We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great Location, but.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #133 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location, but.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a stay at the Sands Ocean Club in Myrtle Beach. The beachfront location is great! The ocean front bar (Ocean Annie's) with live music is a great place to end a day of fun on the beach. The building is in need of attention. This is a 17 floor hotel style building that is actually individual condos owned by private individuals. I hope that there are some units that are in better condition than the 2 we had. We had "two bedroom, two bath suites". The master bedroom and bath were a good size. Bedroom 2 had twin beds in a small room that had no window. There was an accordion half wall that could be opened to the living room. The living room furniture was broken and the walls were battered. We were on the 10th floor and twice spent time in a "stuck" elevator. Other guests had similar stories. We love Myrtle Beach but will not return to this facility.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mmhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    214
    133
    164
    186
See reviews for
382
210
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest City, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

When we checked in we had reserved a room on the 5th floor and ended up getting stuck on the very top floor of the hotel! When we arrived the handle on the balcony door was broken, the carpet on the floor was dirty and you could tell it hadn't been cleaned in awhile. The cover on the drain in the shower was broken, the refridgerator had rust all on the side of it. Then we got to the bedroom and pulled back the blanket there was a big stain on the inside of the blanket, we ended up taking it off the bed completely and just slept with the sheet. We had called down to the front desk to see if someone housekeeping could vacum the floors because they were so dirty and were treated very rudely! This is the last time we will stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My family of 3 and our friends, a family of 4 stayed at the Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach for 3 nights last week after my wife took a call from a Telemarketer and booked this vacation without researching the accommodations first. She was snaked into a "2 hour" timeshare presentation through Wyndham Resorts that took almost 5hrs instead of the 2 hours they said it would take. Why didn't we stay at an actual Wyndham Resort instead of the Sands Ocean "affiliate"? Good question? Anyways, even after reading some of the reviews on this place i went with an open mind. When we first arrived I asked a couple of questions at the front desk about the difference between an ocean view and an ocean front room. The female front desk person was rather rude, didn't want to talk at all, like i was bothering her with my questions. I should have gotten her name and reported it to management but on my very first day i didn't want to deal with that so i let it go. The other family that was with us did have a great experience with the front desk as their check-in person was very nice, smiling, and pleasant. We got to our room and during the trip up things really didnt get any better. Not only was the lobby very old and outdated looking, it had a faint but noticeable odor. The elevator ride was rather scary as it make all kinds of noises not to mention it was outdated by about 20yrs with regard to its wood paneling and carpet. We arrived in our room on the 16th floor which was an efficiency with two double beds. The first thing you notice is that although the room did seem clean, EVERYTHING was outdated looking, old and dingy. It serously looks like this place has not been touched since the late 80's. Walk into the room further and we found an actual hole in the wall that was never repaired. A hole the size of a volley ball. We then also realize the door to our room would not shut without having to forcefully slam it shut. Wonderful! Other than it being very outdated, grungy and smelly, the place is located in a great spot with very easy beach access. The breakfast each morning was very good and reasonably priced and Thomas the cook was very friendly. Parking was included and we had no problems finding a spot in the parking garage. Overall, i would not recommend this place again because of the outdated/old rooms, lobby, and restaurant. Basically, nothing, absolutely nothing was ever remodeled or at least it seemed that way to me.

Room Tip: From what i could tell, there are no "good" rooms. Dont spend the extra money on an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlstadt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Front desk ladies at check in were rude. Room had been ready since 11am, but I was not able to gain entry until 3:30pm. The dead cricket on the bathroom floor was finally cleaned up on the 3rd day that I was there. What a come down from last time that I was there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bctw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed there Easter week 2012. Easy check-in, friendly staff. We actually were in the tower. You can see they are working at upgrading the place. Lobby is all new tile walls, floors. The actual floor common areas are in need of upgrading. Our room was a one bedroom suite. Very large fairly recently upgraded, new appliances, cabinetry and carpet and LCD Tvs. Full size beds were comfortable. My wife is a clean fanatic and she was not disappointed. Awesome oceanfront view in all units at this beachfront property. Great amenities, pool, restaurants (best burger!) and patio bar. Definitely a party place but no one was drunk or obnoxious. The beach area was large and clean. This time of year the ocean is too cold 63 F. Overall a decent place to stay. Still needs some upgrading and they are surely working on it.

Room Tip: Our one bedroom suite easily slept 4 with the fold out queen couch. The extra sink/vanity outside of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dflan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We enjoy The Sands Ocean very much. Really nice staff there. The breafast buffett is always good and fresh . The music on the decks and the night time entertainment in the bar at night just wish they would cut out the smoking in the bar or put bteer smke filters in . Always fun going on there . Cant wait to go back in May

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancininthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I wouldn't even give it a one, but had to in order too give the review...I booked this place on a whim. It was convenient because our friends have a condo nearby. It was old, smelly, rowdy, and dirty as soon as we walked into lobby, if that's what you can even call it. The room was even worse. Pee stained mattresses, dirty toilet bowl, sticky floor (my flip flops were getting stuck), mold and smoke smell throughout. Even the kitchen cabinets were falling apart. Rusted fridge....I can go on and on. They let me check out another room, but really, i knew this place was not for me. Second room was not as filthy, but still unacceptable and the mildew and cigar smell was even worse. Checked out within 20 minutes.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Thorn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#81 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#107 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#147 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
8.2 mi away
3 Palms Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
3 Palms Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
#125 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Property: Sands Ocean Club Resort
Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing