We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Ocean Annie's keeps me coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #128 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Ocean Annie's keeps me coming back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was my second stay here and the convenience to Ocean Annie's is why. I like being able to walk down to hear the music and not worry about driving and parking. Last year I gave the Sands Ocean Club four stars, but this year I found the property just average. It is old and dated, but functional. The beach and pool are fine, just don't expect a lot from the rooms and you won't be disappointed.

The bath in my room was in need of a total redo. Nothing gross or non-functioning, just old. I spend so little time in my room when I'm at the beach, so it's not a big deal to me. I do like the location of the Sands to Barefoot Landing and NMB, but if it weren't for the live music of Ocean Annie's I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    215
    137
    164
    187
See reviews for
386
212
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We arrived for a wedding on the beach...The room was dirty as were the appliances in our room. The hotel Bar (indoors) had several fights while we stayed there. At least one was because of drunken golfers hitting on married women. The staff was not prepared for the amount of people drinking. On at least one day, we watched as drinks were continuously served to folks in the outside pool for several hours and miracuously most folks did not leave the pool during this time once to go to the bathroom. Not the hotels fault but still we never set foot in the pool. This hotel is past its prime and is in need to several updates to decks etc. The food was Bar food... not great at all. The breakfast buffet was so so, with the exception of the gentleman making the omlets...they were great

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

gahanna ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The front desk help was great. Annie checked us in she was supper. Our room was nasty. Needed updated and cleaned. Blood on night stand and and mattress. Stove was rusted on top. Indoor pool and hot tub were not clean. Location was great. Easy access to highway 17. Parking was a hassle in the garage. Enjoyed the beach and outside pool. Ocean Annie's is right on the property. Would stay again but in a nicer room. Just beware not a five star.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the north tower. Our room 1002 was by the outside bar, noisey till 11. Nice room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesGahannaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

First let me say that this is a mixed bag since it is both a hotel and a timeshare place. We were using our timeshare exchange, so we had to check in with the timeshare office separaate from the main lobby. The timeshare unit we had was satisfactory, clean and adequately furnished. It appears they are trying to update this older place. Kitchen was marginally furnished for a maximum of 4 people| 4 dishes, 4 set of flatware, 4 cups, etc. Since there were only 2 of us, it was OK. Decent ocean view from the side where our unit was. From Sunday through Wednesday, the pool and beach areas were relatively uncrowded but then the so called "long weekend crowd" arrived on the hotel side. they are loud and rude and obnoxious and act like they own the place. So ended our peaceful stay at Sands Ocean Club,

And now on to the really negative thing. From many of the rooms and units you hear the bands from Annies Beach Bar. The music isn't horrible but the constant "ba-boom, ba boom, ba-boom" from the bass guitar or drums was too much, especially siince the bands play from mid afternoon to 11:00 p.m. EVERY DAY!!

So, in conclusion, let me say this is not a quiet place for retsirees, which my wife and I are, nor in our opinion would it be a great place for young families with little kids. If you are between ages 21 and 45 and like to party, party, party and drink, drink, drink, it is probably a fine place.

Finally, this is an old resort which does need some serious updating.

We prefer the peace and quiet of North Myrtle Beach rather than this resort's location.

We will not be back to Sands Ocean Club..

Room Tip: Find a room or unit away from the constasnt sound of the bands from the beach bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crabbychessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

let me start by saying we gave stayes at SOC for 10 years we have came different times of the year spring summer in fall. Each time has been perfect. We have gone with family, friends etc. From the time we arrive the staff have been excellent - checking in staff as well as all cleaning staff. The rooms have been great as well cleaned every day. The food at RC was excellent as well as the Windows Restaurant for breakfast. We had no issues with parking. Now for all the reviews that peolpe have left - would I like to see your house after a thousands of people have been through it or swam in your pool - I have travelled to a lot of places in SOC in MB has to be one of the best and when we travel we stay in 5 Star resorts. To all the staff at SOC you all do terrific work keep it up.

Room Tip: Didnt do the spa that is why I didn"t check it off. We will be back next summer and all the sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Ocean Annie's is a great hot spot in the summer for live bands and drinks. You can also get great food at river city cafe and bring it outside to OA. Hotel is in great need of updates. Pool and hot tub are sub par. You feel like your in a 70's movie as the decor is very out dated. Cheap rooms and you don't need to drive anywhere once you are at SOC. we know what to expect when we book here, but we always come back for OA

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank H8470ANmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great location in N Myrtle Beach. Right on beach. Lots of umbrellas on beach to rent. Beach not too crowded, you can walk to a small inlet which is filled with tiny fish and other sea creatures when the tide falls. There is an awesome bar and band area right on the beach that is great. It is very family oriented but very mixed with all ages. It is awesome! You can sit in your room in the evening, put the kids to bed and listen to great music and watch fireworks. Or you can be down in it. There is a fun lazy river and 2 pools, 1 inside and 1 outside, There are numerous activities including a kids club that is great if you want a few hours without the kids. There is a good restaurant with a great breakfast, a lunch program which is sometimes included that consists of a burger/hot dog, chips and a soda and perfect so you don't have to leave the beach. There is another restaurant/bar inside too, and 3 shops inside that have gifts/snacks/beachwear/beach accessories, etc. The hotel is older but is kept up. The rooms are privately owned so you might get one completely updated and modern, or you might get a plainer one that is still fine and all rooms we have stayed in have been clean and supplied. There are washer/dryer rooms on some floors. The staff is eager to please. If there are any issues they work to resolve them immediately. There is also a free waterpark down in one of their other hotels that is included in your stay. We love this place and the relaxed, happy atmosphere.

Room Tip: Either side or full beach view is what you want to people watch and listen to music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#76 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#106 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#149 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Property: Sands Ocean Club Resort
Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing