what you can even call it. The room was even worse. Pee stained mattresses, dirty toilet bowl, sticky floor (my flip flops were getting stuck), mold and smoke smell throughout. Even the kitchen cabinets were falling apart. Rusted fridge....I can go on and on. They let me check out another room, but really, i knew this place was not for me. Second room was not as filthy, but still unacceptable and the mildew and cigar smell was even worse. Checked out within 20 minutes.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Thorn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have a timeshare at the Sands Ocean Club that I picked up a few years ago.
The Sands is a fun place to stay and it has a lot of amenities. This is an older building right on the beach. The rooms are nice but a little dated. The Sands continually works to improve the rooms adding new LCD TV's most recently. They have a popular outside bar "Ocean Annie's" that always has live music and is home to a great hamburger place called "The River City Cafe." It is also conveniently located to Myrtle Beach Restaurant Row on 17 Business and the outlets.
They have an outside and inside pool and an outside lazy river.

Room Tip: Check for internet specials that include breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkkalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Not what I asked for, nor what I expected. We requested an ocean front one bedroom executive king suite, smoking. What we got was a one bedroom non-smoking, with two double beds with an extremely restricted view of the ocean. The sunrise, which is what we wanted to see, was totally blocked by a building. We also wanted to go to the lounge to watch the Daytona 500 (I know, it was rained out), and told them this at reservation. What they failed to tell us was that the lounge does not open til 4pm...practically the end of a NASCAR event on the east coast. The carpet was dirty and wrinkled. The one good thing was housekeeping. They were extremely accommodating. The front desk was abrupt and condescending.

Room Tip: Ask for an "UNRESTRICTED" ocean front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nascarfan88-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Loved my stay here. The only thing I didn't like about his place was the parking. You have to park across the street and then walk all that way to get to the elevator just to get to your room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springnbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

we stayed here on Feb 11 to Feb 18 2012, we stayed in the 12th floor in the main tower, we had a 1 bedroom with 2 queen beds with a sofa sleeper,oceanfront view,room was ok kitchen not really up to date,tile on floor was cracking and not glued to floor very good, dishes were dirty,we had 1 bathroom but with 2 sinks 1 in the bathroom and 1 outside of the bathroom, Tv in bebroom was an older one, Tv in the front room was a flat screen. They did have a restaurant for breakfast called Windows it was ok they had a buffet 3 of us ate for under $20.00 they do have another place to eat but it was closed for the season,the other 2 stores were also closed for the season,they do have a bar on the lobby floor,pools that were outside not cleaned everyday,the pool and the 2 hot tubs inside were clean they also have a spa price's not bad ladys in the spa very nice, when you check in they give you 1 roll of paper towels,small thing of dish soap,some coffee no filters,before you leave you need to strip the beds I never done that before. If this was my only choice to stay here i would stay again but would not be my 1st choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Sands offers a little of everything, it have a great beach front enjoyable family swimming area with slides and pool for the kids. Dinning at both modest and higher is available right on the grounds. While I was there I witness a couple being married right on the beach with the reception followed in one of the large meeting rooms in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DualCitizenshipIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#108 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#148 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Property: Sands Ocean Club Resort
Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing